SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3694 ( Misses Built By Wendy Hoody)

9 more reviews
Viewed 377 times 
Reviewed by:Kim12469
photo

 
 
About Kim12469starstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 3/27/08
Reviews written: 86
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/09 8:11 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moonchild61 said...
Despite the hood, I think this is a cute jacket. Your seams are so clean.
8/30/09 9:44 PM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous fabric for your hoodie. Well worth stalking the fabric!
8/30/09 11:27 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Thanks for this review, especially about the hood! I'm so picky with hood that I actually drafted my own "perfect hood" a while back and just have it hanging up next to my "perfect inseam pocket" pattern piece! And I've got this pattern in my stash, too, so I'll be sure to make a note to use mine.
8/31/09 5:50 AM
craftygamma said...
Great jacket, and the hood does look pretty just laying on your back. I have found that hoods can be wierd even on RTW.
8/31/09 7:58 AM
RLL said...
Love the fabric...sorry about the hood.
8/31/09 12:15 PM
Barbara V said...
Very cute jacket and beautiful fabric. I hope you wear it much inspite of your disappointment with the hood. I have made this twice. The first with the original hood size; the second now recently with a larger extended hood. While I don't mind the smaller hood I must have intuitively realized a larger one would be more useful. I hope to post it soon.
8/31/09 12:37 PM
Aunt Gail said...
great material...and you certainly did a nice job of sewing it. However, it just looks rather short in the front...not just because of the hood - which I think we all agree needs to be larger. But it just seems short in the front. Sigh...great material choice also!
9/1/09 6:30 AM
Kim12469 said...
It's quite even thank you. It's the angle of the camera, my posture and the fact I have a 34G chest and a 32 inch waist that make it stick out a bit. I was not doing an FBA on an oversized raglan sleeve jacket!
9/1/09 8:20 AM
dollieo said...
I totally agree with Aunt Gail, It doesn't seem to hang properly.
9/11/09 9:01 AM
Kim12469 said...
Like I said in my last comment I double and triple checked that it's even. If there was something wrong with it I could fix it, but there isn't. I don't find these comments constructive IMO. I know I have a large chest and it makes clothes hang different on me. I chose not to do an FBA on this loose fitting jacket. I've measured the front and back pieces, I've hung it on a hanger, I've laid it flat, I've compared it to the pattern pieces, and it's even! The camera is lower than I am and it therefore shows the fact the the jacket sticks out a bit in the front because of my bust and you can see the shirt below.
9/12/09 8:27 AM
lyndle said...
I hope you still have this, because if so you should get it out and wear it. It looks great (and the pattern placement is excellent, by the way). This is a nice looking casual jacket that's smart and unique because of the fabric.
8/8/14 6:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
Other Buttercup Bag

photo
by: berngard3

Review
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now