SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8873 (low waist jeans)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1728 times 
Reviewed by:cindyann
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cindyannstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 8/5/02
Reviews written: 42
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/04 3:48 PM
Last Updated:2/11/04 3:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AuntieShel said...
Just read your review with much interest as I was thinking about making a pair of jeans. Like Jennie, I think maybe there is too much fabric in the back upper leg. Nancy Zieman suggests using two sizes smaller than your hip measurement indicates to reduce the amount of fabric back there and adding to the side seams to get the correct hip measurement. I haven't tried this, but maybe it will help. Many people like the Burda crotch curve, but it didn't work for me. Your pants look very nice--and as long as they're comfortable...
2/18/04 8:28 PM
cindyann said...
Thanks for the tips. I really do need to get PFRP. I have FFRP and it's great! I think I do need more "room" in the seat to cover that round bottom.
2/12/04 6:50 PM
Georgia said...
Great review! As for the wrinkles, it looks like you brought in that back seam more than you should have.
2/12/04 1:07 PM
Tini said...
Cindyann, I really like those pants!
2/12/04 10:09 AM
Jennie Pakula said...
Cindyann, they look great. I think those wrinkles in the back mean you need to take in the back inseam although this usually means issues with the crotch seam. I'd suggest unpicking the crotch seam for about 4" over the inseam, unpick the inseam then experiment with the fit by pinning it up. I think the crotch seam is fixed after you fix the inseams. I always find it's a bit of a balancing act between the two. I really recommend "Pants for Real People" from Palmer/Pletsch.
2/11/04 8:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: susandf

Review
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now
Other Tape Measure/Pincushion

photo
by: jannw

Review