Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2925 thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1325 times 38 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:trishapatk
photo
About trishapatkstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:8/28/09 8:30 AM
Last Updated:9/12/09 10:32 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
56 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Magnificent jacket! Such attention to detail. It looks so extravagantly expensive and unique. I love it!
8/28/09 8:39 AM
sew obsessed said...
Wow, what a gorgeous jacket! All your couture details came together to star in this stunning creation. I adore the double collar. I've seen it before but not with your execution. The use of decorative stiching just sets it apart. So often people don't use the decorative stiching in their machines and you've shown how it can really enhance the final garment. Beautiful, just beautiful. Thanks for a wonderful review with all the details.............
8/28/09 8:44 AM
sew obsessed said...
Sorry, double post.
8/28/09 8:45 AM
sew obsessed said...
Wow, what a gorgeous jacket! All your couture details came together to star in this stunning creation. I adore the double collar. I've seen it before but not with your execution. The use if decorative stiching just sets it apart. So often people don't use the descorative stiching in their machines and you've shown how it can really enhance the final garment. Beautiful, just beautiful. Thanks for a wonderful review with all the details.............
8/28/09 8:46 AM
ingysoup said...
WOW!!!!! It's absolutely gorgeous, and I am a bit jealous - there, I've admited it. I also love and totally agree with the last line of your review. Enjoy it!
8/28/09 8:48 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous creation with high style and amazing details. From the custom-dyed fabric to your creative embellishment, this jacket comes together beautifully. It's perfection. I want one!
8/28/09 8:55 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Lovely!!!!
8/28/09 9:09 AM
Jatman said...
Wow. Your jacket is absolutely stunning. I am envious of your ability to alter the pattern to be so much better than it was originally. Nice job!
8/28/09 9:18 AM
Mermie said...
Beautiful jacket and great review.
8/28/09 9:29 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Oh my goodness! What a beautiful jacket and the workmanship really shines through. Great job.
8/28/09 9:50 AM
QuiltersFan said...
Beautiful jacket. Inspirational.
8/28/09 10:15 AM
Erica B. said...
That jacket is incredibly beautiful!
8/28/09 10:21 AM
jent said...
This is jaw-droppingly beautiful! I'm amazed at your talent.
8/28/09 11:02 AM
marec said...
Thank you so much for sharing the details of construction..your jacket it so pretty and even more so now that I know that the fabric is reclaimed and dyed to blend. So wonderful! The sleeves are TDF, and also remind me of Sgt. Pepper :-)
8/28/09 11:14 AM
AquariJenn said...
Beautiful jacket! Love the added details. :)
8/28/09 11:33 AM
Markie1 said...
I have to add my "wow!" to this! Holy cow, this is a masterpiece. Would love to know the double lapel trick, it is gorgeous. There are so many surprises on this jacket--really amazing.
8/28/09 12:59 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful and tasteful with meticulous execution. Congratulations on a job well done.
8/28/09 3:01 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Whoah! I was going to use the term "jaw-dropping" but someone beat me to it. Seriously. This is exquisite in every sense of the word. I love the colors, gold thread, buttons...the whole works. And I need to edit this to add that it's this kind of stuff that gives me so much inspiration to keep on sewing.
8/28/09 3:07 PM
Lori V said...
This is such a gorgeous jacket, you did an incredible job.
8/28/09 3:31 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I'm in Awe and speachless. This would win a blue ribbon and then some. Absolutely stunning work of Couture.
8/28/09 4:36 PM
Raye Ann said...
this is jacket perfection! not only in the construction, but in your design as well. i tell myself that once I learn the basics and create items that fit, I can begin to get creative and venture beyond the pattern. this type of garment exemplifies the type of thing i hope to make one day! thank you for sharing.
8/28/09 4:46 PM
sewbehind said...
Your jacket is one of a kind. Gorgeous! It is wonderful how much talent there is on PR.
8/28/09 6:38 PM
Opals Passions said...
Gorgeous jacket!
8/28/09 7:25 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket looks beautiful. Really stunning.
8/28/09 10:19 PM
Denise L Perry said...
What an amazing amount of work, and what a pay off! Absolutely stunning, and a great review.
8/29/09 6:50 AM
Karine said...
Fabulous! I sincerely hope you are planning to enter this jacket in the Sewing Expo contest sponsored by Pattern Review. I admire your creativity and ability to know what will work - like that double collar. I agree with the previous reviewer - this is the kind of work that provides inspiration and keeps me going!
8/29/09 7:04 AM
beth5646 said...
Your jacket is absolutely beautiful. I love all the attention to detail and also the design changes you made. If that were my jacket I would probably wear it until is was threadbare. Thanks for another inspiring review.
8/29/09 8:28 AM
Sharon M said...
Simply stunning! What an inspiration...I hope you enjoy the many compliments you're sure to receive when you wear your one-of-a kind creation!
