SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2009-107 (Boat Neck Pleated Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 422 times 
Reviewed by:Primatoidefutile
photo

 
 
About Primatoidefutilestar
FRANCE
Member since: 1/19/08
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/09 6:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
donna mel said...
i thought this dress looked 80's in the magazine, but not on you. i am glad to see what the sleeves looked rolled down. if i make it i would shorten them, as rolling can be a pain. i especially LOVE your fabric. dying the blue was a great idea.
9/9/09 7:51 AM
Kim12469 said...
I love this dress on you. I made a muslin and it looked horrible on me but I wasn't surprised. Great dress!
9/9/09 8:00 AM
dbsewer said...
This dress looks nice on you. Very chic. Love the fabric.
9/9/09 8:22 AM
MissCelie said...
LOL at the medieval. I love this dress and made it just about the same. But, you're right. No belt and it's no good.
9/9/09 9:33 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
Thank you very much for you kind comments. Donna Mel, I unfortunately can assure you that in the mirror, it does look eighties... I found the sleeves to be a bit long when they are worn down, but I made a narrow hem without reading the instructions, so maybe this was not what was called for. Cidell, well, I don't understand the medieval either (neither the shape, nor the pleats, nor the color...). But two made the comment independently...
9/9/09 2:25 PM
Knitters Delight said...
That looks amazing on you!
9/9/09 3:56 PM
nellc said...
Great looking dress!
9/9/09 6:02 PM
magoe6217 said...
The rolled up sleeve version of this dress looks adorable on you and to my eye very modern with the great belt you used. Fabulous photo also. That rocky coast is gorgeous. Where is it?
9/10/09 4:39 PM
jkaori said...
Your dress looks great on you! I like it in the linen fabric you chose.
9/12/09 11:21 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
magoe6217, this is the beach of St Nazaire, where the Loire reaches the sea. It looks good, but is almost completely covered with alluvial mud from the river. I am not a big fan of regular sandy beaches, but to sink to the ankle by surprise was a bit much, even for me.
9/13/09 6:18 AM
Birgitte said...
You on the beach in that dress is just fantastic. Casual, chic, free as a bird. Since I can't have the beach I'll settle for the dress- must make!!! Thank you!
1/5/10 1:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

New Look 6433

photo
by: LOST_kitty...

Review

Pattern

Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now