SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8469 (MISSES' DRESS)

33 more reviews
Viewed 515 times 
Reviewed by:lara900
photo

 
 
About lara900
FRANCE
Member since: 6/6/09
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/09 2:43 AM
Last Updated:9/4/09 6:11 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lara900 said...
Thanks all for your comments -- and the compliments. Shortening the dress really made a world of a difference, I now like it. -- And: I think sewing has made me very critical of fit.
9/6/09 1:30 PM
rivergum said...
You know, before I read your review, just looking at the pic, I thought how very nice you looked in that dress, not at all plus sized. I find it hard to believe that this dress doesn't suit you. Are you sure you are not a bit too critical? Can you post a picture of you in a dress you do like so I can see the difference? I'm really curious now.
9/4/09 3:38 PM
carolynw said...
Very pretty dress and WOW - this is your first!! Agree that the shorter length suits you better.
9/4/09 9:25 AM
nicolars said...
I love the fabric, and I agree that if the hem was taken up a few inches this dress would end up looking fantastic on you.
9/4/09 9:11 AM
ClaireSky said...
The dress looks very nice on you. Very cute.
9/4/09 6:49 AM
FreyaStark said...
I think it looks pretty good. The shorter length is more successful than the original longer version. The fabric is stunning.
9/4/09 6:20 AM
fryman said...
I think you earn a gold star for finishing the dress and writing the review. I think this is important. . . .wash your fashion fabric BEFORE cutting out the pattern and. . . .on the back of the envelope are suggested fabrics. Try to make the dress up again using one of the first two suggested fabrics. Go Girl!
8/17/09 11:23 AM
grey ann said...
I agree with the comments on shortening. And I, too, made patterns that did not work for my body shape/height/proportions, etc. The best advice I can give you is try LOTS of RTW styles on, note what works for you, and choose patterns that are similar. They all look good on the tall skinny models, but RTW is a good measure of which styles will work for you!
8/17/09 7:06 AM
LorrieAnn said...
This is the first dress you have made??? Wow! I think you did very well with the fitting issues, and I agree with the previous comments - do experiment with shorter skirt length. The fabric you chose is lovely.
8/16/09 2:23 PM
sewsewboy said...
I agree with Flying Seamstress, its the length. Take it up like 3 or 4 inches and the proportion looks more balanced. Pin up the hem at different lengths and reevaluate the dress. This is salvageable. As for the linen being stiff, it will soften with washing/dry cleaning. I made my sister a shirt out of linen and her complaint was that the fabric was too stiff, one hand wash and press and she was much happier. Nice effort.
8/16/09 1:03 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Your dress is so very pretty! Why don't you try re-hemming at a shorter length ~ the narrow spot below the knee where your calf muscle begins to curve outward? Hope that makes sense. The skirt & bodice proportion looks just a teeny bit off and maybe this will help!
8/16/09 6:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Marni Ponti Jacket

photo
by: PattyE

Review