SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6317 (evening dress (OOP))

Viewed 1662 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews: 169 (patterns: 152)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:17 AM
Last Updated:1/18/04 4:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Franksdottir said... (11/3/11 4:20 AM) Reply
She looks lovely, and the dress is such a beautiful color. I am sure she was very pleased.
leavesongrass said... (5/20/04 3:44 AM) Reply
Thank you for the detailed review of an elegant vintage dress! I had an original vintage dress that was very similar, made out of black velvet. The weight of the fabric made for a wonderful swishing effect and it certainly made me feel special back then! I am going to search for this pattern now! ;-)
KathleenS said... (1/26/04 1:12 AM) Reply
Great work, and such a lovely colour for a winter event. I hope your daughter was grateful :)
Motorposus said... (1/19/04 9:14 AM) Reply
Thank you so much for reviewing a vintage pattern, especially one made up to such lovely effect. Maybe your review will inspire the rest of us with stashes of old patterns to take a crack at them...anyone?
Sew it seams said... (1/19/04 8:54 AM) Reply
drsue, I just love this vintage pattern. Your DD looks so lovely. Even with all the challanges you described, you did a wonderful job. I love the look of a hand picked zipper, and I think they are easier to finish than by machine, on many fabrics. My 16yo DD's school has a winter ball in Feb. and I almost feel like making a dress for her right now,(just in case), so I won't be doing what you did, with only 2 weeks time!!
SewingSusan said... (1/19/04 7:48 AM) Reply
Lovely...and perfect with your ribbon bag! Your review brought back good memories for me. My mother always made incredible dresses for my formals. I remember once bringing her a photo of Lady Diana in an elaborate ruffled, boned tea length gown. She pulled it off and I felt like a princess in my dress. This is why I started sewing ( I have three daughters).
JDpenelope said... (1/18/04 9:33 PM) Reply
All you trouble paid off well! Are there any teenage daughters that aren't recalcitrant? Did the dress transform her, if only for awhile?
LindaB said... (1/18/04 5:22 PM) Reply
Very elegant ! Your daughter looks wonderful.
CatherineN said... (1/18/04 5:00 PM) Reply
This is an attractive dress! The simple lines, graceful neckline and pretty fabric look lovely on your DD.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Simplicity 1282

photo
by: egreen42

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Pattern Details
Silhouette Patterns 1900

photo
by: Boxer145

Review