SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 02-2006-14 (Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 548 times 
Reviewed by:quixoticpixels
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About quixoticpixelsstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 4/2/08
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/20/09 4:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
thirteenstitches said...
Be proud! You did a good job! I can see you wearing this with a pair of jeans unbuttoned over a T-shirt with the sleeves rolled up a fold or two : ) The next one will fit better BUT this one is not nearly as bad as you think! Your flower pin is adorible too! Did you make it? Cute review.
9/20/09 7:55 AM
dbsewer said...
I think this is an awfully cute style, and very brave of you to tackle Ottobre when you have not made a lined jacket. Love the color and the fabric. I'm sorry you had fitting issues, but it could be that the seam allowances got a bit dodgy when you worked with the thicker fabric. The muslin fit looks great. Congratulations. Although you don't like this on you, you did a wonderful job. Heck, enter it.
9/20/09 8:04 AM
Raye Ann said...
congratulations on finishing your jacket! even though you are not happy with the final fit, it looks good. you can always give it to your SIL and call it a stepping stone to your new jacket, with a better lining fabric!! definately enter it into the contest. it'll be good for your soul:)
9/20/09 8:19 AM
Puddin Pop said...
Beautiful and my favorite color. I have similar problems, narrow shoulders and swayback. It might look a little tight in the bust but, you know it's ten times better than a RTW fit. I like the suggestion of wearing it open with jeans. I wouldn't let it sit in the closet.
9/20/09 8:43 AM
nancy2001 said...
Congratulations, Amy. I'm so impressed with the way your jacket turned out. You did a terrific job on the lapels, the pockets, the buttonholes, and the sleeves, all the more remarkable since you've never sewn a jacket before. I'm sure your next jacket will be spectacular.
9/20/09 8:44 AM
Nata said...
Amy, you did a great job with the jacket. Nobody will know you never made a jacket before if you don't tell.
9/20/09 9:12 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Beautiful work! Your sister-in-law is a lucky woman.
9/20/09 11:14 AM
Karen6790 said...
For your first lined jacket, this was a fantastic result. Fitting is its own thing, but you've gotten the technical bits down pat, so your next one will be much better all around. And honestly, if you hadn't been so up front about your unhappiness with some of the fit, I wouldn't have noticed. Glad you learned a lot on this project - isn't it fabulous to finish something and realize just how much you've increased your skills?
9/20/09 11:27 AM
Christas said...
I think you did a wonderful job. You have learned so many wonderful skills. I am sure the next jacket you make will fit perfectly!
9/20/09 3:08 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
You did a beautiful job sewing this jacket! And now you can have the confidence to move on to the next one. Through your review, you've encouraged me to try a jacket! Keep up the great work.
9/20/09 4:57 PM
marec said...
I'll add my praise to this chorus and also say that you have such talent. I am so impressed and motivated to stretch my own skills now. Thank you.
9/20/09 5:21 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Thanks everyone! I gave the jacket to my sister-in-law and she was really excited about it. That made me very happy :)
9/20/09 6:43 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Thanks everyone! I gave the jacket to my sister-in-law and she was really excited about it. That made me very happy :)
9/20/09 7:18 PM
calminatrix said...
yeah, i must say that maybe it's the cropped picture or something but the jacket looks great on you! i guess we have to trust you that it's not right in person. but there's nothing like that feeling of making something for someone else (especially when they really like it!)
9/21/09 3:09 AM
Mufffet said...
Well, despite your issues with this pattern, it looks SWELL on you! So cute! The fabric and color is really nice as well. :) You are harder on your self than anyone else would be. :)
9/21/09 10:26 AM
JanaL said...
You did an amazing job for your first lined jacket! I am very impressed. I love the color of your corduroy, and the flower pendant is darling too. Don't give up with the fitting problems. I have been dogged by fitting issues this past year (sewn many wadders out of nice fabric that just don't fit well). However, I feel like I have finally made some progress, and it is so rewarding to make something that fits! So don't give up. You sew so beautifully. P.S. I've also found that after setting aside a project for a week or two, I like it so much better when I come back to it. I think you will end up really liking this jacket after a while.
9/21/09 10:35 AM
pterion said...
I think your jacket looks great. Having not dared to make a fitted jacket myself, I'm very impressed at how well your first one has turned out. Enter it!
9/21/09 3:15 PM
Leora said...
I say enter it! You did a great job!!
9/21/09 9:15 PM
TanyaMT said...
Wow, what a beautiful color on you! You did a very nice job sewing that jacket - I'm sorry the fit wasn't what you wanted. I wonder if that fit is more the pattern. I note the other review on PR of the jacket states it was snug also, and when I look back at the model photo she has it unbuttoned. Hers too looks like it would be snug buttoned. I wonder if it was a pattern sizing issue or a deliberate style detail. In any case, I hope you will enter it in the contest proudly as it looks very nicely made.
9/21/09 11:48 PM
CynthiaSue said...
gorgeous color and style! I enjoyed seeing it in person. It's too bad you don't love, LOVE it because you worked so hard but you have discovered fitting and it will only get better from here!!! Great job and great hard work on the boards and hitting the books to fit. That's what it takes and it's not what everyone does!
9/22/09 3:11 PM
trishapatk said...
You did do a very nice job. I hope you can work out the fitting issues. Since it's a fairly basic style could you use a pattern from another company? Is there one that has a size you know fits you well? Looking forward to seeing your next jacket. It will probably go together more quickly and you'll get to fully enjoy the results of all your hard work. Good job!
9/28/09 1:19 PM
Athene said...
Oh I'm on board with everyone else. You did a fabulous job of making up this jacket. All the detail work is wonderful. And well if it's a little tight, you now know to go up a size or so when working with thicker fabrics, so nothing is lost and you gained such great experience making the jacket.
9/29/09 6:24 PM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your jacket. the fit might not be perfect, but it is wearable. And your lining came out FABULOUS. You could wear this jacket inside out, that lining looks so good. (Aren't Nancy & Nancy just wonderful?)
10/3/09 10:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-117

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now