Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2008-103 (Tippi Hedren dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 429 times 12 more reviews
Reviewed by:mendospot
photo
Friend of PR
About mendospot
CA
Member since: 6/9/05
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/25/09 2:01 PM
Last Updated:8/25/09 3:15 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
zazzie said...
I would suggest: - do it again in a colour that you enjoy wearing. It looks great from the front. It's very flattering. I want to sew it too, as soon as I find THE perfect knit for this style. I love the drape at the front. - Use a fabric a tad thicker, or not sheer, anyway, unless you want to line the dress with another knit. But, the fabric still needs to have a lot of drape. Otherwise, the dront would look awful. - I think that most (if not all) of your back wrinkles would disappear if it was looser across the back. Before you sew the second dress, why don't you use this one as a muslin ? Try to let out a centimetre each side (above your waist) and see what happens with wrinkles. - As for VPL ... oh dear. Two options: you go back in time to be 8 year-old again, ;-) or you buy other type of underwear. Seriously: if the fabric has a bit more substence, the lines will be less obvious. But, I personally cannot wear just any type of underwear under jersey or knit dresses. C'est la vie !
8/25/09 7:17 PM
Markie1 said...
I think this is a great dress for you! i agree that in another color you might not feel like you had to be brave to wear it. I don't actually see any VPL, I will take your word for it, but have you ever heard of the brand of undergarments called Spanx? I love them! Especially for knits when you want a smooth line. But I agree with zazzie--take the knowledge you have already and make this in a color you love. I think it is very flattering too.
8/25/09 8:53 PM
yummymummy38 said...
I am not a fitting expert, but you could do as zazzie suggests, or make the darts a little less wide. I have made this dress and initially did not like it until the fit was adjusted. I have a thick waist and I find my dress looks better when the twist is a little lower, more on the hips, rather than centred over the waist. You can see if you like this by unpicking the twisty bit and pinning it lower. What makes this dress flattering IMHO is how the side bit of the drape forms a line, in the section between bust and waist. I like to wear bike shorts under my clingy jersey dresses, the cheat's version of magic knickers. I love this dress, it's not difficult to sew, yet is flattering and very comfy, I slept in mine (grey cotton lycra) on a plane recently and walked all over Milan in it. HTH.
9/2/09 9:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Self Drafted Pattern 12379-1007
photo
Review by Annette1 on 9/30/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3674 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3674 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2836 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2836 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9853
photo
Review by Ronda Rae on 11/24/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us