SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> OOP2065 (Fabiani '60s Dress)

Viewed 260 times 
Reviewed by:hilaryr
photo

 
 
About hilaryrstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/09 6:15 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
I remember this pattern. A friend made it, and it looked so terrific that I decided to give Vogue patterns a try.
11/3/09 6:18 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
11/3/09 6:56 AM
no7262 said...
It does look very nice! And you can tell that a lot of work went into it! Don't be so hard on yourself! Nora :)
11/3/09 6:57 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful. The pattern envelope picture looks like a knit -- definitely something thicker, hence the more visible topstitching. Plus a bright color may have something to do with it. I love your version though!
11/3/09 8:01 AM
Marji said...
It looks very elegant on your dressform. I have this pattern and have long had plans to make it. Thanks for your review. I've always seen this, in my minds eye, in a wool double knit. I think it would help with the heft needed at the bib to highlight the topstitching, and it could be made without much wearing ease in order to reduce the potential maternity look. I appreciate the information about the excess wearing ease negating the necessity of your bust alterations. Good information to have. I agree, a muslin (toile) is a must for this design. I hope you are able to enjoy wearing it.
11/3/09 8:01 AM
Elona said...
How nice to see a review of this intriguing old pattern. I've never seen it made up before. You know, it does look remarkably like the photo, I think. But I agree that it would be worthwhile to try it in wool double knit. Back in that period, I made DMIL a lot of Vogues using that fabric, which was easy to find then. As I recall, it was easy to work with, too.
11/3/09 11:03 AM
MaryDB said...
Very elegant dress, nice work.
11/3/09 12:24 PM
Puppy said...
It may have been difficult, but "I" think the outcome looks GREAT! And no, no, no, you don't need to be size 8 to look good in it (I was a size 10 when I wore those styles; not any more! Enjoy being size 10 and keep making those cool vintage clothes!
11/3/09 1:21 PM
Anne S said...
I love your dress!! I made it back in the 60's for a fashion show at my church. I found the fitting a bit of a task. I needed to add darts to it to make it look ok. Mine was a deep shade of yellow. Thanks for the memories
11/3/09 5:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress!
11/4/09 6:57 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Beautiful dress!
11/4/09 8:18 AM
Karine said...
Fabulous dress. I actually like yours better. Very classic.
11/4/09 9:18 AM
nicegirl said...
That is fabulous! Sounds like a lot of work, but hopefully as the pain of all that work fades your joy in the dress will increase.
11/4/09 11:35 AM
Christas said...
Very classy dress!
11/4/09 6:32 PM
senaSews said...
The dress is awesome. Wow, i love it!
11/5/09 3:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2011-13

photo
by: Ejegmama

Review
Other Ruby Slip

photo
by: minggiddyl...

Review
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now