SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 63953-1006 (Pleated Chetta B Knockoff)

Viewed 546 times 
Reviewed by:Pinkytoo
photo

 
 
About Pinkytoostarstarstar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/06
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/09 10:54 PM
Last Updated:8/1/09 1:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redhotpepper said...
Verrrry nice!
7/31/09 11:22 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is gorgeous! Your pleating came out perfectly. Looks like that part was really challenging. awesome knockoff.
7/31/09 11:53 PM
Leora said...
Interesting how the pleating works, such a mind bender to figure that one out! The sentiment of the beads really makes it special. Lovely!
8/1/09 0:47 AM
Mary Nanna said...
The original is gorgeous and totally worth copying. Such a huge amount of work goes into this kind of competition because you really have to have your wits about you. Your dress has come out great, and all kudos to you for working through the pleating / lining issues. You made it work! Such a nice way to reuse a necklace too -- and how satisfying to have something completely original from a total copy!
8/1/09 1:14 AM
petro said...
Lovely dress! Its got such style, clean lines, the clever pleating in the centre makes it special. Well done for figuring it out, great use for the beads too.
8/1/09 5:07 AM
whirrclunk said...
Great dress, and I thought that the neck beading was lovely, even before I read the reasons why it was so special. I've been looking for a similar pattern - am so impressed that you self-drafted such a complicated dress!
8/1/09 5:31 AM
chicaem29 said...
Beautiful work! I'm also impressed with your figuring out the pleating. The beads were a nice choice too. Really great entry.
8/1/09 9:17 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Great dress! You did a superb job drafting that pattern - a lot more patience in your body than mine! The review was a treat to read as well.
8/1/09 9:19 AM
swede said...
Wow, that is so cool! And lovely!
8/1/09 10:48 AM
Beek said...
Wonderful accomplishment. It certainly looks like you spent some time and thought into this lovely dress!
8/1/09 10:54 AM
Nancywin said...
Wow! What great details on this dress. Now that you've shown the front pattern piece, I can see how it makes sencse. Good job in figuring that out. Great looking dress. (oh, and thanks for the shout out.)
8/1/09 11:36 AM
Heatherrique said...
Pinky, such an enjoyable and informative review of your FIERCE dress! This is my new favorite dress on you!
8/1/09 12:57 PM
arianamaniacs said...
excellent knock-off. great end result for all your hard work! i like your beads way better than the original, and it's extra special since it has personal meaning for you. way to go!
8/1/09 5:00 PM
Ann Smith said...
How clever you are to figure out how to copy this gorgeous dress! And I love using a necklace for the beads.
8/1/09 5:56 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very nice! Great pattern work. I like it much better on you ... that model looks like she has her head turned 180 facing backwards, weird!
8/1/09 9:56 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! You nailed the Chetta B dress and it looks great on you!
8/2/09 8:59 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Lot of WOW factor here... Your knockoff is tops! can't wait to vote....
8/2/09 9:36 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful work!
8/2/09 11:04 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow, I'm so impressed. You did an absolutely fantastic job. The dress is gorgeous and looks fantastic on you. Your use of the murano beads is brilliant.
8/2/09 1:23 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love the pleated front, and you are so clever to figure out how to draft it.
8/3/09 8:27 AM
Grammy Gin said...
What a great knock-off! This dress is so beautiful! It is really flattering. Very thoughtful beading, too!
8/4/09 10:02 AM
KristenI said...
I clipped out this same RTW photo and thought about making this dress. Yours is fabulous. How clever is it that the pleats make the bottom part on the bias! Thanks for reviewing, I have the perfect piece of blue linen for it too, now I may just have to do it too!
8/10/09 1:43 PM
kerrynw said...
You have done an excellent job, very clever!
8/11/09 7:51 AM
ryannapoleon said...
Looks great! Good job; I always enjoy seeing others' creativity.
8/11/09 9:32 PM
Rosesred said...
Absolutely love the end result! stunning pleating. I also like that you included pictures of the patternpieces, very neat to see how such a complicated dress goes together.
8/18/09 7:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now