Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1026 (MISSES' DRESS AND BELT) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 751 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:SpinningJenny
photo
Friend of PR
About SpinningJennystar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/17/09
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/09 10:25 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dulcita said...
Very chic
7/22/09 10:30 AM
Mebber said...
Elegant dress and excellent review.
7/22/09 10:44 AM
Batik said...
I really like this with a square neckline, good design choice. The lining is fab!
7/22/09 10:46 AM
craftylady66 said...
Absoluely gorgeous and well-made!
7/22/09 11:12 AM
imsewcrazy said...
I like your version a lot better. Great job!
7/22/09 11:18 AM
Lori V said...
So stylish. Congrats on your first review.
7/22/09 11:18 AM
nicegirl said...
Love that dress! It is fresh and retro at the same time.
7/22/09 11:37 AM
Twinset said...
Beautiful dress, very flattering on you. Welcome to PR!
7/22/09 11:43 AM
21wale said...
This is just darling! Nice job.
7/22/09 11:43 AM
sewbehind said...
Lovely dress. Elegant and classy.
7/22/09 11:48 AM
emailtk said...
Better than the sewing pattern IMO!!! Well done!!!!
7/22/09 12:38 PM
Raye Ann said...
Jenny- this is beautiful! Very chic and lovely on you. Your choice of fabrics seem particularly well suited for this item. Congratulations on your dress and your first review! Welcome to PR (which i also just discovered earlier this year:).
7/22/09 12:55 PM
CynthiaSue said...
oh no way!! This is so smart! Absolutely gorgeous! Perfect fabric choice.
7/22/09 12:58 PM
carolynw said...
Love your dress - your trim figure shows this off so well.
7/22/09 1:17 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Fantastic! I'm inspired!
7/22/09 1:19 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Gorgeous.
7/22/09 1:38 PM
Terri Smith said...
Your dress is very nice--understated chic.
7/22/09 2:49 PM
Amanda S. said...
Super cute! Welcome to PR.
7/22/09 2:52 PM
leeannz said...
love the contrasting trim....it makes the dress cute and casual...definately chic!!!
7/22/09 2:53 PM
Sewlovelier said...
Just Fabulous!
7/22/09 3:38 PM
HLT said...
Lovely! The inverted pleat is perfection. Nice work.
7/22/09 7:16 PM
Natasha B said...
Beautiful!
7/22/09 7:31 PM
SoMsGal said...
Gorgeous dress. I'm not ambitious enough to try the lined garments. Great job.
7/22/09 9:24 PM
Mahler said...
I love what you did with this pattern, the neckline and front modification made this dress a perfect one ! Congratulations, it is lovely on you.
7/22/09 10:38 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Thanks so much for the positive feedback! What a wonderful boost to a gal from the tropical north of Australia, always on the lookout for simple, cool, comfortable clothing that isn't too casual for work.
7/23/09 5:29 AM
kerrynw said...
Love your dress, great first review, looking forward to many more!
7/23/09 8:58 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Lurve it! Want!
7/23/09 11:27 AM
waltzqueen said...
WOW! Fabulous! Your dress is MUCH prettier than the pattern photo, especially with the addition of the belt, which makes the dress in my opinion. And it fits you, and suits you so well! A beautiful piece of work.
7/23/09 6:03 PM
Nancy Anne said...
How cute! You did a great job and carry this look off well. I love the surprise of the zippers!
7/23/09 6:08 PM
Secretsugar said...
This dress is so freakin' cute on you! I wouldn't have given this pattern a second glance if I hadn't seen your version. LOVE it!
7/24/09 11:19 AM
RachelEsq said...
Your dress is fabulous. The shape is great, and it fits you perfectly. The Vespa fabric is funky - if you would've done the whole dress in it, it would have been rather silly, but because you used only a little on the trim, it really works. From a distance it looks like normal print, so it's probably more your cheeky little secret as to what the print really is! I love the shape of this. I'm wishing I hadn't passed the pattern up at the last JoAnn's Vogue pattern sale....
7/24/09 3:07 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is a great dress! I have this pattern and a lovely silk shantung in mind... I never would have thought of it in denim but now you have me re-thinking. Great job!
7/25/09 11:25 AM
Blooms said...
That is a fabulous interpretation of this pattern. I think that your neckline has a better balance than the V-neck that the pattern comes with. I just had a second look at your photos, when I noticed the foliage in the background...could be my own back yard. Whereabouts in Australia are you?
7/30/09 6:37 AM
jlg said...
This is adorable. Your alterations, the fit, everything seems perfect.
1/18/10 6:17 AM
valerie sews said...
Adding your boat neck front really gave this pattern a new perspective. Lovely dress.
2/2/10 3:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 2551
photo
Review by Gail in We... on 8/27/11
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Advance Pattern Company 7876
photo
Review by JustBeachy... on 4/12/11
Read Review

Simplicity 5359 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 5359 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4698 Pattern ( Size SML-MED )
McCalls 4698 Pattern ( Size SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us