SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-124 (Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 636 times 
Reviewed by:Vivienne
photo

 
 
About Viviennestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/29/04
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/09 1:07 AM
Last Updated:9/20/09 8:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vivienne said... (9/20/09 11:14 PM) Reply
Digs57 - I had originally intended to make this up in doubleknit before the wool stole my heart. I think a nice "Ponte" or Sophia type knit would be very suitable.
digs57 said... (9/20/09 9:34 PM) Reply
Great review, thanks! I love this dress' tech drawing in principle but I also fret about the slightly weird across-the-bust dart placement.... and the high funnel neck... and now you mention the overly wide shoulder "wings". And it clearly needs a CB vent. All in all, a bit of tweaking, eh? Do you think it would work in a very stable knit, like a doubleknit?
aimeejessica said... (9/18/09 11:37 AM) Reply
thanks for doing this review, i think i'll follow your lead on the interfacing. the dress looks gorgeous on the blog!
wzrdreams said... (9/14/09 2:41 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review! I've got this traced... I need to make a muslin to check the fit. I haven't picked fabric yet though.
Pinkytoo said... (9/13/09 1:07 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review, I was just thinking about making this one - and in gray! Love the pink lining!!
JennyAnne said... (9/13/09 9:04 AM) Reply
If you click the photo (or go to her blog), you can see the dress on a dressform. It looks great! This is the first patter I traced from the August issue, but I still haven't made it up. Your version is beautiful.
Kim12469 said... (9/13/09 8:58 AM) Reply
Very nice! I've had a muslin in process for awhile but put it on the back burner for the wardrobe contest. I really love your version and thanks for the great review.
cabinbaby said... (9/13/09 1:20 AM) Reply
Do we get to see a photo? I really liked this dress. All I can see right now is the line drawing.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details