SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-117 (Flounce collar blouse)

14 more reviews
Viewed 702 times 
Reviewed by:Jali
photo

 
 
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/09 9:56 AM
Last Updated:8/2/09 10:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nellc said...
Very nice top, I love the simplicity of this design, it is very stylish.
8/2/09 10:33 AM
aimeejessica said...
definitely very chic!
8/2/09 10:33 AM
jilly cooper said...
I like the fact that you include precise details on what techniques are required and how that adds to difficulty. I love this on you, it looks stylish and professional.
8/2/09 10:41 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautifully done, so simple and so chic, love it.
8/2/09 11:19 AM
dbsewer said...
I love to see this top made up as it's on my list, too. Yours is really lovely. Hint, if you own a serger, a rolled hem on the flounce is much easier than the zigzag. Great job on yours. I think you'll get lots of compliments.
8/2/09 12:04 PM
persevering said...
What a pretty stylish and practical blouse! I'm hoping to also make this blouse and your interpretations on sewing details are very much appreciated and will be gratefully read again/followed.
8/2/09 12:11 PM
Linda G said...
Absolutely darling, I could not wait to see this top made up. Great job.
8/2/09 12:24 PM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful!!
8/2/09 12:31 PM
quixoticpixels said...
beautiful! This is such an elegant top.
8/2/09 12:41 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty!
8/2/09 12:44 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful work. The top looks very good on you. Thank you for a great review.
8/2/09 12:44 PM
Jali said...
You are all very kind. I want to add that this blouse is really roomy and comfortable to wear too. dbsewer, I do not have a serger for now but its good to know for when I do get one. I really appreciate that Burda magazine patterns have those funny steps sometimes because of this. There is always a strange or clever method they come up with for a SM, depending on how you look at it:-).
8/2/09 12:44 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Beautiful! You've got me sorely tempted to use up one of my 1m silk satin cuts when my issue arrives!
8/2/09 12:59 PM
cabinbaby said...
Oh, I love this. I've had my eye on this pattern and I'll have to make it up.
8/2/09 1:09 PM
poplin said...
I definitely like this style. I'm pretty sure I can convert one MSB pattern to look like this. I'll give it a try!

Thanks for such a detailed review.
8/2/09 1:31 PM
Lisette said...
Very pretty, this one is on my list.
8/2/09 1:53 PM
persevering said...
Oh it is wonderful to read the comments/contributions of others. Satin silk (Thanks, squirrely poo) - what a great idea - and I've got some aging - like fine wine:) - and it is time to use it.
8/2/09 2:05 PM
FreyaStark said...
Pretty and chic. Well done.
8/2/09 5:33 PM
SpinningJenny said...
This top looks so elegant and professional on you. Thanks for the great review.
8/2/09 6:34 PM
Jali said...
Silk satin! Squirellypoo that is really tempting.
8/2/09 7:36 PM
Re Becca said...
Wonderful job! It looks so professional, so "accountant", nothing personal! I like the zig zag finish, whenever I serge a rolled hem, by serger never quite goes back to the way it was. Your finish will work quite well.
8/2/09 11:25 PM
kerrynw said...
Beautiful top!
8/3/09 2:21 AM
Maychi said...
Beautiful!
8/3/09 3:52 AM
Knitters Delight said...
Thanks for the helpful review. You did a beautiful job.
8/3/09 7:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Jali, impressively chic and stunning! Thanks for your inspiration and your very helpful tips.
8/4/09 9:20 AM
Jali said...
Thank you for the nice comments again. Re Becca, I fully understand the accountant thing because feel that way too.
8/4/09 10:23 AM
KiarasMom said...
The blouse looks so pretty on you, Jali! All I ever do with my BWOFs (now BS ...haha) is PLAN to make things.Now, I may actually try. Thanks for the comprehensive review!
8/4/09 11:47 AM
Barbara V said...
What a beautiful top. Thanks for the helpful tips.
8/4/09 11:28 PM
Kelroc said...
Nice job on the top! And the recommendations and advice is very helpful. Thanx
8/8/09 8:06 PM
lizagm said...
Ok, your top looks like a pic straight from the magazine. In other words, gorgeous! I was debating on whether or not to get this issue, and now I think I need to!
9/25/09 9:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now