SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6735 (Misses Knit Cardigan Tops Pant)

96 more reviews
Viewed 429 times 
Reviewed by:racehorse
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About racehorsestarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 7/12/09
Reviews written: 102
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:9/7/09 8:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
knitsewmuch said...
You look great. Lovely fabric and perfect fit.
3/6/13 7:15 PM
CindieSue said...
I just bought this pattern today. This will be my first sewing project on my own! You are giving me a lot of confidence!!!
9/14/09 10:36 PM
homejewel said...
Nope!! Not at all. Be sure to check out Heidiho's patterns. I stalk her too (and she knows it). LOL Oh, but keep in mind I have small bust issues and broad back. I, too, have a long inseam - probably 38 in!
9/8/09 3:19 PM
racehorse said...
Thanks for posting that link. That is so helpful! I couldn't for the life of me understand what I was supposed to be doing, now it's completely obvious! Now I'll know for the next time I make this! Thanks so much! Incidentally, since you are so tall, I have sort of been stalking you to see what patterns you use. Hope you don't mind lol.
9/8/09 1:55 PM
homejewel said...
No, I didn't sew anything by hand. After sewing the ends together and folding the binding lengthwise (with wrong sides together), I machine sewed 3/8-in seams with raw edges of neckline to raw edges of binding. It helps if you divide both the neckline and binding in fours and match up those four places. The binding will be smaller than the neckline, so you stretch as you sew to make it even. After that is done, then you topstitch. Here's a closeup of the first top I did (not perfect), but it might show the neckline a little better. http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_HPNR2H35eHE/SdyTQKG-ijI/AAAAAAAAMQc/O3IdYflpeXs/s1600-h/IMG_9734.JPGa.jpg
9/8/09 12:46 PM
racehorse said...
homejewel, did you hand sew the binding into place before top stitching? To me, the binding looks loose and not as professional as RTW. I plan to make a couple more of these with long sleeves. I'd also love to make a cardigan but I'm not sure if I should use this pattern, or the Jalie cardigan pattern.
9/8/09 9:31 AM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! Your top looks so great!
9/8/09 8:45 AM
homejewel said...
The top looks wonderful on you. This is one of my TNT patterns. I love it. I need to reread the neckline instructions because I don't remember doing it the way you mentioned. Here's how I did it: with right sides together, I sewed the ends of the neckline binding. Then I folded wrong sides together lengthwise, and pinned it to the neckline, stretching to fit, with raw edges up, sewing 3/8-in. seam allowance. Then I topstitched. It worked beautifully.
9/8/09 2:14 AM
Raye Ann said...
doesn't success feel good? it looks good on you! I am making this pattern right now, too. so far I have done the pants and the skirt and am almost finished with the cardigan. i recommend them all.
9/7/09 11:36 PM
kimmielovesparis said...
Great job. You look fabulous.
9/7/09 8:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
McCall's 6391

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now