Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5002 (Women's Top, Dress, and Pants) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 216 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:wvsher
photo
About wvsherstar
WV USA
Member since: 3/21/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/09 10:35 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireF in CA said...
No one would guess you made this top out of a sheet and a pillowcase! Great recycling with terrific results! It looks very retro and hippie - great top!
9/4/09 0:40 AM
Tall Mary said...
Pretty style on you. The print's colors are flattering with your skin tones. I am plus-sized and I so appreciate seeing reviews from the plus-sized community.
9/4/09 1:26 AM
Woolygal said...
I agree - in the proper fabric, this would be a knockout on you.
9/4/09 8:44 AM
wvsher said...
Thanks, everyone! I forgot to mention, there is a lot of slip-stitching on the bands of this pattern. So although it is not a difficult pattern, it can be time-consuming with all the hand sewing. I did a little of the slipstitching just for practice, then edge-stitched the bands instead since this is a pj top. When I sew one to wear out I will take the time to do the slip-stitching, because it does look nicer and more professional with no stitching showing on the bands.
9/4/09 11:23 AM
RLL said...
Nice job on the muslin. Get the good fabric now and you are on your way to a great top/dress. I too am plus size and fitting is always the challenge.
9/4/09 2:34 PM
paulakiss said...
Thanks for posting this review. Very well written. I can't believe that cute top was once sheets! It looks adorable on you. I'm an "experienced" beginner and I'm going to make this for the Beginner Sewing Lab 101 class I'm taking right now. Your review was really helpful! I was nervous about the zipper; glad to know I can omit that if I want. Thanks!
3/4/10 0:30 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 3762 Jumper
photo
Review by SewingSusa... on 1/24/04
Read Review

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Purse-Nickities
Purse-Nickities

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Alabama Chanin Corset
photo
Review by Lynn67 on 11/10/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1784 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 1784 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1352 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1352 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us