SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2009-113 (Shorts)

7 more reviews
Viewed 431 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/09 3:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
Your legs look as white as my legs - and you are adorable in these shorts. Don't change a thing!
7/14/09 4:16 PM
leeannz said...
they look great on you! I love the colorful waistband too
7/14/09 4:25 PM
Opals Passions said...
I love your shorts... they look cute on you....
7/14/09 4:26 PM
sewbehind said...
Very cute shorts, Christas. I'm sure there will be a bit of colour by the end of the vacation.
7/14/09 4:30 PM
Catbird said...
These look GREAT on you! The fit is absolutely perfect and I really think the length is flattering. Longer would be good, too, but you don't need to, because they look so nice as is. You made me laugh about those legs. The other day I was thinking, why don't I wear some of my nice summer skirts? Then I looked at myself in the mirror and knew why -- I can't inflict my skinny white legs upon the world! These are fantastic, and it looks like this could be a TNT pattern for any length pant for you!
7/14/09 4:32 PM
Keiler said...
They look perfect!
7/14/09 4:45 PM
21wale said...
Love them!
7/14/09 4:57 PM
j222b said...
Nice shorts. I thought white legs were becoming more fashionable now that we know how harmful the rays of the sun can be. Be proud of your “white” legs! You are a good “white leg” role model for other women and your kids, too (especially girls)!
7/14/09 5:10 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Those shorts look great!!! I think they look nice on you short. I just traced that pattern off (I mean I literally just finished) and hope they turn out as nice as yours!!
7/14/09 5:16 PM
Barbara V said...
These are really cute and look great on you or I should say you look great in them! Power to "White Legs" Take plenty of suntan lotion. Have a fun vacation.
7/14/09 6:39 PM
Peggy L said...
These are perfect for the lake! They look really cute on you. BTW, is this "the denim"??
7/14/09 6:54 PM
Christas said...
Thanks everyone for the nice comments! Yes, Peggy, this is some more of that fabulous denim from Annette! Hmmmm.... don't you have a bit of that denim also?!
7/14/09 7:02 PM
sewingmel said...
They look great! I do like this pattern, too. I only have the waistband left on mine. Maybe, I should finish them tonight!
7/14/09 7:45 PM
meli88a said...
these look great. They're on my list to sew and seeing yours is inspiration to get to them!
7/14/09 9:54 PM
Mahler said...
Ok you convinced me, I want a pair. I fully support untanned legs as I have a pair of those too. Better for avoiding cancer. As for your look !!!!!! It is wonderful. I love those on you !!!
7/14/09 10:23 PM
Annette1 said...
I just think these are SO cute, and you can DEFINITELY wear ANY LENGTH shorts you WANT. WHO wears short shorts? WE wear short shorts! Okay, YOU wear short shorts, but you SHOULD. :o) I can't wait to see the next pair. ARE YOU DONE YET? I think Meggie is on the verge of finishing FOUR MORE PAIR. Maybe Bernard needs some short shorts for down at the shop. STRIPED ones. Heh-heh-heh.
7/14/09 10:50 PM
kerrynw said...
I love your shorts, they are a perfect fit and so well sewn!
7/15/09 2:12 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
These are just terrific! ...and I think there is a law that forbids a woman who's had 9 children to look as good as you do :)
7/15/09 7:05 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Perfect. I can sympathize with the "shorter than you usually wear" feeling, but really, they are flattering and decent. Hang on to that pattern.
7/15/09 7:11 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
They look great! And no paint!
7/15/09 7:35 AM
emailtk said...
Love them!!! I need a pair of denim shorts. These are perfect!!!
7/15/09 9:10 AM
Sallygirl said...
Very, very cute! I'm curious why the larger seams with thicker fabric (I'm asking should I ever encounter this in my own sewing -- I probably would have thought I should do the opposite -- smaller seams for thicker fabric). Those fit you just perfectly!
7/15/09 9:30 AM
becca a said...
These are great shorts! Wear them a couple of times to the lake and you'll have tanned legs. My legs are aspirin white too.
7/15/09 9:33 AM
Christas said...
Sallygirl, you caught a mistake in my review! Thanks so much. You are right, I took SMALLER seams. I have corrected my review to say that I took 3/8 inch seams through the sides. Thanks everyone for the nice comments!
7/15/09 9:56 AM
Patti B said...
These are fabulous shorts and just couldn't fit you better -- make more!
7/15/09 10:10 AM
plgasper said...
I think it"s your SMILE that is blinding! P
7/15/09 10:27 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Very nice looking shorts! With or without a tan, you can certainly wear these in public..you are a young girl yet! You make everything you sew seem like it is so easy.....great seamstress!
7/15/09 8:54 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
You're so adorable!!!! I love your shorts. I only own one pair too and I HATE them (they are RTW). My mom just commented today I needed some sunless tanning lotion because my legs were so white! lol Have a fun trip!
7/15/09 11:37 PM
Elaray said...
Great shorts. Your legs won't be so blindingly white when you return from vacation!
7/16/09 6:54 AM
Sharonspils said...
Great looking shorts. This pattern is on my to-do-list for Summer when it arrives Down Under.
7/17/09 0:29 AM
Lisa Merry said...
They look great on you!! I love the length, the fit, and the cuffs - super cute!
7/19/09 0:26 AM
Marik said...
Very very helpful as I am planning to sew this pair of shorts in black linen this week. Thank you Christas !
8/5/09 5:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

McCall's 6242

photo
by: Sewlful

Review
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now