SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5638 

Viewed 572 times 
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/09 2:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
puddypaws said...
Nicely done. Love the color!
10/13/09 3:15 PM
RLL said...
Your fabric is very vibrant and I like how you sewed down the pockets (rather than flapping). And I like the pleat in the back for some vertical line. I have looked at this pattern so many times, obviously drawn to it, but keep passing it up. Maybe I won't now that you have reviewed it and consider it a winner.
10/13/09 3:24 PM
Aixoise said...
This looks great on you - line, color, fit - everything. Good call on the pockets, too. What fabric did you use? I may have to sew this one up.
10/13/09 5:05 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I have never been a fan of jackets without buttons, but this looks really sharp. I might have to give this a second look. jw
10/13/09 5:17 PM
papago said...
This looks just beautiful on you. Love it!!!
10/13/09 5:53 PM
sewtime said...
Love your jacket!! The bright color and style is beautifully made!
10/13/09 6:28 PM
Mermie said...
Love your jacket. The color is great on you!
10/13/09 6:51 PM
Athene said...
Your jacket is wonderful and such a pretty color on you.
10/13/09 8:55 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very smart jacket, and a really delicious colour!
10/14/09 4:39 AM
Rebecca D said...
The color is simply gorgeous on you and the style suits you very well.
10/14/09 7:11 AM
Peggy L said...
Another winner!
10/14/09 7:57 AM
apple annie said...
Fabulous color, one of those happy colors that I am always drawn to no what what season. Great job, enjoy wearing it.
10/14/09 8:23 AM
Barbara V said...
What a great looking jacket and beautiful color. The back pleat really adds to this classic swing style. Nice job, especially good idea in reducing bulk in the pocket/hem area.
10/14/09 12:38 PM
DorothyK said...
Very nice jacket. I like what you did with the pockets. The jacket is simple and versatile. Looks like you could get a lot of use out of it. Is that your (extremely tidy) sewing room?
10/14/09 1:09 PM
LollyVee said...
You look sooo glamorous...love that jacket in that colour...perfect match!
10/14/09 1:53 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks for comments, all. Aixoise, the fabric came from Sawyer Brook. It's from Italy, and it's a linen blended with something: I think rayon, but not sure. Dorothy K: ha,ha: my sewing room is not something I'd willingly put in a picture unless Mary Poppins was here first. Picture was taken at G St. Fabrics in Md--where I take a class every Wednesday afternoon.
10/14/09 6:48 PM
Ann Smith said...
Very lovely. What a great color on you. Your changes to the pocket are a really good idea and one that often needs to be done on patterns (they just don't seem to get that right).
10/16/09 1:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Butterick 3523 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Butterick 5644

photo
by: marec

Review
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now