SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5002 (Swing Skirt)

46 more reviews
Viewed 2251 times 
Reviewed by:Annika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annikastar
WA USA
Member since: 11/14/03
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/04 5:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Very pretty, Annika. I like your fabric. I also love the way this pattern swings when I walk.
2/9/04 5:38 PM
Meredith P said...
My favorite skirt pattern. Stunning fabric choice, Annika. Love it!
2/9/04 6:15 PM
AnneM said...
What a difference material makes. Very nice matching of material & skirt.
2/9/04 6:20 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is such a pretty skirt, Annika. I'll have to get this one! -Ann
2/9/04 7:35 PM
Schnauzer said...
Your skirt looks really lovely Annika.
2/9/04 9:48 PM
Rebecca D said...
Annika, I love this pattern, too and the paisley velvet is groovy. Would you mind describing how you did the elastic? I'm always curious to learn another method.
2/10/04 7:43 AM
JAS said...
Beautiful skirt; please describe the serging technique you used for the waist. I'm just learning how to use my serger and want to use it for construction not just seam finishing.
2/10/04 9:30 AM
Annika said...
Loes Hinse suggests dividing the elastic into quarters and pinning it to the top of the waistband, then stretching the elastic to fit the waistband as you sew it together. I just folded the fabric over and serged the edge to the crease of the fabric, creating a pocket. Too hard to describe - if you got a video with your serger, chances are they discuss the technique on the video.
2/10/04 10:03 AM
amyf said...
I really like your skirt. I hate to spend $16 on a pattern, but I might just have to do it for this one!
2/10/04 11:42 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Skirt is great: love the flounce on the bottom: think I'll order it, based on your review. As for the elastic and serger, all I do is mark the elastic in fourths, pin the top of elastic and top of skirt together: elastic on inside of skirt (1 of the fourths at center front, 1 at center back, etc. ) and then serge stretching the elastic . Then, turn serged top inside and either top stitch what you've turned in or just stitch at the side seams with conventional machine: elastic will stay down. Hope this helps.
2/10/04 3:18 PM
Deepika said...
Very pretty skirt Annika!
2/10/04 7:01 PM
Ann C said...
How pretty.
2/12/04 1:40 PM
hnjmom said...
What a beautiful skirt! I love it.
3/1/04 4:13 PM
tammyc said...
Very Helpful
4/5/04 1:14 PM
Elisabetha said...
Haven't made this one yet but with these comments I'm encouraged to do so.
8/18/04 5:35 AM
EleanorMcCarthy said...
Really lovely skirt Annika. I especially like the fabric you chose. It accentuates the flounce and I bet it looks great swinging around your legs when you walk.
11/28/06 11:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Butterick 5353

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns V8139

photo
by: lisalu

Review