Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2009-128 (Narrow Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 623 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Nata
photo
About Natastar
USA
Member since: 8/20/02
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/09 9:47 PM
Last Updated:9/3/09 10:03 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Markie1 said...
I think I like your left side-the one on your watch side (I am r/l challenged!) I think it hangs nicely and flatters your legs. How does that leg fit through the thigh? Can you afford to take that in a smidge and let the "release" come after the widest point of the thigh? That might help preserve the "stovepipe" effect of narrow pants. Am I at all clear?
8/26/09 12:36 PM
Second Avenue said...
Hi Nata, I vote for the wider leg - it has a very sleek look on you. Very nice! Regards, Second Avenue
8/26/09 1:10 PM
GlobalMom said...
Looks like the left leg fits best...
8/26/09 2:39 PM
Christina W said...
Those pants really fit you well. I agree - the left leg skims your body nicely. Great job - yours are better than the magazine photo.
8/26/09 8:12 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
Oh Nata that's hard -- The wider leg looks "better" in some ways, but it loses the fashion look of the narrower leg. I personally wouldn't wear super-skinny stretch pants with tucked-in shirts - I'm insecure about the thighs! but I would go for it with a longer jacket. I think most people will vote for the wider leg, as it makes a more flattering photo, but the trade-off is that it doesn't look as fashion-forward. "Fashionable" looks are often not the most "flattering".
8/26/09 10:43 PM
maggy said...
The left leg is definely the better one! If you like the top of the pants, next time reshape the legs and make them as wide as you like. Good luck!
8/27/09 7:16 AM
Woolygal said...
Your left leg - much smoother.
8/27/09 7:16 AM
Bunsnpigs said...
Yup. I agree with everyone else. The left leg doesn't accentuate a wider hip. The model, of course, is skinny as a rail and it almost looks like it is a wider leg on her. Good catch on your part.
8/27/09 7:50 AM
Fran G said...
I like your left
8/27/09 8:34 AM
sewmom3 said...
Another vote for the left leg. Much more flattering fit.
8/27/09 10:34 AM
Nata said...
Thank you everybody. I am going with a wider leg. It was wishful thinking on my part to think that short and plumpy me can look as nice as the tall and skinny model. I have a pair of leggings to wear under skirts and longer tops. These pants will be more conservative.
8/27/09 10:44 AM
marec said...
Oh, they're great! I'll bet they will feel so comfortable. I have a pair of Patagonia wind pants with elastic on the bottom. I used to wear those to work with the elastic turned under. the invisible zippers are a wonderful detail.
9/4/09 0:32 AM
ClaireF in CA said...
Looks great with the wider leg! :)
9/4/09 1:42 AM
TamaraK said...
They look great! Thank you so much for such a great review and how you changed the pattern to work for you.
9/5/09 0:46 AM
jannw said...
I really like your idea of a mock fly front..looks great..thanx for the instructions
9/8/09 11:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's 5306
photo
Review by Sandi S on 4/12/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5603
photo
Review by Julia Bobb... on 3/11/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1916 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1916 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5872 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5872 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us