SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2449 (trench coat)

7 more reviews
Viewed 602 times 
Reviewed by:valerie sews
photo

 
 
About valerie sewsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/1/03
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/09 1:24 AM
Last Updated:9/18/09 1:46 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Livertrans said...
Thank you for the tip on the lining flap. I started a trench coat last year. I am no seamstress but consider myself an experienced sewer. When I got to the part about cutting the lining flap, etc. I put the pattern away for a while. The weather got nice(summer) and I left it there. I have be nervous about going back to it because of this part. It took me a while to figure out how the collar went in. The directions did not make sense to me. It was not the Vogue pattern but a Butterick. I send an emial to the company for help with that. Now that the weather is cool again, when my husband hits the road again( salesman to the western Canada Oil refineries) I will start working on it again. I find when he is home and he comes home for lunch I don't have enough time to just concentrate on my sewing. No interruptions when he is away. I want to get is finished for use this fall and then I can start my Christmas crafts.
9/29/09 10:44 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful coat! Your hard work paid off.
9/20/09 11:54 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love trench coats - yours is fabulous and you look so stylish in it!
9/19/09 6:59 PM
grey ann said...
The proportions of this style work well for you. Good choice, as I could see that a coat with different styling could overwhelm, and lots of them do! Looks terrific.
9/19/09 9:27 AM
valerie sews said...
Thank you everyone. I greatly appreciate all your comments. I think this coat is as much a product of all I've absorbed from all of you on PR in the last 5 years, as it is from the decades of sewing that went before it.
9/19/09 4:58 AM
Schnauzer said...
What a fabulous coat, Val!
9/18/09 8:24 PM
angiec125 said...
This is a lovely coat!
9/18/09 7:25 PM
nellc said...
Beautiful coat!
9/18/09 6:41 PM
moushka said...
A wonderful, classic coat that will give you many years of wearing pleasure! You did an outstanding job, it looks totally professional. Thanks for a great review.
9/18/09 6:37 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice!
9/18/09 3:20 PM
RLL said...
Great coat! Your sewing talent is shinning through on this one.
9/18/09 12:33 PM
Heatherrique said...
You created a superbly made and stylish coat, Val. All your hard work paid off! Enjoy the lovely results.
9/18/09 8:45 AM
Nancy K said...
A beautiful trench coat that will last and give you many years of enjoyment. It looks great on you too.
9/18/09 7:51 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Great trench coat.
9/18/09 7:13 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Wow! Fabulous.
9/18/09 6:58 AM
Kayseri said...
What a fabulous coat. It's beautifully made and the shape looks great on you.
9/18/09 5:15 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart; well done. I've always loved Burberrys but have never considered making my own; maybe I should.
9/18/09 3:26 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wonderful, wonderful coat. I too have made this pattern and as a small boned person can confirm its excellent proportions. I would agree its time consuming, with lots of pieces, but so worth it and I am sure you will get many years of wear from it. Thanks for all the very useful tips too. A very, very helpful review.
9/18/09 3:09 AM
Darlene2001 said...
Beautiful job.
9/18/09 1:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-129

photo
by: Kemish

Review
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

More Info