Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1091 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2018 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:Nancy K
photo
About Nancy Kstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/09 8:17 AM
Last Updated:7/16/10 2:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
I realy like this Nancy - been looking for such a dress but wasn't too turned on by this pattern - now I see it made up am glad Vogue is on sale in my area!! Big plus - no Spanx necessary - oh my !!
7/29/09 8:23 AM
cindyann said...
Great dress Nancy. I would have passed this pattern by but after seeing yours made up I think I might pick it up. Your fabric made all the difference.
7/29/09 10:04 AM
Twinset said...
You look great in your beautiful dress - it is flattering and simple at the same time, in a great way. Like the jewelry.
7/29/09 10:14 AM
EleanorSews said...
You hit the nail on the head ~ it is "just a terrific summer dress ... chic and not too young". Like the others, I might have to watch for Vogue patterns on sale.
7/29/09 10:16 AM
Sewliz said...
Gorgeous dress, I love it on you! Yours is much more stylish than the pattern envelope.
7/29/09 10:20 AM
CynthiaSue said...
i totally agree, i wanted this pattern but was scared it would "fall flat". you made me want to buy it! Your print and fit make it really high end looking!! LOVE that print!
7/29/09 10:50 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great dress on you!
7/29/09 11:00 AM
Sigrid. said...
Perfect summer dress Nancy, good fabric too!
7/29/09 11:00 AM
persevering said...
What a lovely dress! Thanks for your review.
7/29/09 11:02 AM
Izzie said...
Love your dress on you! Yours looks much better that the envelope. Thanks for the tips on fit, did you chose your size based on high bust measurement?
7/29/09 12:41 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
lovely dress, just cool and lovely
7/29/09 1:20 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful, Nancy. You look fabulous.
7/29/09 1:40 PM
Birgitte said...
Gorgeous!
7/29/09 2:31 PM
VeryPrairie said...
Spectacular dress! The print you chose is really cool, too.
7/29/09 5:02 PM
nellc said...
Lovely dress, it looks great teamed with the glads, such a stylish look for the summer!
7/29/09 5:36 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice dress and looks great. After looking at the pattern, I would have passed, too, as it looks like it would be too much like a tent, BUT you definitely proved that wrong! Thanks for your review.
7/29/09 7:19 PM
SheriF said...
Love this dress on you. Makes me want it.
7/29/09 7:21 PM
DorothyK said...
A perfect summer dress. Looks great on you. I love the fabric.
7/30/09 0:31 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Lovely dress!
7/30/09 4:54 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
This IS a fun little summer dress, isn't it? Doesn't take a whole lot of fabric and is comfy to wear . . . what more could you ask? I found that it ran a little large myself. Looks great on you!
7/30/09 7:51 AM
christinawo said...
I love the dress! You look great. It's a pattern that I've considered several times. Now, I'll take the plunge. Thanks!
7/30/09 11:02 AM
Heatherrique said...
Nancy, you look grooooovy-licious! You look fab in this style and print!
7/30/09 11:06 AM
barbcl said...
Beautiful dress. I'm waiting for the next Vogue sale at J's to get this one.
7/30/09 1:02 PM
waltzqueen said...
I think your dress on you looks much better than the pattern photo! Nicely curved to you without clinging and in a fun fabric. Thanks for the great review!
7/30/09 3:44 PM
Athene said...
Love your dress and of course you look fabulous in it.
8/3/09 2:34 AM
Erica B. said...
Gorgeous Nancy! That fabric is incredible!
8/31/09 12:04 PM
Mahler said...
I love both version, Those are two great fabric. I like the fit on you.
8/31/09 2:15 PM
emelle said...
Inspired by Carolyn and you, I now have this pattern in my stash and it's a great look on you both. Thanks for your tips....they will help with my attempt.
8/31/09 3:26 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Lovely, Nancy, you look so cool and comfy. Beautiful garden too !!
8/31/09 4:49 PM
sew2little said...
Both of your fabric choices are inspired!
8/31/09 10:14 PM
Rebecca D said...
What a helpful review. Both versions look smashing.
9/1/09 7:24 AM
cindyann said...
Another great dress from this pattern!
9/1/09 9:17 AM
Annieq said...
Oh, I really like this. You look great and this is a great simple shift!
9/1/09 11:43 AM
quixoticpixels said...
I really like both versions! Can't wait to see it paired with your leather jacket.
9/1/09 1:02 PM
LollyVee said...
This version is dead gorgeous on you! Love the fabric!
9/1/09 2:05 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking dress. I love the way you placed the print.
9/1/09 7:10 PM
Renren said...
Beautiful dresses and nice placement of print. Thanks for an informative review, too. The green jungle-like backdrop with the animal print fabric makes a perfect photo. Growl! I would not have looked twice at this pattern, but you have made it quite enticing!
9/2/09 0:55 AM
Janet R said...
Fabulous. Dress is great (better than pattern) but it's the whole look that does it.
9/2/09 8:08 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...love it on you! GREAT fabric!
9/2/09 5:06 PM
Barbara V said...
Your dresses are lovely and well made. The bold prints are fabulous and I can see why you like to wear them often.
9/3/09 10:25 AM
Athene said...
Love the animal print and love the background for your photo - you are looking like one hot kitty.
9/17/09 0:23 AM
pterion said...
Wonderful new dress and new look! Love it!
7/16/10 3:19 PM
RLL said...
Wow, this dress definately works for you and you got your money's worth out of the patter!
7/16/10 4:20 PM
Beek said...
You will look stunning in this lovely dress - even with the 90% humidity!
7/16/10 5:12 PM
Elona said...
Cool-looking dress! And I love the haircut, too.
7/16/10 6:07 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
This is such a great pattern and looks terrific on you! Love the animal print!
7/16/10 6:38 PM
Nancywin said...
both dresses look good. Isn't it nice when you have something you wear over and over again? I have a KS dress like that that I really must make again. You look great in your new dress!
7/16/10 7:19 PM
carnelian said...
Marvelous placement of pattern, brilliant!
7/16/10 9:26 PM
Rhoda K said...
I like all your dresses, they look so good on you. I purchased the pattern after your first review; best get it made up ;-)
7/17/10 7:19 AM
sandramary said...
That is a brilliant tip for finishing the facing edge by sewing the interfacing before fusing, genius! That would never have occured to me, thank you!
7/17/10 7:49 AM
marec said...
You look gorgeous in the dress, with your chic new haircut.
7/17/10 10:48 AM
Athene said...
Great looking dress and I love your new hairdo also.
7/17/10 8:01 PM
Annette1 said...
Very flattering, and especially nice with the prints you've chosen. :o)
7/17/10 9:06 PM
norma kerr said...
this dress looks great on you well done for knowing a dress that really flatters
7/20/10 5:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 3762 Jumper
photo
Review by SewingSusa... on 1/24/04
Read Review

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Purse-Nickities
Purse-Nickities

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Alabama Chanin Corset
photo
Review by Lynn67 on 11/10/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1784 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 1784 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1352 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1352 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us