SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-124 (Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 636 times 
Reviewed by:Vivienne

About Viviennestar
Member since: 6/29/04
Reviews: 36 (patterns: 28)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/09 1:07 AM
Last Updated:9/20/09 8:07 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Vivienne said... (9/20/09 11:14 PM) Reply
Digs57 - I had originally intended to make this up in doubleknit before the wool stole my heart. I think a nice "Ponte" or Sophia type knit would be very suitable.
digs57 said... (9/20/09 9:34 PM) Reply
Great review, thanks! I love this dress' tech drawing in principle but I also fret about the slightly weird across-the-bust dart placement.... and the high funnel neck... and now you mention the overly wide shoulder "wings". And it clearly needs a CB vent. All in all, a bit of tweaking, eh? Do you think it would work in a very stable knit, like a doubleknit?
aimeejessica said... (9/18/09 11:37 AM) Reply
thanks for doing this review, i think i'll follow your lead on the interfacing. the dress looks gorgeous on the blog!
wzrdreams said... (9/14/09 2:41 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review! I've got this traced... I need to make a muslin to check the fit. I haven't picked fabric yet though.
Pinkytoo said... (9/13/09 1:07 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review, I was just thinking about making this one - and in gray! Love the pink lining!!
JennyAnne said... (9/13/09 9:04 AM) Reply
If you click the photo (or go to her blog), you can see the dress on a dressform. It looks great! This is the first patter I traced from the August issue, but I still haven't made it up. Your version is beautiful.
Kim12469 said... (9/13/09 8:58 AM) Reply
Very nice! I've had a muslin in process for awhile but put it on the back burner for the wardrobe contest. I really love your version and thanks for the great review.
cabinbaby said... (9/13/09 1:20 AM) Reply
Do we get to see a photo? I really liked this dress. All I can see right now is the line drawing.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Class Details

McCall's 6650

by: WinterQuee...

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Pattern Details