SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8873 (low waist jeans)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1728 times 
Reviewed by:cindyann
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cindyannstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 8/5/02
Reviews written: 42
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/04 3:48 PM
Last Updated:2/11/04 3:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennie Pakula said...
Cindyann, they look great. I think those wrinkles in the back mean you need to take in the back inseam although this usually means issues with the crotch seam. I'd suggest unpicking the crotch seam for about 4" over the inseam, unpick the inseam then experiment with the fit by pinning it up. I think the crotch seam is fixed after you fix the inseams. I always find it's a bit of a balancing act between the two. I really recommend "Pants for Real People" from Palmer/Pletsch.
2/11/04 8:09 PM
Tini said...
Cindyann, I really like those pants!
2/12/04 10:09 AM
Georgia said...
Great review! As for the wrinkles, it looks like you brought in that back seam more than you should have.
2/12/04 1:07 PM
cindyann said...
Thanks for the tips. I really do need to get PFRP. I have FFRP and it's great! I think I do need more "room" in the seat to cover that round bottom.
2/12/04 6:50 PM
AuntieShel said...
Just read your review with much interest as I was thinking about making a pair of jeans. Like Jennie, I think maybe there is too much fabric in the back upper leg. Nancy Zieman suggests using two sizes smaller than your hip measurement indicates to reduce the amount of fabric back there and adding to the side seams to get the correct hip measurement. I haven't tried this, but maybe it will help. Many people like the Burda crotch curve, but it didn't work for me. Your pants look very nice--and as long as they're comfortable...
2/18/04 8:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated yoga pants

photo
by: Stacie Thi...

Review
McCall's 6519

photo
by: saranoemi

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now