Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 63953-1006 (Pleated Chetta B Knockoff) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 546 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Pinkytoo
photo
About Pinkytoostarstarstar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/06
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 111
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/09 10:54 PM
Last Updated:8/1/09 1:42 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redhotpepper said...
Verrrry nice!
7/31/09 11:22 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is gorgeous! Your pleating came out perfectly. Looks like that part was really challenging. awesome knockoff.
7/31/09 11:53 PM
Leora said...
Interesting how the pleating works, such a mind bender to figure that one out! The sentiment of the beads really makes it special. Lovely!
8/1/09 0:47 AM
Mary Nanna said...
The original is gorgeous and totally worth copying. Such a huge amount of work goes into this kind of competition because you really have to have your wits about you. Your dress has come out great, and all kudos to you for working through the pleating / lining issues. You made it work! Such a nice way to reuse a necklace too -- and how satisfying to have something completely original from a total copy!
8/1/09 1:14 AM
petro said...
Lovely dress! Its got such style, clean lines, the clever pleating in the centre makes it special. Well done for figuring it out, great use for the beads too.
8/1/09 5:07 AM
whirrclunk said...
Great dress, and I thought that the neck beading was lovely, even before I read the reasons why it was so special. I've been looking for a similar pattern - am so impressed that you self-drafted such a complicated dress!
8/1/09 5:31 AM
chicaem29 said...
Beautiful work! I'm also impressed with your figuring out the pleating. The beads were a nice choice too. Really great entry.
8/1/09 9:17 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Great dress! You did a superb job drafting that pattern - a lot more patience in your body than mine! The review was a treat to read as well.
8/1/09 9:19 AM
swede said...
Wow, that is so cool! And lovely!
8/1/09 10:48 AM
Beek said...
Wonderful accomplishment. It certainly looks like you spent some time and thought into this lovely dress!
8/1/09 10:54 AM
Nancywin said...
Wow! What great details on this dress. Now that you've shown the front pattern piece, I can see how it makes sencse. Good job in figuring that out. Great looking dress. (oh, and thanks for the shout out.)
8/1/09 11:36 AM
Heatherrique said...
Pinky, such an enjoyable and informative review of your FIERCE dress! This is my new favorite dress on you!
8/1/09 12:57 PM
arianamaniacs said...
excellent knock-off. great end result for all your hard work! i like your beads way better than the original, and it's extra special since it has personal meaning for you. way to go!
8/1/09 5:00 PM
Ann Smith said...
How clever you are to figure out how to copy this gorgeous dress! And I love using a necklace for the beads.
8/1/09 5:56 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very nice! Great pattern work. I like it much better on you ... that model looks like she has her head turned 180 facing backwards, weird!
8/1/09 9:56 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! You nailed the Chetta B dress and it looks great on you!
8/2/09 8:59 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Lot of WOW factor here... Your knockoff is tops! can't wait to vote....
8/2/09 9:36 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful work!
8/2/09 11:04 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow, I'm so impressed. You did an absolutely fantastic job. The dress is gorgeous and looks fantastic on you. Your use of the murano beads is brilliant.
8/2/09 1:23 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love the pleated front, and you are so clever to figure out how to draft it.
8/3/09 8:27 AM
Grammy Gin said...
What a great knock-off! This dress is so beautiful! It is really flattering. Very thoughtful beading, too!
8/4/09 10:02 AM
KristenI said...
I clipped out this same RTW photo and thought about making this dress. Yours is fabulous. How clever is it that the pleats make the bottom part on the bias! Thanks for reviewing, I have the perfect piece of blue linen for it too, now I may just have to do it too!
8/10/09 1:43 PM
kerrynw said...
You have done an excellent job, very clever!
8/11/09 7:51 AM
ryannapoleon said...
Looks great! Good job; I always enjoy seeing others' creativity.
8/11/09 9:32 PM
Rosesred said...
Absolutely love the end result! stunning pleating. I also like that you included pictures of the patternpieces, very neat to see how such a complicated dress goes together.
8/18/09 7:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's M5752
photo
Review by Eme on 2/5/09
Read Review

Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8876 Misses Dress
photo
Review by valerie se... on 1/7/14
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 104 Pattern
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us