SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 02-2009-12 ("Elegance" trousers)

5 more reviews
Viewed 423 times 
Reviewed by:ejvc
photo

 
 
About ejvcstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/7/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/09 6:09 AM
Last Updated:10/13/09 6:21 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
o3b said...
You made a great review of this pattern! I am printing it out to store with the magazine.
5/14/10 3:27 AM
Sew4Fun said...
I found your review extremely helpful. One of the best reviews I've read for a while. Thanks!
1/17/10 5:35 AM
21wale said...
Thanks for the review - I've been considering these pants for a while. And after all that work, you got a really nice fit.
10/25/09 8:30 PM
ejvc said...

10/22/09 5:08 AM
ejvc said...
Thanks everyone for the comments and I'm glad you like the pockets. I am wearing these trousers all the time. Regarding the Ottobre figure -- everything is relative. Tall - I'm 5'6", and I think they design for 5'7" or 5'8" - I take 4cm off the bottom typically. Large-busted - let's say a generous c-cup rather than the big-4 b cup. Tummy - they just have a lot of styles where the waistline is disguised rather than highlighted. I don't know if their actual *block* has "tummy" built in. Flat-bottomed -- this I do think, but I have the opposite, so I think this might fit the ordinary figure rather well. I really like their patterns so I keep using them. Their cutting and construction are very well done.
10/22/09 5:08 AM
PJH said...
Thanks for the great review. Your pants look really good, especially the pockets. Interesting thoughts on the 'Ottobre figure'. Thank you.
10/17/09 3:20 AM
RuthieSews said...
Wonderfully detailed review. Very helpful, and I am sure I can apply lots of your fitting tips to the Ottobre patterns I have. P.S. Did I say how fab they look? No? They look FAB!!!
10/15/09 6:16 PM
StashPanache said...
Pants look great, Elizabeth. Great review, too. All that effort on the pockets paid off. They look fantastic. Thanks to your review I am thinking I might have an Ottobre behind and might try a pair of pants from them?
10/14/09 9:43 PM
Geordie Girl said...
They were well worth the trouble. The pockets look great. Thanks for a great reveiw
10/14/09 10:11 AM
Miranda said...
Great job Elizabeth! Well done! They're fantastic.
10/13/09 11:24 PM
sarahinlafayette said...
Great review, and I agree with your idea of the Ottobre figure, which I also do not share! Your pants look great on you, but thanks to your fair warning, I think I'll steer clear of this pattern.
10/13/09 11:14 AM
Mufffet said...
Very nice. All that work, and it paid off.
10/13/09 9:46 AM
said...
Excellent review. The pants look so RTW and those pockets are wonderful despite the construction challenge.
10/13/09 9:35 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Tez said...
The pants look terrific. I love those pockets -- I hadn't even noticed them in the magazine.
10/13/09 8:53 AM
VtMartha said...
These are some fantastic pants, Elizabeth! The review is great too. Thanks.
10/13/09 7:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Simplicity 2593

photo
by: devviePuu

Review
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

More Info
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

More Info
New Look 6115

photo
by: labbiegirl...

Review