SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3108 (Panel skirts w/ godets)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1997 times 
Reviewed by:SewingSusan
photo

 
 
About SewingSusanstar
KY USA
Member since: 2/2/03
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/04 2:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Very pretty Susan. I love the color of your wool fabric.
1/12/04 2:38 PM
MaryBeth said...
Love this wool skirt. If you fix that waist you'll be sooo glad you did all that extra work: this is a beautiful garment.
1/12/04 2:56 PM
KMangum said...
If the waist is just a tad too big, try running a DRAWSTRING thru the waistband. You'll have to open the CF seam a little on the inside of the waistband; run your drawstring thru, and use it to take up that 2".
1/12/04 4:14 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Nice job - it's a great pattern. I made a longer version of the 10-panel skirt a few months ago (will review soon) and it's gorgeous - hangs beautifully. I'm planning to make view C or D soon in a summery fabric.
1/12/04 4:25 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty skirt. Thanks for the review.
1/12/04 6:59 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice skirt and love the color of the wool fabric. It appears to drape fairly well, so I assume this is a rather light weight wool? KMangun, nice suggestion on drawstring. I may need to do that on a skirt I have and would never have thought of that.
1/12/04 7:02 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Susan, what a pretty skirt. Nice job!
1/12/04 8:08 PM
Elaine Penney said...
I LOVE your camel color! I have made this skirt in a wonderful, drapey rayon and love it. I discovered stitch through elastic a couple of years ago at a sewing expo and now use it exclusively on all my elastic waist garments. It is attached using your method and recovers beautifully.
1/12/04 8:27 PM
Irene said...
Gorgeous skirt! The pattern calls for light to medium weight fabrics, so I wondered how this would turn out in wool or something similar with a little heft. No more hesitation!
1/12/04 8:29 PM
Tini said...
very pretty!
1/13/04 3:33 AM
SewingSusan said...
Thanks for the compliments! I decided to go with the wool after seeing a similar skirt pictured in the new Sew News magazine, it appears to be wool and draped nicely. Linda L, I would consider it to be between a light to midweight wool. I did have to use my walking foot to sew the seams before I overcast them. The wool was 'creeping' on me without it.
1/13/04 6:30 AM
SewingSusan said...
I have remade the waist with new elastic and here's the skirt now that it fits. Sorry about the bad photo...didn't realize all those fingerprints were on the hall mirror!
1/13/04 3:14 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh I didn't realize KS had a godet skirt pattern. I love these, but am scared of sewing the godets. With KS though it shouldnt be too hard.
1/13/04 3:18 PM
Diane E said...
Susan, this is an absolutely lovely skirt (your shoes are pretty and so ladylike, too). I know what you mean about the waist being too big, or whatever, because I just made the Loes Hinse gore skirt and it's too long and I'm going to have to pick out the waist to shorten it..... signed yours, sisters in unpicking.....
2/7/04 10:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

No Pattern Used 05-2012

photo
by: maria 6705

Review
Vogue Patterns 1181

photo
by: valkyrie01

Review
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now