SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2962 (MISSES' DRESS)

15 more reviews
Viewed 877 times 
Reviewed by:LovelyMM
photo

 
 
About LovelyMM
NORWAY
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/09 5:43 PM
Last Updated:8/31/09 5:45 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wiccaone said...
This is definitely not a pattern for a beginner so you have done brilliantly here! And satin is one of those "challenging" fabrics. They did have tiny waists in the Fifties - the average waist was 27 inches ( I believe it is now 37 to 38 inches.) This was especially true in the UK where a whole generation went though food rationing due to the Second World War.
9/20/09 5:32 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Darn the voting is over I wouldv'e voted for your beautiful dress! What an excellent job for a "beginner and a Vogue too!
9/16/09 2:34 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Great job on your dress! I find halters are more comfortable when I wear a halter-bra with a strap in either the color of the dress, or clear.
9/15/09 8:09 PM
mizdeedee said...
that is pretty amazing for a first dress - look forward to seeing more projects!
9/9/09 6:04 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Wow! You did a fantastic job of making your first dress. This has truly been a learning experience for you. Good luck in the contest.
9/8/09 5:10 PM
AnneM said...
Turned out great, very pretty. Very attractive look on you, also. (Cute hat.)
9/7/09 8:04 PM
BillieJean said...
Yes indeed it did "turn out pretty ok for a first dress". Looks lovely on you.
9/7/09 3:28 PM
ggexpansive said...
wow that is a very good job esp. for a first dress!!!
9/7/09 1:28 PM
sewrelaxed said...
This does not look like a beginner project; this looks like something I would tackle and I've been sewing for 35 years. Great job!
9/7/09 0:38 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful dress. You are very brave to choose such a challenging fabric and style for your first dress. Well done!
9/6/09 8:04 AM
sherri2sew said...
impressive
9/5/09 10:58 PM
FullertonRegan said...
I agree, halters always *look* so cute, but they never fit me well either. I always feel like they're digging in to my neck. This dress looks great, and the detail shot of the buttons is lovely. They add a real delicacy to the dress, but you're right -- zipper for function & buttons for decoration is always a little easier to get on and off. ;) Unbelieveable first dress. If this is how lovely you're able to sew satin (the hardest fabric known to man in my opinion), you will have even better results with a simple cotton. Congrats!!!
9/5/09 3:23 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Gorgeous girl, gorgeous dress! Well done.
9/4/09 6:55 PM
AdaF said...
I think the dress its beautiful and gives you a nice silhouette. You are very brave to try this dress as your first dress and it definitely payed off. Too bad is not as comfortable as you wished, but don't we women tend to wear a lot of uncomfortable things just to look good? Keep at it, you have talent!!!
9/4/09 1:51 PM
AdaF said...
I think the dress its beautiful and gives you a nice silhouette. You are very brave to try this dress as your first dress and it definitely payed off. Too bad is not as comfortable as you wished, but don't we women tend to wear a lot of uncomfortable things just to look good? Keep at it, you have talent!!!
9/4/09 1:51 PM
LovelyMM said...
Please vote for this dress in the beginners contest...
9/2/09 7:24 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is so pretty!
9/1/09 8:15 PM
SheriF said...
Your dress is beautiful! Great job for your first dress. Can't wait to see what comes next.
9/1/09 2:30 PM
DivaQ said...
You look great in this dress!!
9/1/09 10:40 AM
nancy2001 said...
You did a great job on this dress.
9/1/09 10:05 AM
cindyann said...
Great dress! Nice work for the first time. I'm with you on the halters.
9/1/09 9:24 AM
Aunt Gail said...
What a nice, EVEN job you did of gathering all that mounds and mounds of fabric for the waistline! Very impressive
9/1/09 6:23 AM
FuzzyNavelPeach said...
You did a great job and it looks great on you.
8/31/09 11:50 PM
sfshaza said...
Beautiful! And, don't forget, women of that era were highly girdled. :)
8/31/09 10:15 PM
HeyJane said...
That is really beautiful, and congratulations on this very successful first dress. I don't like halters either…too uncomfortable. Waists looked that small years ago because they wore girdles. I look at photos of my aunts from back then, and I can't believe how tiny their waists are. Your back buttons are so pretty, and the hat is great, and I REALLY love the SHOES !!!
8/31/09 9:56 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow! Your first dress ever??? That is remarkable-you look so pretty in this. And by the way NOBODY'S waist looks as small as those drawings! Nice job!
8/31/09 9:16 PM
Annette1 said...
What a beautiful dress you've constructed! I love the full skirt, as well as the halter styling (although I bet it would be pretty heavy with all that fabric)! I'm going to send you a personal message, all right? If you go to the "Message Center" link at the upper right of your screen, it will take you to another link where you can read my message. Thanks!
8/31/09 8:27 PM
leeannz said...
Pretty dress...I am uncomfortable in halter dresses too..
8/31/09 7:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

More Info
New Look 6388 (OOP)

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review