SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8873 (low waist jeans)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1729 times 
Reviewed by:cindyann
photo

 
 
About cindyannstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 8/5/02
Reviews: 42 (patterns: 37)
Favored by: 41 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/04 3:48 PM
Last Updated:2/11/04 3:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AuntieShel said... (2/18/04 8:28 PM) Reply
Just read your review with much interest as I was thinking about making a pair of jeans. Like Jennie, I think maybe there is too much fabric in the back upper leg. Nancy Zieman suggests using two sizes smaller than your hip measurement indicates to reduce the amount of fabric back there and adding to the side seams to get the correct hip measurement. I haven't tried this, but maybe it will help. Many people like the Burda crotch curve, but it didn't work for me. Your pants look very nice--and as long as they're comfortable...
cindyann said... (2/12/04 6:50 PM) Reply
Thanks for the tips. I really do need to get PFRP. I have FFRP and it's great! I think I do need more "room" in the seat to cover that round bottom.
Georgia said... (2/12/04 1:07 PM) Reply
Great review! As for the wrinkles, it looks like you brought in that back seam more than you should have.
Tini said... (2/12/04 10:09 AM) Reply
Cindyann, I really like those pants!
Jennie Pakula said... (2/11/04 8:09 PM) Reply
Cindyann, they look great. I think those wrinkles in the back mean you need to take in the back inseam although this usually means issues with the crotch seam. I'd suggest unpicking the crotch seam for about 4" over the inseam, unpick the inseam then experiment with the fit by pinning it up. I think the crotch seam is fixed after you fix the inseams. I always find it's a bit of a balancing act between the two. I really recommend "Pants for Real People" from Palmer/Pletsch.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Colette Patterns 3004

photo
by: RainyDayPe...

Review
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Pattern Details
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details