Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5048 (Men's Pants) - Type:Mens - Pants    printable version
Viewed 565 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/09 10:09 AM
Last Updated:11/6/09 3:17 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gloria W said...
Shots of the animals we live with are NEVER gratuitous. The pants are great funs. I prefer them with the high tops and black leather look. I love your photo journals.
11/4/09 10:35 AM
GwenH said...
I agree with Gloria, the high tops/leather/scarf look works well, and your photo journals are fun. :-)
11/4/09 11:02 AM
birdmcfarland said...
adorable!! I always really liked floral pants for some reason.
11/4/09 11:54 AM
puddypaws said...
You have done it once again. It's always fun to read and see your reviews. Great work!
11/4/09 12:02 PM
carolynw said...
I hope a "Happening Party" comes along soon and oh how I wish I could be there to see you in these fantastic fun pants - another great review Peter and I love your little pooch
11/4/09 1:18 PM
Tiner W said...
I bought a very small amount of that fabric in another colorway from an Etsy seller--she sold it as Japanese and it was much more than $1.50. Needless to say, I love that fabric! The pants are great.
11/4/09 3:59 PM
DaisyEsq said...
The pants are fun! I have to go to 35th street to check out the fabrics.
11/4/09 4:39 PM
Aixoise said...
Great pants (and thanks for the alterations info). Be sure to post pictures of the party(ies). Give the pups a pet for me.
11/4/09 4:43 PM
katharin said...
Cool pants! I love the flowery combination, I wish I would see a guy dressed like that in real. He would make my day. The fit of your pants is perfect.
11/4/09 6:28 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your wild and crazy pants turned out extremely well. Little Willy is adorable.
11/4/09 6:54 PM
Rhoda K said...
Neat pair of jeans and a great review! . and the beat goes on . . . . Um, by the way - your pattern photo comes up as a ladies dress.
11/4/09 7:26 PM
Sewing Joe said...
You get more sewing done in one day that I get done in a couple of months... Another great project!
11/4/09 7:48 PM
j222b said...
Peter: You don't have to be invited to a “happening party”-you're a happening party all by yourself! I love your reviews!
11/4/09 8:24 PM
Michele19 said...
I love crazy pants and alwys buy them in thrift shops. You have made a wonderful pair of your own and all I can say is Woof!! (translation....Bravo!). Love your reviews.
11/5/09 4:29 AM
cindyann said...
Nicely done, Peter. Great looking pants and adorable dog pictures.
11/5/09 7:41 AM
mimstwo said...
Keep doing what your doing. Love to read your entries and little story line with each one.
11/5/09 7:54 AM
Nancy K said...
I am assuming that this is a vintage pattern and the nightgown showed up for that number! Great pants and buying something that avant garde for men would be cost prohibitive for most people. The fit is first rate too. Great job. Hope you wear them on Saturday; I think that you said you were coming to PR day?
11/5/09 8:31 AM
Peter in NYC said...
THERE'S the word I was thinking of: avant garde. Sounds so much better than wacky. (ha ha) Thank's for the comments everybody and yes, provided it doesn't rain, I will wear them to PR dsy in NYC on Saturday. That or the little black dress!
11/5/09 9:27 AM
TracyB said...
Your photo stories are the best. My dogs also like to get on my fabric while I'm trying to cut it out. But they are much bigger and worse than gratuitous; they can be downright discouraging!
11/5/09 5:22 PM
Raye Ann said...
great job, Peter! i love the floral pants. the jeans styling really works for the scale of the print. love it with the sneaks and leather. absolutely fun and fabulous!
11/6/09 0:09 AM
Tiner W said...
I like that jacket a lot. I'd love a trench coat from this fabric!
11/6/09 4:28 PM
elainemay said...
Great pants, great fit! I'm jealous that you found warp-print fabric... I'm always looking for it and can never find it.
11/6/09 5:32 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Peter I think you should wear the pants and jacket together...it's fabulous and so you!
11/6/09 9:43 PM
lucylal said...
I agree, pants and jacket together. Your friends won't lose you!!!! They look ace!
11/6/09 11:23 PM
LollyVee said...
Pete, that 'suit' is a great fit! You have to wear it together! Elton John would love that suit...if only he had your Bod!!
11/7/09 0:23 AM
voet said...
Another great job, Peter. I disagree about wearing the jacket and pants together--unless, of course, you draw your fashion inspiration from the octogenarian cruiseship crowd. However, separately they are great. I'm just sayin',,,
11/7/09 7:35 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Wild!
11/7/09 9:45 AM
Annette1 said...
Now that's what I call a GUTSY suit. I love it! :o)
11/7/09 10:16 PM
fourkid said...
Love the suit - you can really carry that off so well - I think it is your lovely spirit.
11/13/09 9:10 AM
Nancy Anne said...
It's a rather riotous outfit that somehow works. Here in Texas you'd definitely want to wear the pieces separate, but it sounds like they will work together where you like. OUTSTANDING execution of both pieces- You always do such stunning work!
11/16/09 9:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Pink Chalk Studio Mail Sack Mail Sack
photo
Review by Shelly Gir... on 6/3/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Firefly Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Firefly Jacket Digital  Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-104
photo
Review by Christina ... on 8/3/11
Read Review

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M )
Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6625 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6625 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us