SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-133B (Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 296 times 
Reviewed by:busybee crafting
photo

 
 
About busybee crafting
OH USA
Member since: 12/9/08
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/09 10:59 PM
Last Updated:7/28/09 11:03 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
msladyj said...
I love your dress. Very clever to use a ciffon instead of a jersey knit.
7/28/09 11:33 PM
arianamaniacs said...
30 rows of shirring? Wow, didn't you go batty winding the bobbin by hand? =) Your dress turned out great!
7/29/09 3:45 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
30 rows of shirring? Lady, you're a lot tougher than I am . . . I'd have thrown in the towel about halfway through! You've ended up with a lovely dress as a result . . . . congratulations!!!
7/29/09 8:21 AM
busybee crafting said...
Yeah 30 was a lot and you do not sew the side seams untill after you complete the shirring. But once you get going it goes fast. I choose to use my presser foot as a guide and not teh 3/8" lines the inst. wanted. That made it go fast and...i found a way to wind the bobbin with the elastic thread by machine and still get the tension...required a little engineering with a old toothbrush and tape but it worked. LOL :D
7/29/09 8:29 AM
barbcl said...
Really nice looking dress after a lot of work. Thanks for the sizing tips in the review. The added rows also give the dress a custom look.
7/29/09 12:07 PM
nowak said...
The 30 rows of shirring make a big difference, your dress looks nicer than the Burda version.
8/10/09 6:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now