SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2925 

38 more reviews
Viewed 1354 times 
Reviewed by:trishapatk
photo

 
 
About trishapatkstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:8/28/09 8:30 AM
Last Updated:9/12/09 10:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
56 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ejvc said...
I just found this review. What a beautiful outfit, and I particularly like the jacket. Thank you for a great, great review.
7/28/10 10:37 AM
RachelEsq said...
I am so in love with the collar(s), especially how the buttons line up in a row and then over the double lapel so perfectly. Absolutely stunning.
9/28/09 11:07 AM
anncie1 said...
LOOOOOOOVE IT!
9/14/09 3:03 AM
ladylola said...
Amazing jacket, I love it! Your creativity and attention to detail is incredible. The whole outfit is just stunning!
9/13/09 8:32 AM
valerie sews said...
Trisha I love what you've done with a jacket that looks very unassuming on the envelope by adding your own twists to it. And no, it doesn't look too costumy, it looks just right, retro and individual and modern all at the same time. Beautiful.
9/13/09 1:39 AM
Athene said...
The whole outfit is absolutely lovely. I particularly like all the detailing to the jacket. You alway do such beautiful work and I really enjoy seeing your reviews - very inspiring.
9/12/09 10:30 PM
Kayseri said...
This is totally amazing. What a beautiful jacket. The other peices are pretty good too but the jacket just blows me away.
9/12/09 8:07 PM
carnelian said...
Your re-use and transformation of the linen dresses is so inspiring.
9/12/09 6:32 PM
bananaoil said...
I agree with all the praise for your jacket, it's lovely. I have an idea about the skirt waist area though. The pointiness is not from cutting off grain, I think it is because the center back seam and the waistline seam don't meet at a right angle. When you draft a pattern half, those two seams must met at right angles. You can decide whether the waistline seam runs perpendicular to the lengthwise seam for one inch or more. With one inch at 90, there will be two inches across the center back waist where the waistline is straight across and looks better, no point. To add the curve that shapes the waist line seam up at the sides, just trace with a french curve from the right angle part. I hope this is clear. I like purple and brown too.
9/12/09 1:19 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
I love your outfit and had fun reading your wonderful review. Thank you so much for sharing your process. How very strange about the skirt waist-line back; thanks for letting us know. I enjoyed seeing the zipper closure: nice choice and nice job. Did you know that there are now separating invisible zippers? I'm not sure you would have used one anyway, since your zip was just right; just thought I'd mention it. Thanks again for making my day with a wonderful review!
9/12/09 11:47 AM
rebija said...
Lovely detail! Very pretty!
9/2/09 4:56 PM
nglalala said...
Your jacket is gorgeous~! I love all the little details and the colors!! Amazing job!
8/31/09 4:46 PM
RLL said...
Got to add my WOW. Very impressive.
8/31/09 2:25 PM
Barbara V said...
So creative and original. Congratulations on the design changes and fabric dyeing. Really gorgeous results. I love it!
8/31/09 10:36 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Absolutely stunning attention to detail and construction. I bet no one can believe you made it, let alone that it began life as two dresses!!
8/31/09 6:07 AM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely and exquisite. A real show stopper.
8/30/09 8:48 PM
suesmith said...
This jacket is amazing. The lapels, the sleeves, every little detail - superb!
8/29/09 8:42 PM
sew2little said...
Absolutely fabulous!!
8/29/09 7:14 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Thank you for sharing your couture jacket with us. I agree with all the above remarks. I'd love to know how to do the collar{s}.
8/29/09 3:53 PM
trishapatk said...
To Beek, Good question! I will probably wear it with brown underneath. Brown is my favorite neutral and I like it with lavender like colors. I have two casual full length brown skirts that will work. I also liked it over the white top that is on the mannequin. I was too lazy to take it off but it seems to work. Both have stuff going on but they seem to balance each other out in a way that works. The contrast of color helps and the fact they both have metallic embroidery seems to actually tie them together.
8/29/09 3:00 PM
Beek said...
Gorgeous jacket. What a masterpiece! The details are exquisite. Just curious....what will you be wearing this with?
8/29/09 2:17 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Fabulous! What attention to detail.
8/29/09 12:42 PM
Elona said...
OMG, what an astounding creation, and so beautifully done!
8/29/09 11:46 AM
CarolynGM said...
This is exquisite in every detail. Beautiful!
8/29/09 11:40 AM
MarshaG. said...
SIMPLY SUPERB! I, too would like to know how you managed a double lapel...........just GORGEOUS!
8/29/09 10:42 AM
Judy Kski said...
All I can say is, "WOW!"
8/29/09 10:41 AM
Christas said...
Amazing jacket! The extra designer details you added are fabulous!
8/29/09 10:41 AM
MarshaG. said...
SIMPLY SUPERB! I, too would like to know how you managed a double lapel...........just GORGEOUS!
8/29/09 10:39 AM
Sharon M said...
