Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6735 (Misses Knit Cardigan Tops Pant) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 423 times 90 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:racehorse
photo
Friend of PR
About racehorsestarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 7/12/09
Reviews written: 101
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:9/7/09 8:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kimmielovesparis said...
Great job. You look fabulous.
9/7/09 8:39 PM
Raye Ann said...
doesn't success feel good? it looks good on you! I am making this pattern right now, too. so far I have done the pants and the skirt and am almost finished with the cardigan. i recommend them all.
9/7/09 11:36 PM
homejewel said...
The top looks wonderful on you. This is one of my TNT patterns. I love it. I need to reread the neckline instructions because I don't remember doing it the way you mentioned. Here's how I did it: with right sides together, I sewed the ends of the neckline binding. Then I folded wrong sides together lengthwise, and pinned it to the neckline, stretching to fit, with raw edges up, sewing 3/8-in. seam allowance. Then I topstitched. It worked beautifully.
9/8/09 2:14 AM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! Your top looks so great!
9/8/09 8:45 AM
racehorse said...
homejewel, did you hand sew the binding into place before top stitching? To me, the binding looks loose and not as professional as RTW. I plan to make a couple more of these with long sleeves. I'd also love to make a cardigan but I'm not sure if I should use this pattern, or the Jalie cardigan pattern.
9/8/09 9:31 AM
homejewel said...
No, I didn't sew anything by hand. After sewing the ends together and folding the binding lengthwise (with wrong sides together), I machine sewed 3/8-in seams with raw edges of neckline to raw edges of binding. It helps if you divide both the neckline and binding in fours and match up those four places. The binding will be smaller than the neckline, so you stretch as you sew to make it even. After that is done, then you topstitch. Here's a closeup of the first top I did (not perfect), but it might show the neckline a little better. http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_HPNR2H35eHE/SdyTQKG-ijI/AAAAAAAAMQc/O3IdYflpeXs/s1600-h/IMG_9734.JPGa.jpg
9/8/09 12:46 PM
racehorse said...
Thanks for posting that link. That is so helpful! I couldn't for the life of me understand what I was supposed to be doing, now it's completely obvious! Now I'll know for the next time I make this! Thanks so much! Incidentally, since you are so tall, I have sort of been stalking you to see what patterns you use. Hope you don't mind lol.
9/8/09 1:55 PM
homejewel said...
Nope!! Not at all. Be sure to check out Heidiho's patterns. I stalk her too (and she knows it). LOL Oh, but keep in mind I have small bust issues and broad back. I, too, have a long inseam - probably 38 in!
9/8/09 3:19 PM
CindieSue said...
I just bought this pattern today. This will be my first sewing project on my own! You are giving me a lot of confidence!!!
9/14/09 10:36 PM
knitsewmuch said...
You look great. Lovely fabric and perfect fit.
3/6/13 7:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

HotPatterns 1089
photo
Review by Immelu on 8/29/09
Read Review

Simplicity 4043 Pattern( Size ALL SIZES )
Simplicity 4043 Pattern( Size ALL SIZES )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7911
photo
Review by goosegreen on 3/30/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us