SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3108 (Panel skirts w/ godets)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1997 times 
Reviewed by:SewingSusan
photo

 
 
About SewingSusanstar
KY USA
Member since: 2/2/03
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/04 2:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Very pretty Susan. I love the color of your wool fabric.
1/12/04 2:38 PM
MaryBeth said...
Love this wool skirt. If you fix that waist you'll be sooo glad you did all that extra work: this is a beautiful garment.
1/12/04 2:56 PM
KMangum said...
If the waist is just a tad too big, try running a DRAWSTRING thru the waistband. You'll have to open the CF seam a little on the inside of the waistband; run your drawstring thru, and use it to take up that 2".
1/12/04 4:14 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Nice job - it's a great pattern. I made a longer version of the 10-panel skirt a few months ago (will review soon) and it's gorgeous - hangs beautifully. I'm planning to make view C or D soon in a summery fabric.
1/12/04 4:25 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty skirt. Thanks for the review.
1/12/04 6:59 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice skirt and love the color of the wool fabric. It appears to drape fairly well, so I assume this is a rather light weight wool? KMangun, nice suggestion on drawstring. I may need to do that on a skirt I have and would never have thought of that.
1/12/04 7:02 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Susan, what a pretty skirt. Nice job!
1/12/04 8:08 PM
Elaine Penney said...
I LOVE your camel color! I have made this skirt in a wonderful, drapey rayon and love it. I discovered stitch through elastic a couple of years ago at a sewing expo and now use it exclusively on all my elastic waist garments. It is attached using your method and recovers beautifully.
1/12/04 8:27 PM
Irene said...
Gorgeous skirt! The pattern calls for light to medium weight fabrics, so I wondered how this would turn out in wool or something similar with a little heft. No more hesitation!
1/12/04 8:29 PM
Tini said...
very pretty!
1/13/04 3:33 AM
SewingSusan said...
Thanks for the compliments! I decided to go with the wool after seeing a similar skirt pictured in the new Sew News magazine, it appears to be wool and draped nicely. Linda L, I would consider it to be between a light to midweight wool. I did have to use my walking foot to sew the seams before I overcast them. The wool was 'creeping' on me without it.
1/13/04 6:30 AM
SewingSusan said...
I have remade the waist with new elastic and here's the skirt now that it fits. Sorry about the bad photo...didn't realize all those fingerprints were on the hall mirror!
1/13/04 3:14 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh I didn't realize KS had a godet skirt pattern. I love these, but am scared of sewing the godets. With KS though it shouldnt be too hard.
1/13/04 3:18 PM
Diane E said...
Susan, this is an absolutely lovely skirt (your shoes are pretty and so ladylike, too). I know what you mean about the waist being too big, or whatever, because I just made the Loes Hinse gore skirt and it's too long and I'm going to have to pick out the waist to shorten it..... signed yours, sisters in unpicking.....
2/7/04 10:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6936

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review

Pattern