SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4084 (Threads Lined Coat)

13 more reviews
Viewed 465 times 
Reviewed by:FullertonRegan
photo

 
 
About FullertonReganstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/8/08
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/09 10:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FullertonRegan said... (10/15/09 11:05 AM) Reply
You all are the best! Thanks so much for all of the info on the yoke and all of you sweet compliments! Yes, Raye Ann, I did wear it in our first rain of the season. :) Super exciting!
Sic said... (10/15/09 4:30 AM) Reply
Very lovely coat! I love a little sparkle!
Nancywin said... (10/14/09 11:15 PM) Reply
Great looking coat. You should be very proud of yourself! I love the lining. Very nice job.
grey ann said... (10/14/09 6:55 PM) Reply
I didn't know about the cap hiding place, Alfalfa. The extra yoke in the back is just another layer of rainshield, like a rainshield on a tent, I believe.
LollyVee said... (10/14/09 1:31 PM) Reply
Love that trench...gorgeous colour...fabulous lining and sparkly buttons! Nice one!
ALFALFA said... (10/14/09 1:14 PM) Reply
Trench coats were originally manufactured for the British Arlmy during WW1 and the flap in the front was a place for your cap to go when you removed it. So my Dad told me a British Army veteran. lynne
Raye Ann said... (10/14/09 12:01 PM) Reply
really cute! you will get alot of use out of it. hopefully it is completely finished and you are wearing it now:) (SoCal's first rain of the season)
CynthiaSue said... (10/14/09 11:09 AM) Reply
yay for you! a trench for all winter! Amazing job!
FreyaStark said... (10/14/09 4:33 AM) Reply
Very nice. The lining is especially cute. Traditional trenchcoats, such as Burberrys, which I've owned, do have a lot of apparently pointless features. I can only imagine that originally they had a purpose related to hunting, shooting or fishing, or maybe even military uses, when the coat was first designed.
Lori V said... (10/13/09 11:05 PM) Reply
Great looking trench.
Re Becca said... (10/13/09 10:59 PM) Reply
That looks Great! Raincoat fabric doesn't seem like it would be the easiest to deal with, I have never had the patience to try it. That looks super on you. The details look very professional!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7607

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Simplicity 8508

photo
by: maria 6705

Review
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Pattern Details