SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5002 (Women's Top, Dress, and Pants)

2 more reviews
Viewed 216 times 
Reviewed by:wvsher
photo

 
 
About wvsherstar
WV USA
Member since: 3/21/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/09 10:35 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireF in CA said...
No one would guess you made this top out of a sheet and a pillowcase! Great recycling with terrific results! It looks very retro and hippie - great top!
9/4/09 0:40 AM
Tall Mary said...
Pretty style on you. The print's colors are flattering with your skin tones. I am plus-sized and I so appreciate seeing reviews from the plus-sized community.
9/4/09 1:26 AM
Woolygal said...
I agree - in the proper fabric, this would be a knockout on you.
9/4/09 8:44 AM
wvsher said...
Thanks, everyone! I forgot to mention, there is a lot of slip-stitching on the bands of this pattern. So although it is not a difficult pattern, it can be time-consuming with all the hand sewing. I did a little of the slipstitching just for practice, then edge-stitched the bands instead since this is a pj top. When I sew one to wear out I will take the time to do the slip-stitching, because it does look nicer and more professional with no stitching showing on the bands.
9/4/09 11:23 AM
RLL said...
Nice job on the muslin. Get the good fabric now and you are on your way to a great top/dress. I too am plus size and fitting is always the challenge.
9/4/09 2:34 PM
paulakiss said...
Thanks for posting this review. Very well written. I can't believe that cute top was once sheets! It looks adorable on you. I'm an "experienced" beginner and I'm going to make this for the Beginner Sewing Lab 101 class I'm taking right now. Your review was really helpful! I was nervous about the zipper; glad to know I can omit that if I want. Thanks!
3/4/10 0:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2010-119

photo
by: Janiki

Review
McCall's 6208

photo
by: globalgran

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now