SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6317 (evening dress (OOP))

Viewed 1660 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:17 AM
Last Updated:1/18/04 4:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
This is an attractive dress! The simple lines, graceful neckline and pretty fabric look lovely on your DD.
1/18/04 5:00 PM
LindaB said...
Very elegant ! Your daughter looks wonderful.
1/18/04 5:22 PM
JDpenelope said...
All you trouble paid off well! Are there any teenage daughters that aren't recalcitrant? Did the dress transform her, if only for awhile?
1/18/04 9:33 PM
SewingSusan said...
Lovely...and perfect with your ribbon bag! Your review brought back good memories for me. My mother always made incredible dresses for my formals. I remember once bringing her a photo of Lady Diana in an elaborate ruffled, boned tea length gown. She pulled it off and I felt like a princess in my dress. This is why I started sewing ( I have three daughters).
1/19/04 7:48 AM
Sew it seams said...
drsue, I just love this vintage pattern. Your DD looks so lovely. Even with all the challanges you described, you did a wonderful job. I love the look of a hand picked zipper, and I think they are easier to finish than by machine, on many fabrics. My 16yo DD's school has a winter ball in Feb. and I almost feel like making a dress for her right now,(just in case), so I won't be doing what you did, with only 2 weeks time!!
1/19/04 8:54 AM
Motorposus said...
Thank you so much for reviewing a vintage pattern, especially one made up to such lovely effect. Maybe your review will inspire the rest of us with stashes of old patterns to take a crack at them...anyone?
1/19/04 9:14 AM
KathleenS said...
Great work, and such a lovely colour for a winter event. I hope your daughter was grateful :)
1/26/04 1:12 AM
leavesongrass said...
Thank you for the detailed review of an elegant vintage dress! I had an original vintage dress that was very similar, made out of black velvet. The weight of the fabric made for a wonderful swishing effect and it certainly made me feel special back then! I am going to search for this pattern now! ;-)
5/20/04 3:44 AM
Franksdottir said...
She looks lovely, and the dress is such a beautiful color. I am sure she was very pleased.
11/3/11 4:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now
HotPatterns Medina

photo
by: Mikgirl

Review