Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8469 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 508 times 33 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:lara900
photo
About lara900
FRANCE
Member since: 6/6/09
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/09 2:43 AM
Last Updated:9/4/09 6:11 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Flying Seamstress said...
Your dress is so very pretty! Why don't you try re-hemming at a shorter length ~ the narrow spot below the knee where your calf muscle begins to curve outward? Hope that makes sense. The skirt & bodice proportion looks just a teeny bit off and maybe this will help!
8/16/09 6:04 AM
sewsewboy said...
I agree with Flying Seamstress, its the length. Take it up like 3 or 4 inches and the proportion looks more balanced. Pin up the hem at different lengths and reevaluate the dress. This is salvageable. As for the linen being stiff, it will soften with washing/dry cleaning. I made my sister a shirt out of linen and her complaint was that the fabric was too stiff, one hand wash and press and she was much happier. Nice effort.
8/16/09 1:03 PM
LorrieAnn said...
This is the first dress you have made??? Wow! I think you did very well with the fitting issues, and I agree with the previous comments - do experiment with shorter skirt length. The fabric you chose is lovely.
8/16/09 2:23 PM
grey ann said...
I agree with the comments on shortening. And I, too, made patterns that did not work for my body shape/height/proportions, etc. The best advice I can give you is try LOTS of RTW styles on, note what works for you, and choose patterns that are similar. They all look good on the tall skinny models, but RTW is a good measure of which styles will work for you!
8/17/09 7:06 AM
fryman said...
I think you earn a gold star for finishing the dress and writing the review. I think this is important. . . .wash your fashion fabric BEFORE cutting out the pattern and. . . .on the back of the envelope are suggested fabrics. Try to make the dress up again using one of the first two suggested fabrics. Go Girl!
8/17/09 11:23 AM
FreyaStark said...
I think it looks pretty good. The shorter length is more successful than the original longer version. The fabric is stunning.
9/4/09 6:20 AM
ClaireSky said...
The dress looks very nice on you. Very cute.
9/4/09 6:49 AM
nicolars said...
I love the fabric, and I agree that if the hem was taken up a few inches this dress would end up looking fantastic on you.
9/4/09 9:11 AM
carolynw said...
Very pretty dress and WOW - this is your first!! Agree that the shorter length suits you better.
9/4/09 9:25 AM
rivergum said...
You know, before I read your review, just looking at the pic, I thought how very nice you looked in that dress, not at all plus sized. I find it hard to believe that this dress doesn't suit you. Are you sure you are not a bit too critical? Can you post a picture of you in a dress you do like so I can see the difference? I'm really curious now.
9/4/09 3:38 PM
lara900 said...
Thanks all for your comments -- and the compliments. Shortening the dress really made a world of a difference, I now like it. -- And: I think sewing has made me very critical of fit.
9/6/09 1:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Petite Plus Patterns 601
photo
Review by mlt on 7/1/07
Read Review

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by rmomontrea... on 5/30/13
Read Review

Vogue 8877 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8877 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8732 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8732 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us