SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5815 (Bow collar jacket)

12 more reviews
Viewed 693 times 
Reviewed by:wendlesue
photo

 
 
About wendlesuestarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/7/07
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/09 10:21 AM
Last Updated:7/8/09 10:25 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BeckyMc said...
Beautiful. Can't wait to make one of my own.
1/19/11 1:54 AM
SandraKay1 said...
Very nice work. I just purchased this pattern last week. I love the unique collar.
3/8/10 11:43 PM
kerrynw said...
Love your jacket, really cute! The colour is great and the cost even better.
7/14/09 11:53 AM
Barbara V said...
Lovely jacket. It looks fabulous combined as a suit.
7/9/09 12:06 PM
becca a said...
This is a great looking jacket! Thanks for your helpful review.
7/9/09 1:19 AM
Erica B. said...
Jacket looks great as a suit!
7/8/09 11:38 PM
HLT said...
Great review! Nice suit!
7/8/09 8:04 PM
wendlesue said...
ggexpansive - I just lengthened it by slashing and spreading below the waist - in order to preserve the shaped hem. I definitely would not wear mine without a top underneath, but you could probably put the first buttonhole higher than I did.
7/8/09 8:04 PM
Raye Ann said...
very, very cute!
7/8/09 7:50 PM
Darla in PA said...
Beautiful jacket!
7/8/09 7:15 PM
ggexpansive said...
you look great, and no shame in $1 fabric :)i would like to know how you lengthened the jacket, because on the pattern front it looks like it closes high enough to not need a top under it, and you have a top on in the pic.
7/8/09 5:43 PM
amy in mpls said...
I'm a big fan of using the wrong side of the fabric too! Your jacket looks amazing! I love the collar detail, its just so cute!
7/8/09 5:38 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is gorgeous and the fabric looks so expensive -- not Walmart at all. I thought it was leather when I first looked at the small picture.
7/8/09 5:06 PM
morzel said...
What a great jacket! Looks really good on you.
7/8/09 4:47 PM
marjenann said...
Lovely jacket, beautifully constructed!
7/8/09 4:38 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
THANKS for the "heads up" information!! Well-written review!!
7/8/09 4:34 PM
Lori V said...
Very nice jacket.
7/8/09 3:58 PM
sewtime said...
Love your jacket, also love the extra length.!! Very pretty.
7/8/09 3:24 PM
nannykk said...
beautiful
7/8/09 2:27 PM
kim*brown said...
Very well made and great color!
7/8/09 2:03 PM
pterion said...
Very sharp looking jacket. It looks expensive!
7/8/09 1:47 PM
lauraborealis said...
Beautiful!
7/8/09 1:34 PM
ALY said...
Your jacket looks fantanstic!
7/8/09 12:51 PM
froggiegirl said...
Beautiful jacket and skirt, no one would ever know it's inexpensive fabric. I have this pattern and haven't got around to making it up. So glad to see that it looks great.
7/8/09 11:49 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely jacket! I recently picked up this pattern and your review is very helpful. Great job!
7/8/09 11:22 AM
maedchen said...
this looks so great. Great review too!
7/8/09 11:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2005-112

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Simplicity 1779

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

More Info
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info