SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-124 (Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 636 times 
Reviewed by:Vivienne

About Viviennestar
Member since: 6/29/04
Reviews: 36 (patterns: 28)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/09 1:07 AM
Last Updated:9/20/09 8:07 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Vivienne said... (9/20/09 11:14 PM) Reply
Digs57 - I had originally intended to make this up in doubleknit before the wool stole my heart. I think a nice "Ponte" or Sophia type knit would be very suitable.
digs57 said... (9/20/09 9:34 PM) Reply
Great review, thanks! I love this dress' tech drawing in principle but I also fret about the slightly weird across-the-bust dart placement.... and the high funnel neck... and now you mention the overly wide shoulder "wings". And it clearly needs a CB vent. All in all, a bit of tweaking, eh? Do you think it would work in a very stable knit, like a doubleknit?
aimeejessica said... (9/18/09 11:37 AM) Reply
thanks for doing this review, i think i'll follow your lead on the interfacing. the dress looks gorgeous on the blog!
wzrdreams said... (9/14/09 2:41 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review! I've got this traced... I need to make a muslin to check the fit. I haven't picked fabric yet though.
Pinkytoo said... (9/13/09 1:07 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review, I was just thinking about making this one - and in gray! Love the pink lining!!
JennyAnne said... (9/13/09 9:04 AM) Reply
If you click the photo (or go to her blog), you can see the dress on a dressform. It looks great! This is the first patter I traced from the August issue, but I still haven't made it up. Your version is beautiful.
Kim12469 said... (9/13/09 8:58 AM) Reply
Very nice! I've had a muslin in process for awhile but put it on the back burner for the wardrobe contest. I really love your version and thanks for the great review.
cabinbaby said... (9/13/09 1:20 AM) Reply
Do we get to see a photo? I really liked this dress. All I can see right now is the line drawing.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

By Hand London Anna Dress

by: margy.64

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Pattern Details