SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-117 (Flounce collar blouse)

14 more reviews
Viewed 702 times 
Reviewed by:Jali
photo

 
 
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/09 9:56 AM
Last Updated:8/2/09 10:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature\\'s Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lizagm said...
Ok, your top looks like a pic straight from the magazine. In other words, gorgeous! I was debating on whether or not to get this issue, and now I think I need to!
9/25/09 9:56 AM
Kelroc said...
Nice job on the top! And the recommendations and advice is very helpful. Thanx
8/8/09 8:06 PM
Barbara V said...
What a beautiful top. Thanks for the helpful tips.
8/4/09 11:28 PM
KiarasMom said...
The blouse looks so pretty on you, Jali! All I ever do with my BWOFs (now BS ...haha) is PLAN to make things.Now, I may actually try. Thanks for the comprehensive review!
8/4/09 11:47 AM
Jali said...
Thank you for the nice comments again. Re Becca, I fully understand the accountant thing because feel that way too.
8/4/09 10:23 AM
Heatherrique said...
Jali, impressively chic and stunning! Thanks for your inspiration and your very helpful tips.
8/4/09 9:20 AM
Knitters Delight said...
Thanks for the helpful review. You did a beautiful job.
8/3/09 7:10 PM
Maychi said...
Beautiful!
8/3/09 3:52 AM
kerrynw said...
Beautiful top!
8/3/09 2:21 AM
Re Becca said...
Wonderful job! It looks so professional, so "accountant", nothing personal! I like the zig zag finish, whenever I serge a rolled hem, by serger never quite goes back to the way it was. Your finish will work quite well.
8/2/09 11:25 PM
Jali said...
Silk satin! Squirellypoo that is really tempting.
8/2/09 7:36 PM
SpinningJenny said...
This top looks so elegant and professional on you. Thanks for the great review.
8/2/09 6:34 PM
FreyaStark said...
Pretty and chic. Well done.
8/2/09 5:33 PM
persevering said...
Oh it is wonderful to read the comments/contributions of others. Satin silk (Thanks, squirrely poo) - what a great idea - and I've got some aging - like fine wine:) - and it is time to use it.
8/2/09 2:05 PM
Lisette said...
Very pretty, this one is on my list.
8/2/09 1:53 PM
poplin said...
I definitely like this style. I'm pretty sure I can convert one MSB pattern to look like this. I'll give it a try!

Thanks for such a detailed review.
8/2/09 1:31 PM
cabinbaby said...
Oh, I love this. I've had my eye on this pattern and I'll have to make it up.
8/2/09 1:09 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Beautiful! You've got me sorely tempted to use up one of my 1m silk satin cuts when my issue arrives!
8/2/09 12:59 PM
Jali said...
You are all very kind. I want to add that this blouse is really roomy and comfortable to wear too. dbsewer, I do not have a serger for now but its good to know for when I do get one. I really appreciate that Burda magazine patterns have those funny steps sometimes because of this. There is always a strange or clever method they come up with for a SM, depending on how you look at it:-).
8/2/09 12:44 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful work. The top looks very good on you. Thank you for a great review.
8/2/09 12:44 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty!
8/2/09 12:44 PM
quixoticpixels said...
beautiful! This is such an elegant top.
8/2/09 12:41 PM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful!!
8/2/09 12:31 PM
Linda G said...
Absolutely darling, I could not wait to see this top made up. Great job.
8/2/09 12:24 PM
persevering said...
What a pretty stylish and practical blouse! I'm hoping to also make this blouse and your interpretations on sewing details are very much appreciated and will be gratefully read again/followed.
8/2/09 12:11 PM
dbsewer said...
I love to see this top made up as it's on my list, too. Yours is really lovely. Hint, if you own a serger, a rolled hem on the flounce is much easier than the zigzag. Great job on yours. I think you'll get lots of compliments.
8/2/09 12:04 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautifully done, so simple and so chic, love it.
8/2/09 11:19 AM
jilly cooper said...
I like the fact that you include precise details on what techniques are required and how that adds to difficulty. I love this on you, it looks stylish and professional.
8/2/09 10:41 AM
aimeejessica said...
definitely very chic!
8/2/09 10:33 AM
nellc said...
Very nice top, I love the simplicity of this design, it is very stylish.
8/2/09 10:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

McCall's 5974

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

More Info
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

More Info