Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5002 (Swing Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 2248 times 46 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Annika
photo
Friend of PR
About Annikastar
WA USA
Member since: 11/14/03
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/04 5:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Very pretty, Annika. I like your fabric. I also love the way this pattern swings when I walk.
2/9/04 5:38 PM
Meredith P said...
My favorite skirt pattern. Stunning fabric choice, Annika. Love it!
2/9/04 6:15 PM
AnneM said...
What a difference material makes. Very nice matching of material & skirt.
2/9/04 6:20 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is such a pretty skirt, Annika. I'll have to get this one! -Ann
2/9/04 7:35 PM
Schnauzer said...
Your skirt looks really lovely Annika.
2/9/04 9:48 PM
Rebecca D said...
Annika, I love this pattern, too and the paisley velvet is groovy. Would you mind describing how you did the elastic? I'm always curious to learn another method.
2/10/04 7:43 AM
JAS said...
Beautiful skirt; please describe the serging technique you used for the waist. I'm just learning how to use my serger and want to use it for construction not just seam finishing.
2/10/04 9:30 AM
Annika said...
Loes Hinse suggests dividing the elastic into quarters and pinning it to the top of the waistband, then stretching the elastic to fit the waistband as you sew it together. I just folded the fabric over and serged the edge to the crease of the fabric, creating a pocket. Too hard to describe - if you got a video with your serger, chances are they discuss the technique on the video.
2/10/04 10:03 AM
amyf said...
I really like your skirt. I hate to spend $16 on a pattern, but I might just have to do it for this one!
2/10/04 11:42 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Skirt is great: love the flounce on the bottom: think I'll order it, based on your review. As for the elastic and serger, all I do is mark the elastic in fourths, pin the top of elastic and top of skirt together: elastic on inside of skirt (1 of the fourths at center front, 1 at center back, etc. ) and then serge stretching the elastic . Then, turn serged top inside and either top stitch what you've turned in or just stitch at the side seams with conventional machine: elastic will stay down. Hope this helps.
2/10/04 3:18 PM
Deepika said...
Very pretty skirt Annika!
2/10/04 7:01 PM
Ann C said...
How pretty.
2/12/04 1:40 PM
hnjmom said...
What a beautiful skirt! I love it.
3/1/04 4:13 PM
tammyc said...
Very Helpful
4/5/04 1:14 PM
Elisabetha said...
Haven't made this one yet but with these comments I'm encouraged to do so.
8/18/04 5:35 AM
EleanorMcCarthy said...
Really lovely skirt Annika. I especially like the fabric you chose. It accentuates the flounce and I bet it looks great swinging around your legs when you walk.
11/28/06 11:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Drafted from RTW NA
photo
Review by katib on 2/24/09
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-101 Blouse
photo
Review by Skaapie on 3/1/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3278 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3278 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7321 Pattern
Burda 7321 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us