Simply stunning! What an inspiration...I hope you enjoy the many compliments you're sure to receive when you wear your one-of-a kind creation!
8/29/09 10:32 AM
beth5646 said...
Your jacket is absolutely beautiful. I love all the attention to detail and also the design changes you made. If that were my jacket I would probably wear it until is was threadbare. Thanks for another inspiring review.
8/29/09 8:28 AM
Karine said...
Fabulous! I sincerely hope you are planning to enter this jacket in the Sewing Expo contest sponsored by Pattern Review. I admire your creativity and ability to know what will work - like that double collar. I agree with the previous reviewer - this is the kind of work that provides inspiration and keeps me going!
8/29/09 7:04 AM
Denise L Perry said...
What an amazing amount of work, and what a pay off! Absolutely stunning, and a great review.
8/29/09 6:50 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket looks beautiful. Really stunning.
8/28/09 10:19 PM
Opals Passions said...
Gorgeous jacket!
8/28/09 7:25 PM
sewbehind said...
Your jacket is one of a kind. Gorgeous! It is wonderful how much talent there is on PR.
8/28/09 6:38 PM
Raye Ann said...
this is jacket perfection! not only in the construction, but in your design as well. i tell myself that once I learn the basics and create items that fit, I can begin to get creative and venture beyond the pattern. this type of garment exemplifies the type of thing i hope to make one day! thank you for sharing.
8/28/09 4:46 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I'm in Awe and speachless. This would win a blue ribbon and then some. Absolutely stunning work of Couture.
8/28/09 4:36 PM
Lori V said...
This is such a gorgeous jacket, you did an incredible job.
8/28/09 3:31 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Whoah! I was going to use the term "jaw-dropping" but someone beat me to it. Seriously. This is exquisite in every sense of the word. I love the colors, gold thread, buttons...the whole works. And I need to edit this to add that it's this kind of stuff that gives me so much inspiration to keep on sewing.
8/28/09 3:07 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful and tasteful with meticulous execution. Congratulations on a job well done.
8/28/09 3:01 PM
Markie1 said...
I have to add my "wow!" to this! Holy cow, this is a masterpiece. Would love to know the double lapel trick, it is gorgeous. There are so many surprises on this jacket--really amazing.
8/28/09 12:59 PM
AquariJenn said...
Beautiful jacket! Love the added details. :)
8/28/09 11:33 AM
marec said...
Thank you so much for sharing the details of construction..your jacket it so pretty and even more so now that I know that the fabric is reclaimed and dyed to blend. So wonderful! The sleeves are TDF, and also remind me of Sgt. Pepper :-)
8/28/09 11:14 AM
jent said...
This is jaw-droppingly beautiful! I'm amazed at your talent.
8/28/09 11:02 AM
Erica B. said...
That jacket is incredibly beautiful!
8/28/09 10:21 AM
QuiltersFan said...
Beautiful jacket. Inspirational.
8/28/09 10:15 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Oh my goodness! What a beautiful jacket and the workmanship really shines through. Great job.
8/28/09 9:50 AM
Mermie said...
Beautiful jacket and great review.
8/28/09 9:29 AM
Jatman said...
Wow. Your jacket is absolutely stunning. I am envious of your ability to alter the pattern to be so much better than it was originally. Nice job!
8/28/09 9:18 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Lovely!!!!
8/28/09 9:09 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous creation with high style and amazing details. From the custom-dyed fabric to your creative embellishment, this jacket comes together beautifully. It's perfection. I want one!
8/28/09 8:55 AM
ingysoup said...
WOW!!!!! It's absolutely gorgeous, and I am a bit jealous - there, I've admited it. I also love and totally agree with the last line of your review. Enjoy it!
8/28/09 8:48 AM
sew obsessed said...
Wow, what a gorgeous jacket! All your couture details came together to star in this stunning creation. I adore the double collar. I've seen it before but not with your execution. The use if decorative stiching just sets it apart. So often people don't use the descorative stiching in their machines and you've shown how it can really enhance the final garment. Beautiful, just beautiful. Thanks for a wonderful review with all the details.............
8/28/09 8:46 AM
sew obsessed said...
Sorry, double post.
8/28/09 8:45 AM
sew obsessed said...
Wow, what a gorgeous jacket! All your couture details came together to star in this stunning creation. I adore the double collar. I've seen it before but not with your execution. The use of decorative stiching just sets it apart. So often people don't use the decorative stiching in their machines and you've shown how it can really enhance the final garment. Beautiful, just beautiful. Thanks for a wonderful review with all the details.............
8/28/09 8:44 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Magnificent jacket! Such attention to detail. It looks so extravagantly expensive and unique. I love it!
8/28/09 8:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: sarblakesl

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-106

photo
by: liliv

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now