SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5002 (Women's Top, Dress, and Pants)

2 more reviews
Viewed 222 times 
Reviewed by:wvsher
photo

 
 
About wvsherstar
Member since: 3/21/06
Reviews: 25 (patterns: 25)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/09 10:35 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
paulakiss said... (3/4/10 0:30 AM) Reply
Thanks for posting this review. Very well written. I can't believe that cute top was once sheets! It looks adorable on you. I'm an "experienced" beginner and I'm going to make this for the Beginner Sewing Lab 101 class I'm taking right now. Your review was really helpful! I was nervous about the zipper; glad to know I can omit that if I want. Thanks!
RLL said... (9/4/09 2:34 PM) Reply
Nice job on the muslin. Get the good fabric now and you are on your way to a great top/dress. I too am plus size and fitting is always the challenge.
wvsher said... (9/4/09 11:23 AM) Reply
Thanks, everyone! I forgot to mention, there is a lot of slip-stitching on the bands of this pattern. So although it is not a difficult pattern, it can be time-consuming with all the hand sewing. I did a little of the slipstitching just for practice, then edge-stitched the bands instead since this is a pj top. When I sew one to wear out I will take the time to do the slip-stitching, because it does look nicer and more professional with no stitching showing on the bands.
Woolygal said... (9/4/09 8:44 AM) Reply
I agree - in the proper fabric, this would be a knockout on you.
Tall Mary said... (9/4/09 1:26 AM) Reply
Pretty style on you. The print's colors are flattering with your skin tones. I am plus-sized and I so appreciate seeing reviews from the plus-sized community.
ClaireF in CA said... (9/4/09 0:40 AM) Reply
No one would guess you made this top out of a sheet and a pillowcase! Great recycling with terrific results! It looks very retro and hippie - great top!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Pattern Details