Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5478 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1287 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 35 people   
Reviewed by:trishapatk
photo
About trishapatkstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/09 7:10 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
51 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
quixoticpixels said...
Wow! Gorgeous!
9/29/09 7:33 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your jacket is absolutely stunning on you! Meticulous work. Thank you for the great review. Will have to see if I can still get this pattern.
9/29/09 7:43 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Divine, absolutely beautiful and impeccable attention to detail. Enjoy your treasure!
9/29/09 7:49 PM
emcrorie said...
amazing! you are inspiration to the rest of us :)
9/29/09 8:17 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Wonderful! It looks great and you did a fabulous job.
9/29/09 8:32 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Absolutely beautiful!
9/29/09 8:33 PM
Lili123 said...
wow!!!your jacket is superb!!!
9/29/09 8:58 PM
cybermom said...
I like this really cute. You did a great job!
9/29/09 9:17 PM
susiestitcher said...
This is so lovely! I love the rounded collar and the back pleats. How neat that you were able to use your antique buttons. They are perfect for this project. You have sewn a beautiful jacket!
9/29/09 9:30 PM
katlew03 said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket. The details are perfectly done. Great workmanship. Thanks for all the details.
9/29/09 10:04 PM
katlew03 said...
Forgot one thing. I hope you are entering this in the lined jacket contest currently running.
9/29/09 10:06 PM
Christas said...
EXTREMELY cute jacket!!!
9/29/09 10:10 PM
Lori V said...
Stunning.
9/29/09 11:14 PM
elainemay said...
I have always thought the picture on the envelope looked ridiculous and costume-y and I never considered buying it. But I've completely fallen for yours and now I've bought the pattern too! Amazing, beautiful work, gorgeous jacket. Hope mine turns out half as well!
9/30/09 0:11 AM
lara900 said...
very pretty jacket! -- I am in awe. and very thorough review.
9/30/09 0:19 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Lovely jacket and great review.
9/30/09 0:35 AM
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous jacket, love the very detailed finishing too. Thank you for reminding me that I have this pattern.
9/30/09 3:13 AM
Clareew said...
Wonderful jacket, brilliant review.
9/30/09 3:50 AM
Heatherrique said...
Exceptionally darling jacket! Thanks for a wonderful review!
9/30/09 3:50 AM
Michele19 said...
All I can say is WOW! I love everything about your jacket, esp. the beautiful finishing details. Brava!
9/30/09 4:43 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful - all of it. I would put a long-sleeved turtleneck top under this and wear it all winter.
9/30/09 5:47 AM
kittybishop said...
Very beautiful jacket, I love the details and I have some very similiar buttons that I scored in a thrift shop. Now all you need is some driving gloves and you're good to go.
9/30/09 8:18 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket is stunning. It looks lovely on you.
9/30/09 8:23 AM
lynnewill said...
Thank you for this well written review. I especially love the tip about using the ties. You do an excellent job of describing your techniques, clear and concise.
9/30/09 8:56 AM
Amanda S. said...
It's gorgeous! I love all the details you included. Great tip on neckties - I'll definitely be using that trick. I also LOVE the bound button holes!
9/30/09 9:06 AM
Andreahg said...
Your jacket is amazing! It's too bad this pattern is OOP.
9/30/09 9:15 AM
carolynw said...
Yiou could not buy this in RTW unless you were willing to part with $$$$ - this is just gorgeous - terrific attention to detail!!
9/30/09 9:48 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is beautiful in every way: fabric, style, fit... I too love the collar and that you made real pockets. Great jacket!
9/30/09 10:05 AM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely jacket. It looks beautiful on you.
9/30/09 11:33 AM
Jolet said...
What a wonderful jacket!! Really stunning. Very interesting review. You've put so much effort in this jacket I hope you'll wear it with pride.
9/30/09 11:39 AM
digs57 said...
Congratulations on a very beautiful jacket, the details of your improvements, and suggestions for further ones, on the original pattern. Excellent work!
9/30/09 1:42 PM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful and looks wonderful on you.
9/30/09 3:16 PM
bebrown said...
Beautiful jacket and beautifully made. Thanks for the great tip about using old ties from a thrift store for bias strips.
9/30/09 4:00 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Looks great, and fits you perfectly! I loved your purple jacket at the ASE show - the model was right in front of me in line.
9/30/09 4:02 PM
jent said...
I just love your reviews - your work is inspiring and your sewing talent is extraordinary. Thanks!
9/30/09 5:40 PM
Kayseri said...
Lovely looking jacket and beautifully finished.
9/30/09 6:21 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your jacket is lovely. I love how you used the plaid fabric. Great job!
9/30/09 9:44 PM
becca a said...
Beautiful jacket! Thank you for the detailed review. It is very helpful
10/1/09 7:57 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful jacket and workmanship. The use of ties for piping tip is great.
10/1/09 10:25 AM
Re Becca said...
Gorgeous! Love the way you used the plaid. Such and inspiration!
10/1/09 10:52 AM
Athene said...
Fabulous detailing - gorgeous jacket and lovely fit. Thank you for all the great photos of your work.
10/1/09 1:06 PM
MBPaz said...
Haute Couture! Fabulous!
10/1/09 2:07 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely beautiful and a very helpful and thorough review. Thank you for the tip for the back of the bound buttonholes. Have you considered putting that in the tips section? (if it is there already I apologise... I did not see it when looking on Tuesday...can you guess I am doing bound buttonhole practices this week?)
10/2/09 3:44 AM
catwoman7 said...
You're so talented, I can't imagine whipping this up in 2 days with all the alterations you made. Great job. The jacket looks gorgeous.
10/3/09 11:00 AM
TanyaMT said...
Very, very beautiful jacket that fits you nicely.
10/3/09 6:15 PM
nancy2001 said...
Congratulations on your win, Trisha. Your jacket is beautifully designed and constructed and reflects your artistic talents.
10/12/09 5:24 PM
KathleenS said...
This is very inspiring!
10/20/09 6:17 AM
salsera7 said...
I'm making this jacket today and thought I might check here first. You did an absolutely wonderful job and it fits you very nicely. You are definitely one of the most professional seamstresses on PatternReview.
11/23/09 5:58 AM
Lokken said...
Absolutely love your details! Beautiful work.
1/1/10 8:14 PM
ejvc said...
I'm having trouble with the photos - they are all listed as private on Flickr. Too bad because I like the preview photo and your other jacket is TDF.
7/28/10 10:40 AM
chucklehead said...
SO beautiful! The piping is a great idea and looks fantastic.
12/1/10 8:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 2455
photo
Review by SeamsFabul... on 8/30/10
Read Review

Butterick 6016 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 6016 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5895
photo
Review by mimi g. on 5/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us