Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2008-130 (Exclusive Design Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 592 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:lizagm
photo
About lizagmstar
NC USA
Member since: 10/9/07
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/10/09 10:21 AM
Last Updated:9/28/09 2:48 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yorkshire lass said...
Oooh, stunning. I too saw this dress but sadly I have nowhere to wear it. I hope you enjoy/ed the cocktail party... I bet you were/will be the belle of the ball in that dress.
9/10/09 10:54 AM
no7262 said...
Looks great on you!!!!! NOra :)
9/10/09 10:57 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Gorgeous dress! :) (BTW, now that you're making lined BWOF dresses and doing French seams on chiffon, I think it's fairly safe to promote yourself to Advanced Beginner. ;) )
9/10/09 11:42 AM
lizagm said...
LOL, thanks Joan, I did change it. I think we are always our own worst critic. I would probably always think of myself as a beginner no matter how long I had been sewing :)
9/10/09 11:48 AM
RLL said...
Really pretty and great fit.
9/10/09 12:38 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I loved this dress in the magazine as well - your version is so very nice!
9/10/09 2:59 PM
suesmith said...
Love this pattern! Great fit, great lines and your fabric choices make for a stunning evening dress!
9/10/09 7:04 PM
sewkiwi said...
Looks fabulous. I to had been waiting for an occasion to make this and now have dinner in November that I need it for :-). I have the fabric ready to go. Thanks for the review. I'm looking forward to making it.
9/11/09 5:22 PM
kerrynw said...
Stunning dress, great achievement, you are definitely not a beginner as you describe yourself! Well done!
9/13/09 10:51 PM
Lori V said...
This is stunning, what a perfect dress for a party.
9/28/09 5:01 PM
lucylal said...
I really love this pattern too, but thought the unlined bodice in chiffon was a little strange. On thinking have decided a satin bodice would look nice too. I just might have to give it a go! Your dress looks gorgeous!!
9/28/09 5:31 PM
Leora said...
Gorgeous dress!
9/28/09 6:32 PM
CynthiaSue said...
utterly gorgeous! amazing seamstress work.
9/29/09 0:41 AM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful dress! Very elegant. I could also see it doing nicely in a print for a casual summer sundress. The lines are very nice and look great on you!
9/29/09 11:58 AM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful dress - you look amazing in it.
9/29/09 1:14 PM
DKG said...
Gosh, don't you look just gorgeous in this dress! I've never sewn a Burda pattern and you have inspired me to give it a go.
1/16/10 0:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Silhouette Patterns 310 Marie's Top
photo
Review by ggf2005 on 2/8/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Party Purse
You Sew Girl Party Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8489 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by blessedtos... on 4/3/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2255 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
McCalls 2255 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5215 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
Butterick 5215 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us