Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3694 ( Misses Built By Wendy Hoody) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 360 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Kim12469
photo
About Kim12469starstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 3/27/08
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/09 8:11 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moonchild61 said...
Despite the hood, I think this is a cute jacket. Your seams are so clean.
8/30/09 9:44 PM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous fabric for your hoodie. Well worth stalking the fabric!
8/30/09 11:27 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Thanks for this review, especially about the hood! I'm so picky with hood that I actually drafted my own "perfect hood" a while back and just have it hanging up next to my "perfect inseam pocket" pattern piece! And I've got this pattern in my stash, too, so I'll be sure to make a note to use mine.
8/31/09 5:50 AM
craftygamma said...
Great jacket, and the hood does look pretty just laying on your back. I have found that hoods can be wierd even on RTW.
8/31/09 7:58 AM
RLL said...
Love the fabric...sorry about the hood.
8/31/09 12:15 PM
Barbara V said...
Very cute jacket and beautiful fabric. I hope you wear it much inspite of your disappointment with the hood. I have made this twice. The first with the original hood size; the second now recently with a larger extended hood. While I don't mind the smaller hood I must have intuitively realized a larger one would be more useful. I hope to post it soon.
8/31/09 12:37 PM
Aunt Gail said...
great material...and you certainly did a nice job of sewing it. However, it just looks rather short in the front...not just because of the hood - which I think we all agree needs to be larger. But it just seems short in the front. Sigh...great material choice also!
9/1/09 6:30 AM
Kim12469 said...
It's quite even thank you. It's the angle of the camera, my posture and the fact I have a 34G chest and a 32 inch waist that make it stick out a bit. I was not doing an FBA on an oversized raglan sleeve jacket!
9/1/09 8:20 AM
dollieo said...
I totally agree with Aunt Gail, It doesn't seem to hang properly.
9/11/09 9:01 AM
Kim12469 said...
Like I said in my last comment I double and triple checked that it's even. If there was something wrong with it I could fix it, but there isn't. I don't find these comments constructive IMO. I know I have a large chest and it makes clothes hang different on me. I chose not to do an FBA on this loose fitting jacket. I've measured the front and back pieces, I've hung it on a hanger, I've laid it flat, I've compared it to the pattern pieces, and it's even! The camera is lower than I am and it therefore shows the fact the the jacket sticks out a bit in the front because of my bust and you can see the shirt below.
9/12/09 8:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Farbenmix Insa Insa
photo
Review by dakotasews on 7/30/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ruffle Bum Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Ruffle Bum Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PR Member's Pattern Savage Coco
photo
Review by meggipeg on 2/26/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1763 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1763 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us