SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-124 (Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 634 times 
Reviewed by:Vivienne
photo

 
 
About Viviennestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/29/04
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/09 1:07 AM
Last Updated:9/20/09 8:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cabinbaby said...
Do we get to see a photo? I really liked this dress. All I can see right now is the line drawing.
9/13/09 1:20 AM
Kim12469 said...
Very nice! I've had a muslin in process for awhile but put it on the back burner for the wardrobe contest. I really love your version and thanks for the great review.
9/13/09 8:58 AM
JennyAnne said...
If you click the photo (or go to her blog), you can see the dress on a dressform. It looks great! This is the first patter I traced from the August issue, but I still haven't made it up. Your version is beautiful.
9/13/09 9:04 AM
Pinkytoo said...
Thanks for the review, I was just thinking about making this one - and in gray! Love the pink lining!!
9/13/09 1:07 PM
wzrdreams said...
Thanks for the review! I've got this traced... I need to make a muslin to check the fit. I haven't picked fabric yet though.
9/14/09 2:41 PM
aimeejessica said...
thanks for doing this review, i think i'll follow your lead on the interfacing. the dress looks gorgeous on the blog!
9/18/09 11:37 AM
digs57 said...
Great review, thanks! I love this dress' tech drawing in principle but I also fret about the slightly weird across-the-bust dart placement.... and the high funnel neck... and now you mention the overly wide shoulder "wings". And it clearly needs a CB vent. All in all, a bit of tweaking, eh? Do you think it would work in a very stable knit, like a doubleknit?
9/20/09 9:34 PM
Vivienne said...
Digs57 - I had originally intended to make this up in doubleknit before the wool stole my heart. I think a nice "Ponte" or Sophia type knit would be very suitable.
9/20/09 11:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now