8/29/09 10:32 AM
MarshaG. said...
SIMPLY SUPERB! I, too would like to know how you managed a double lapel...........just GORGEOUS!
8/29/09 10:39 AM
Christas said...
Amazing jacket! The extra designer details you added are fabulous!
8/29/09 10:41 AM
Judy Kski said...
All I can say is, "WOW!"
8/29/09 10:41 AM
MarshaG. said...
SIMPLY SUPERB! I, too would like to know how you managed a double lapel...........just GORGEOUS!
8/29/09 10:42 AM
CarolynGM said...
This is exquisite in every detail. Beautiful!
8/29/09 11:40 AM
Elona said...
OMG, what an astounding creation, and so beautifully done!
8/29/09 11:46 AM
okie2thdoc said...
Fabulous! What attention to detail.
8/29/09 12:42 PM
Beek said...
Gorgeous jacket. What a masterpiece! The details are exquisite. Just curious....what will you be wearing this with?
8/29/09 2:17 PM
trishapatk said...
To Beek, Good question! I will probably wear it with brown underneath. Brown is my favorite neutral and I like it with lavender like colors. I have two casual full length brown skirts that will work. I also liked it over the white top that is on the mannequin. I was too lazy to take it off but it seems to work. Both have stuff going on but they seem to balance each other out in a way that works. The contrast of color helps and the fact they both have metallic embroidery seems to actually tie them together.
8/29/09 3:00 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Thank you for sharing your couture jacket with us. I agree with all the above remarks. I'd love to know how to do the collar{s}.
8/29/09 3:53 PM
sew2little said...
Absolutely fabulous!!
8/29/09 7:14 PM
suesmith said...
This jacket is amazing. The lapels, the sleeves, every little detail - superb!
8/29/09 8:42 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely and exquisite. A real show stopper.
8/30/09 8:48 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Absolutely stunning attention to detail and construction. I bet no one can believe you made it, let alone that it began life as two dresses!!
8/31/09 6:07 AM
Barbara V said...
So creative and original. Congratulations on the design changes and fabric dyeing. Really gorgeous results. I love it!
8/31/09 10:36 AM
RLL said...
Got to add my WOW. Very impressive.
8/31/09 2:25 PM
nglalala said...
Your jacket is gorgeous~! I love all the little details and the colors!! Amazing job!
8/31/09 4:46 PM
rebija said...
Lovely detail! Very pretty!
9/2/09 4:56 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
I love your outfit and had fun reading your wonderful review. Thank you so much for sharing your process. How very strange about the skirt waist-line back; thanks for letting us know. I enjoyed seeing the zipper closure: nice choice and nice job. Did you know that there are now separating invisible zippers? I'm not sure you would have used one anyway, since your zip was just right; just thought I'd mention it. Thanks again for making my day with a wonderful review!
9/12/09 11:47 AM
bananaoil said...
I agree with all the praise for your jacket, it's lovely. I have an idea about the skirt waist area though. The pointiness is not from cutting off grain, I think it is because the center back seam and the waistline seam don't meet at a right angle. When you draft a pattern half, those two seams must met at right angles. You can decide whether the waistline seam runs perpendicular to the lengthwise seam for one inch or more. With one inch at 90, there will be two inches across the center back waist where the waistline is straight across and looks better, no point. To add the curve that shapes the waist line seam up at the sides, just trace with a french curve from the right angle part. I hope this is clear. I like purple and brown too.
9/12/09 1:19 PM
carnelian said...
Your re-use and transformation of the linen dresses is so inspiring.
9/12/09 6:32 PM
Kayseri said...
This is totally amazing. What a beautiful jacket. The other peices are pretty good too but the jacket just blows me away.
9/12/09 8:07 PM
Athene said...
The whole outfit is absolutely lovely. I particularly like all the detailing to the jacket. You alway do such beautiful work and I really enjoy seeing your reviews - very inspiring.
9/12/09 10:30 PM
valerie sews said...
Trisha I love what you've done with a jacket that looks very unassuming on the envelope by adding your own twists to it. And no, it doesn't look too costumy, it looks just right, retro and individual and modern all at the same time. Beautiful.
9/13/09 1:39 AM
ladylola said...
Amazing jacket, I love it! Your creativity and attention to detail is incredible. The whole outfit is just stunning!
9/13/09 8:32 AM
anncie1 said...
LOOOOOOOVE IT!
9/14/09 3:03 AM
RachelEsq said...
I am so in love with the collar(s), especially how the buttons line up in a row and then over the double lapel so perfectly. Absolutely stunning.
9/28/09 11:07 AM
ejvc said...
I just found this review. What a beautiful outfit, and I particularly like the jacket. Thank you for a great, great review.
7/28/10 10:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 7975
photo
Review by marjenann on 9/21/10
Read Review

New Look 6292 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6292 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7769 Pattern
Burda 7769 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3132
photo
Review by LynneH on 12/10/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us