SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2005-101 (Jacket)

Viewed 565 times 
Reviewed by:creative1
photo

 
 
About creative1star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/25/06
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/09 1:12 AM
Last Updated:8/29/09 10:48 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yummymummy38 said...
From the close up photo, this looks very stylish. I have made this too in cobalt blue raw silk. It required alot of adjustments, more than my usual. I put it away for 2 years and have had quite a few compliments since then. It's a very feminine style.
9/3/09 8:24 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Rats, too bad it didn't work for you as I love this pattern too. If it's any consolation from the thumbnail photo the jacket looks perfect! Nice how you left out the shoulder pads and it works, I hate shoulder pads. I always need to do a gaping chest adjustment on V-necks too, and as a petite I also take out 1cm on the armscythes and sleeve, as per Burda's petite conversion instructions. On this jacket you'd need to fold out at the collar too for everything to match up. It might help raise the neckline a smidge for you. Congratulations on making all those alterations for scoliosis, that's a lot of work and a lot of love in it :)
9/1/09 3:40 PM
hildes said...
I'm glad to have been of help! And I'm looking forward to seeing the next version, I'm sure it will turn out great.
8/30/09 3:33 AM
creative1 said...
Thanks for your nice comments, you made my day! A couple days ago in a store I spotted a similar jacket, with a price tag of $350. Now I am more than ready to make another version. ;)
8/29/09 10:54 PM
ChristineX said...
I love this jacket! Thank you for reviewing it!
8/28/09 6:04 PM
Sanibelle said...
The flounced lapel is really lovely on you. Now that you know the things you'd do differently, you should definitely make another one.
8/27/09 2:19 AM
hildes said...
So sorry this didn't quite work out for you. I still think the jacket looks great though. I was looking at this pattern just the other day, really nice to see a review. By the way, the German Burda archives start at 2004, just click on DE near the top of the page.
8/26/09 4:21 PM
Leora said...
Amazingly gorgeous jacket!! Perfect for you!
8/26/09 3:05 PM
khunter said...
love it , love it, love it! What a great color on you! I love a jacket with a peplum. Your s is great!
8/26/09 11:12 AM
marec said...
Nice, nice jacket. That color is perfect with your skin tone and hair. Make another!!
8/26/09 9:54 AM
LollyVee said...
I think your jacket is great. Love the design and material. Perfect jacket with those jeans!!!
8/26/09 8:32 AM
ttn said...
I love your jacket, it is gorgeous!!! Sorry to hear you are not going to wear it, the fitting is still so much better than in RTW we buy.
8/26/09 2:20 AM
Gelbean said...
Great jacket! Your glasses are really cute too!
8/26/09 1:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 5923

photo
by: scram415

Review
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now