SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-101 (trousers/pants)

4 more reviews
Viewed 552 times 
Reviewed by:Erin Sooit
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Erin Sooitstar
Member since: 7/2/07
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/09 11:56 PM
Last Updated:10/31/09 0:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Nice pants...I love plain front pants. Thanks for the information on sizing and the fabric "expansion".
10/31/09 11:25 AM
Annette Wright said...
Someone else had reviewed this also, so it's nice to see people liking the pattern. I will have to give it a try.
10/31/09 9:34 AM
Erin Sooit said...
I wondered about using linen cotton blend, but the cotton in this fabric made the linen a bit more stable. i don't think I can fix the photo, it's one of the first ones I've posted. I'll try putting the tan pair up too =]
10/31/09 0:07 AM
Mary Nanna said...
well, having made 2 versions of this myself it's on my TNT pattern list now too! I wonder if the linen had something to do with the amount of stretch you experienced - linen is the fabric most notorious for expansion! I made my version a size smaller in the waist - and put all belt tabs in place ready for the stretch - but making it a size smaller in the waist was all that was required.. I don't need my belt.
10/29/09 11:38 PM
Patzee said...
I've been looking hard at this pattern. Glad you like it. If you get a chance, see if you can fix the photo so we can see a larger version. Thanks!
10/29/09 6:14 PM
halleyscomet said...
Can't get a larger image of the picture but they look great!
10/29/09 8:52 AM
lamstu said...
Thanks for your review. This is on my list of patterns and I'm always reluctant to try trousers, so your good words are encouraging. The notes about size and the waistband tip are most helpful. (Can you link your photo to more pics? Would love to see both pairs and back and side views.)
10/29/09 3:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Kwik Sew 3527

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review

Pattern

McCall's 2447

photo
by: mportuesis...

Review

Pattern

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now