Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2009-107 (Boat Neck Pleated Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 421 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Primatoidefutile
photo
About Primatoidefutilestar
FRANCE
Member since: 1/19/08
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/09 6:26 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
donna mel said...
i thought this dress looked 80's in the magazine, but not on you. i am glad to see what the sleeves looked rolled down. if i make it i would shorten them, as rolling can be a pain. i especially LOVE your fabric. dying the blue was a great idea.
9/9/09 7:51 AM
Kim12469 said...
I love this dress on you. I made a muslin and it looked horrible on me but I wasn't surprised. Great dress!
9/9/09 8:00 AM
dbsewer said...
This dress looks nice on you. Very chic. Love the fabric.
9/9/09 8:22 AM
MissCelie said...
LOL at the medieval. I love this dress and made it just about the same. But, you're right. No belt and it's no good.
9/9/09 9:33 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
Thank you very much for you kind comments. Donna Mel, I unfortunately can assure you that in the mirror, it does look eighties... I found the sleeves to be a bit long when they are worn down, but I made a narrow hem without reading the instructions, so maybe this was not what was called for. Cidell, well, I don't understand the medieval either (neither the shape, nor the pleats, nor the color...). But two made the comment independently...
9/9/09 2:25 PM
Knitters Delight said...
That looks amazing on you!
9/9/09 3:56 PM
nellc said...
Great looking dress!
9/9/09 6:02 PM
magoe6217 said...
The rolled up sleeve version of this dress looks adorable on you and to my eye very modern with the great belt you used. Fabulous photo also. That rocky coast is gorgeous. Where is it?
9/10/09 4:39 PM
jkaori said...
Your dress looks great on you! I like it in the linen fabric you chose.
9/12/09 11:21 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
magoe6217, this is the beach of St Nazaire, where the Loire reaches the sea. It looks good, but is almost completely covered with alluvial mud from the river. I am not a big fan of regular sandy beaches, but to sink to the ankle by surprise was a bit much, even for me.
9/13/09 6:18 AM
Birgitte said...
You on the beach in that dress is just fantastic. Casual, chic, free as a bird. Since I can't have the beach I'll settle for the dress- must make!!! Thank you!
1/5/10 1:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Drafted from RTW NA
photo
Review by katib on 2/24/09
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-101 Blouse
photo
Review by Skaapie on 3/1/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3278 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3278 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7321 Pattern
Burda 7321 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us