SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2439OOP (Valentino Couturier Pattern)

Viewed 454 times 
Reviewed by:hilaryr
photo

 
 
About hilaryrstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/09 3:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Very smart, and good on you for persisting with it. I agree with you about the collar.
10/3/09 4:25 AM
valerie sews said...
Very groovy dress with some nice details indeed. I'd like to have seen a photo of you wearing it though.
10/3/09 4:59 AM
jilly cooper said...
your dress looks way better than the pattern picture. I really like the top bit, very stylish.
10/3/09 7:04 AM
Johanna Lu said...
I am floored by the design of this dress, esp the belt loops/pocket thingie. I too agree about the collar, it can be a little constraing. Great work! I'd say you can definitely change that adv beginner label :)
10/3/09 7:05 AM
Amanda S. said...
Great dress! I love the design of the pockets and belt openings. It's super cute!
10/3/09 8:42 AM
Kay Y said...
What a great dress! Love the interesting details - if I see this pattern I'd definitely consider making it.
10/3/09 9:43 AM
okie2thdoc said...
Wonderful pattern. Thanks for the review.
10/3/09 9:57 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
I love the fashion from the 60's. As for your dress - WOW! Great job.
10/3/09 10:00 AM
Barbara V said...
Absolutely beautiful job with this fabulous 60's dress. Your choice of fabric and layout showing contrast in the grain makes this even more wonderful. Great job!
10/3/09 10:52 AM
Dynamo said...
This may be a vintage pattern but you've given it a very up-to-date look by removing the collar and by your choice of fabric. Fitted, belted ... looks very current, and one of a kind. I just love it.
10/3/09 10:54 AM
MaryDB said...
Love the dress, you did a terrific job with it. I remember sewing those pockets in the 60s and rembember well the whole pucker problem. I sure don't see any on your dress, though - great work.
10/3/09 11:04 AM
Twinset said...
Beautiful dress! I really love your choice of fabric and everything is superbly executed! Great!
10/3/09 11:15 AM
Peter in NYC said...
That is a great dress and without that mock turtleneck thing which you eliminated I don't think it looks vintage at all. Beautiful!
10/3/09 11:20 AM
Elona said...
The design lines and construction details of these old patterns are just amazing. Very pretty!
10/3/09 11:53 AM
Heatherrique said...
Mesmerizingly groovy dress! You inspired me to try this pattern. It has been sitting in my stash for awhile. Also your dress looks nicer than Valentino's.
10/3/09 12:02 PM
Rhoda K said...
Your dress is very pretty. I love his designs and I think this dress, sans collar, is timeless.
10/3/09 2:47 PM
Ceidhle said...
WOW! That is a great looking dress. It looks so up-to-date it hard to believe it is a vintage pattern.
10/3/09 3:34 PM
pammieh said...
Very flattering, and cute dress!!
10/3/09 4:30 PM
nancy2001 said...
Very Valentino. I can see Jackie O wearing this in the late 60s.
10/3/09 5:38 PM
CynthiaSue said...
how amazing. looks fabulous.
10/3/09 10:45 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
I love this! I just won an auction for a big batch of 60's and 70's patterns and I'm so inspired by those who try them out. Wonderful.
10/3/09 11:09 PM
Sew tell me said...
Great dress, very chic and super cute.
10/4/09 0:26 AM
Jali said...
Doing away with the collar worked marvelously to make the dress more current. Simply chic!
10/4/09 7:29 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress.
10/4/09 8:27 AM
DorothyK said...
You did a great job on this fabulous dress. The fabric is perfect. I think it definitely has a contemporary look and can easily be worn today.
10/4/09 10:08 AM
Karine said...
Great dress! I love the distinctive pockets and carriers. The part that was most challenging from a sewing standpoint is also what makes it unique. It looks like you did a really nice job - I don't notice any "pulls and creases" when I look at the dress. Probably one of those cases where you're far more critical than anyone else!
10/4/09 11:22 AM
barbcl said...
Very good looking dress. So many of the dresses from the 60's patterns have high, uncomfortable necklines, but the other lines of the dresses have great shape. Your dress certainly reflects the couturier look!
10/4/09 12:28 PM
calminatrix said...
who'd athunk a pocket could turn into a dart? very cool dress! LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!
10/4/09 1:54 PM
kittybishop said...
Absolutely beautiful and I think your fabric choice is spot on. Thank you for sharing.
10/4/09 2:11 PM
senaSews said...
Adorable dress. Beautiful!
10/5/09 1:46 AM
Stitchcakes said...
CUUUUTE!! At first, I was disappointed about the collar, but you convinced me. I have a vintage Vogue dress for which I just read the instructions, and I was surprised that they wanted me to underline the whole thing when they don't even know what fabric I'm using. I don't think that's gonna happen...Thanks for the fitting tip on the vintage, too. I was thinking I could go down a size in both current and vintage...
10/5/09 12:27 PM
Hilary said...
What a cute dress!! It looks much better with the new neckline you've made-great job!
10/6/09 11:14 AM
lilsewinqueen said...
Wow, what a great little day dress, I would love to see Vogue add this to their Vintage Vogue Collection
10/21/09 9:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-117

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Buy Now