SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-124 (Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 634 times 
Reviewed by:Vivienne
photo

 
 
About Viviennestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/29/04
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/09 1:07 AM
Last Updated:9/20/09 8:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cabinbaby said...
Do we get to see a photo? I really liked this dress. All I can see right now is the line drawing.
9/13/09 1:20 AM
Kim12469 said...
Very nice! I've had a muslin in process for awhile but put it on the back burner for the wardrobe contest. I really love your version and thanks for the great review.
9/13/09 8:58 AM
JennyAnne said...
If you click the photo (or go to her blog), you can see the dress on a dressform. It looks great! This is the first patter I traced from the August issue, but I still haven't made it up. Your version is beautiful.
9/13/09 9:04 AM
Pinkytoo said...
Thanks for the review, I was just thinking about making this one - and in gray! Love the pink lining!!
9/13/09 1:07 PM
wzrdreams said...
Thanks for the review! I've got this traced... I need to make a muslin to check the fit. I haven't picked fabric yet though.
9/14/09 2:41 PM
aimeejessica said...
thanks for doing this review, i think i'll follow your lead on the interfacing. the dress looks gorgeous on the blog!
9/18/09 11:37 AM
digs57 said...
Great review, thanks! I love this dress' tech drawing in principle but I also fret about the slightly weird across-the-bust dart placement.... and the high funnel neck... and now you mention the overly wide shoulder "wings". And it clearly needs a CB vent. All in all, a bit of tweaking, eh? Do you think it would work in a very stable knit, like a doubleknit?
9/20/09 9:34 PM
Vivienne said...
Digs57 - I had originally intended to make this up in doubleknit before the wool stole my heart. I think a nice "Ponte" or Sophia type knit would be very suitable.
9/20/09 11:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

McCall's 6378 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Butterick 5679

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now