SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6317 (evening dress (OOP))

Viewed 1661 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:17 AM
Last Updated:1/18/04 4:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
This is an attractive dress! The simple lines, graceful neckline and pretty fabric look lovely on your DD.
1/18/04 5:00 PM
LindaB said...
Very elegant ! Your daughter looks wonderful.
1/18/04 5:22 PM
JDpenelope said...
All you trouble paid off well! Are there any teenage daughters that aren't recalcitrant? Did the dress transform her, if only for awhile?
1/18/04 9:33 PM
SewingSusan said...
Lovely...and perfect with your ribbon bag! Your review brought back good memories for me. My mother always made incredible dresses for my formals. I remember once bringing her a photo of Lady Diana in an elaborate ruffled, boned tea length gown. She pulled it off and I felt like a princess in my dress. This is why I started sewing ( I have three daughters).
1/19/04 7:48 AM
Sew it seams said...
drsue, I just love this vintage pattern. Your DD looks so lovely. Even with all the challanges you described, you did a wonderful job. I love the look of a hand picked zipper, and I think they are easier to finish than by machine, on many fabrics. My 16yo DD's school has a winter ball in Feb. and I almost feel like making a dress for her right now,(just in case), so I won't be doing what you did, with only 2 weeks time!!
1/19/04 8:54 AM
Motorposus said...
Thank you so much for reviewing a vintage pattern, especially one made up to such lovely effect. Maybe your review will inspire the rest of us with stashes of old patterns to take a crack at them...anyone?
1/19/04 9:14 AM
KathleenS said...
Great work, and such a lovely colour for a winter event. I hope your daughter was grateful :)
1/26/04 1:12 AM
leavesongrass said...
Thank you for the detailed review of an elegant vintage dress! I had an original vintage dress that was very similar, made out of black velvet. The weight of the fabric made for a wonderful swishing effect and it certainly made me feel special back then! I am going to search for this pattern now! ;-)
5/20/04 3:44 AM
Franksdottir said...
She looks lovely, and the dress is such a beautiful color. I am sure she was very pleased.
11/3/11 4:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Butterick B4686

photo
by: rivergum

Review
New Look 6723

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Buy Now