SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Pin-up Girls> 1230 

10 more reviews
Viewed 933 times 
Reviewed by:Robin Denning
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Robin Denningstar
MD USA
Member since: 6/24/04
Reviews written: 70
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/09 9:07 PM
Last Updated:8/24/09 1:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Raye Ann said...
this is beautiful! great job and thanks for the great review. i am in awe of those who make thier own bras.... i am hoping to tackle it one of these days.
8/23/09 9:22 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice job and love the fabric. Do the cup seams show through your tops, especially t-shirts?
8/23/09 9:34 PM
Robin Denning said...
RhodaK, I would not wear this with a clingy knit top. It's not so much that the seams show, but sometimes you look like you are "smuggling peanuts". I got that line from my daughter. :) They DO sell foam cups at Bra-Makers Supply where I bought this pattern. That's always best for wearing under knits.
8/23/09 10:11 PM
BlossomKyle said...
Great job! Really very nicely done!! Looks store bought, not home sewn at all.
8/23/09 10:58 PM
chacha45 said...
Could you be more specific about that "spandex kind of fabric"? I've bought bra kits that had such flimsy fabrics that I din't even bother to try them. And I'm clueless about what to buy.
8/24/09 9:18 AM
JEF said...
This is gorgeous. I'd been looking at the pattern, thank you so much for the review.
8/24/09 9:22 AM
PegL said...
Thanks for the timely and good review! I just got this pattern and am eager to try it. Do you know where your gift fabric was purchased? Edited to add: Thanks for the fabric info! Your review has really inspired me!
8/24/09 9:49 AM
Robin Denning said...
Fabric: I did a burn test. It burns briefly, then melts into an irregular hard black bead. I googled for a burn chart and my best guess is "modacrylic". The fabric came from Sigrid (in The Netherlands) who is on holiday this month). I think she buys a lot of her fabrics from Kantje-boord in Amsterdam.(http://www.kantje-boord.info/). I'll look for some more links and update my review.
8/24/09 1:04 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks, Robin. This was a very helpful review. I need to go ahead with making my own lingerie. I like the fact that I can save a lot of money. And once I nail down the fit, I'll have more options for different fabrics and styles.
8/24/09 1:52 PM
whirrclunk said...
Brilliant fabric! Thank you for the excellent review. Sounds really complicated...
8/24/09 2:43 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Great job and informative review -- this is the bra pattern I'm working on and I think I've almost got it perfected. You are so right about the BraMakers Manual -- amazing resource!
8/25/09 1:10 AM
SewRusty said...
Thanks for the review! I'll have to see about this one after I finish my bra-making class. :-)
8/29/09 9:31 PM
Athene said...
A lovely bra - its so pretty and versatile in the stripe print that it could easily cross over into loungewear.
2/5/10 11:22 PM
bless2bhome said...
I was wondering what sewing machine you used to make this.
12/22/11 2:09 PM
Robin Denning said...
Hi bless2bhome - I used a Pfaff. I like Pfaff because the IDT (like a built-in walking foot) helps sewing fiddly knits. I know people who sew BEAUTIFUL lingerie on other machines, so it is possible!! The Pfaff is just a personal preference for me.
12/23/11 9:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now