SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5002 (Swing Skirt)

46 more reviews
Viewed 2253 times 
Reviewed by:Annika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annikastar
WA USA
Member since: 11/14/03
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/04 5:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorMcCarthy said...
Really lovely skirt Annika. I especially like the fabric you chose. It accentuates the flounce and I bet it looks great swinging around your legs when you walk.
11/28/06 11:48 AM
Elisabetha said...
Haven't made this one yet but with these comments I'm encouraged to do so.
8/18/04 5:35 AM
tammyc said...
Very Helpful
4/5/04 1:14 PM
hnjmom said...
What a beautiful skirt! I love it.
3/1/04 4:13 PM
Ann C said...
How pretty.
2/12/04 1:40 PM
Deepika said...
Very pretty skirt Annika!
2/10/04 7:01 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Skirt is great: love the flounce on the bottom: think I'll order it, based on your review. As for the elastic and serger, all I do is mark the elastic in fourths, pin the top of elastic and top of skirt together: elastic on inside of skirt (1 of the fourths at center front, 1 at center back, etc. ) and then serge stretching the elastic . Then, turn serged top inside and either top stitch what you've turned in or just stitch at the side seams with conventional machine: elastic will stay down. Hope this helps.
2/10/04 3:18 PM
amyf said...
I really like your skirt. I hate to spend $16 on a pattern, but I might just have to do it for this one!
2/10/04 11:42 AM
Annika said...
Loes Hinse suggests dividing the elastic into quarters and pinning it to the top of the waistband, then stretching the elastic to fit the waistband as you sew it together. I just folded the fabric over and serged the edge to the crease of the fabric, creating a pocket. Too hard to describe - if you got a video with your serger, chances are they discuss the technique on the video.
2/10/04 10:03 AM
JAS said...
Beautiful skirt; please describe the serging technique you used for the waist. I'm just learning how to use my serger and want to use it for construction not just seam finishing.
2/10/04 9:30 AM
Rebecca D said...
Annika, I love this pattern, too and the paisley velvet is groovy. Would you mind describing how you did the elastic? I'm always curious to learn another method.
2/10/04 7:43 AM
Schnauzer said...
Your skirt looks really lovely Annika.
2/9/04 9:48 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is such a pretty skirt, Annika. I'll have to get this one! -Ann
2/9/04 7:35 PM
AnneM said...
What a difference material makes. Very nice matching of material & skirt.
2/9/04 6:20 PM
Meredith P said...
My favorite skirt pattern. Stunning fabric choice, Annika. Love it!
2/9/04 6:15 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty, Annika. I like your fabric. I also love the way this pattern swings when I walk.
2/9/04 5:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

McCall's 3393

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Vogue Patterns 8634

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

More Info