SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Pin-up Girls> 1230 

15 more reviews
Viewed 995 times 
Reviewed by:Robin Denning
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Robin Denningstar
MD USA
Member since: 6/24/04
Reviews: 70 (patterns: 63)
Favored by: 33 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/09 9:07 PM
Last Updated:8/24/09 1:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Robin Denning said... (12/23/11 9:54 AM) Reply
Hi bless2bhome - I used a Pfaff. I like Pfaff because the IDT (like a built-in walking foot) helps sewing fiddly knits. I know people who sew BEAUTIFUL lingerie on other machines, so it is possible!! The Pfaff is just a personal preference for me.
bless2bhome said... (12/22/11 2:09 PM) Reply
I was wondering what sewing machine you used to make this.
Athene said... (2/5/10 11:22 PM) Reply
A lovely bra - its so pretty and versatile in the stripe print that it could easily cross over into loungewear.
SewRusty said... (8/29/09 9:31 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review! I'll have to see about this one after I finish my bra-making class. :-)
SheBear0320 said... (8/25/09 1:10 AM) Reply
Great job and informative review -- this is the bra pattern I'm working on and I think I've almost got it perfected. You are so right about the BraMakers Manual -- amazing resource!
whirrclunk said... (8/24/09 2:43 PM) Reply
Brilliant fabric! Thank you for the excellent review. Sounds really complicated...
Mahogany Stylist said... (8/24/09 1:52 PM) Reply
Thanks, Robin. This was a very helpful review. I need to go ahead with making my own lingerie. I like the fact that I can save a lot of money. And once I nail down the fit, I'll have more options for different fabrics and styles.
Robin Denning said... (8/24/09 1:04 PM) Reply
Fabric: I did a burn test. It burns briefly, then melts into an irregular hard black bead. I googled for a burn chart and my best guess is "modacrylic". The fabric came from Sigrid (in The Netherlands) who is on holiday this month). I think she buys a lot of her fabrics from Kantje-boord in Amsterdam.(http://www.kantje-boord.info/). I'll look for some more links and update my review.
PegL said... (8/24/09 9:49 AM) Reply
Thanks for the timely and good review! I just got this pattern and am eager to try it. Do you know where your gift fabric was purchased? Edited to add: Thanks for the fabric info! Your review has really inspired me!
JEF said... (8/24/09 9:22 AM) Reply
This is gorgeous. I'd been looking at the pattern, thank you so much for the review.
chacha45 said... (8/24/09 9:18 AM) Reply
Could you be more specific about that "spandex kind of fabric"? I've bought bra kits that had such flimsy fabrics that I din't even bother to try them. And I'm clueless about what to buy.
BlossomKyle said... (8/23/09 10:58 PM) Reply
Great job! Really very nicely done!! Looks store bought, not home sewn at all.
Robin Denning said... (8/23/09 10:11 PM) Reply
RhodaK, I would not wear this with a clingy knit top. It's not so much that the seams show, but sometimes you look like you are "smuggling peanuts". I got that line from my daughter. :) They DO sell foam cups at Bra-Makers Supply where I bought this pattern. That's always best for wearing under knits.
Rhoda K said... (8/23/09 9:34 PM) Reply
Very nice job and love the fabric. Do the cup seams show through your tops, especially t-shirts?
Raye Ann said... (8/23/09 9:22 PM) Reply
this is beautiful! great job and thanks for the great review. i am in awe of those who make thier own bras.... i am hoping to tackle it one of these days.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3683

photo
by: mauve clou...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Pattern Details