SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2452 (sewing accessories)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1123 times 
Reviewed by:alex
photo

 
 
About alexstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 9/1/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/04 1:05 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Hey Alex, your bag looks great! I have this pattern as well and I made 3, one for my Mom, one for my knitting/crochet, and one for my sewing stuff. I love how big and roomy they are. I also omited the extra lining fabric, and used muslin instead. I made these bags about 3 ? years ago, all from stash fabrics, and all I had to buy was the webbing Ias I recall(which turned out nice and sturdy). I didn't use baby powder either, I agree-bad idea! I just used a regular foot and it worked out fine, no problems. Maybe because my plastic was a matte finish? I don't know but I didn't have any trouble w/it. I made one from pre-quilted fabric that already had a nice backing, so that might be a good choice if you wanted quilting but not the extra work!That one was easy. Anyway, good job on your bag! Do you like it so far?
1/13/04 12:06 PM
alex said...
Thanks for the comments, Hilary! Yes, I like the bag - I used it for a sewing course last night. That's a good idea about using pre-quilted fabric. My plastic was shiny and made the regulay foot stick. Where did you get matte plastic?
1/14/04 7:31 AM
Hilary said...
Alex, I'm sorry I just now saw your question! I got the matte plastic at Joann's, they had several different kinds and I just picked it because I liked it better. I didn't know the shiny stuff was sticky, but it would be wouldn't it?
3/4/04 1:04 PM
alex said...
Thanks Hilary, I've never seen it here, but now I know it exists, I'll keep my eye out.
3/5/04 9:19 AM
W said...
These patterns strongly remind me of Kumiko Sudo's "Omiyage." That book includes some sewing accessories. Is this mentioned anywhere? I see on the package that it refers to them as "Victorian" and having been designed by Pauline Richards.
7/25/05 10:17 AM
alex said...
Sorry, I don't remember any mention of this.
7/26/05 2:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-118

photo
by: twinkle72

Review
McCall's 6612

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review

Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now