SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5638 

Viewed 577 times 
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/09 2:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Very lovely. What a great color on you. Your changes to the pocket are a really good idea and one that often needs to be done on patterns (they just don't seem to get that right).
10/16/09 1:08 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks for comments, all. Aixoise, the fabric came from Sawyer Brook. It's from Italy, and it's a linen blended with something: I think rayon, but not sure. Dorothy K: ha,ha: my sewing room is not something I'd willingly put in a picture unless Mary Poppins was here first. Picture was taken at G St. Fabrics in Md--where I take a class every Wednesday afternoon.
10/14/09 6:48 PM
LollyVee said...
You look sooo glamorous...love that jacket in that colour...perfect match!
10/14/09 1:53 PM
DorothyK said...
Very nice jacket. I like what you did with the pockets. The jacket is simple and versatile. Looks like you could get a lot of use out of it. Is that your (extremely tidy) sewing room?
10/14/09 1:09 PM
Barbara V said...
What a great looking jacket and beautiful color. The back pleat really adds to this classic swing style. Nice job, especially good idea in reducing bulk in the pocket/hem area.
10/14/09 12:38 PM
apple annie said...
Fabulous color, one of those happy colors that I am always drawn to no what what season. Great job, enjoy wearing it.
10/14/09 8:23 AM
Peggy L said...
Another winner!
10/14/09 7:57 AM
Rebecca D said...
The color is simply gorgeous on you and the style suits you very well.
10/14/09 7:11 AM
FreyaStark said...
A very smart jacket, and a really delicious colour!
10/14/09 4:39 AM
Athene said...
Your jacket is wonderful and such a pretty color on you.
10/13/09 8:55 PM
Mermie said...
Love your jacket. The color is great on you!
10/13/09 6:51 PM
sewtime said...
Love your jacket!! The bright color and style is beautifully made!
10/13/09 6:28 PM
papago said...
This looks just beautiful on you. Love it!!!
10/13/09 5:53 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I have never been a fan of jackets without buttons, but this looks really sharp. I might have to give this a second look. jw
10/13/09 5:17 PM
Aixoise said...
This looks great on you - line, color, fit - everything. Good call on the pockets, too. What fabric did you use? I may have to sew this one up.
10/13/09 5:05 PM
RLL said...
Your fabric is very vibrant and I like how you sewed down the pockets (rather than flapping). And I like the pleat in the back for some vertical line. I have looked at this pattern so many times, obviously drawn to it, but keep passing it up. Maybe I won't now that you have reviewed it and consider it a winner.
10/13/09 3:24 PM
puddypaws said...
Nicely done. Love the color!
10/13/09 3:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-108

photo
by: Kbenco

Review
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8742

photo
by: CissieW

Review