SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Decades of Style> 3005 (1930s Butterfly Blouse)

7 more reviews
Viewed 700 times 
Reviewed by:calminatrix
photo

 
 
About calminatrix
LA USA
Member since: 4/18/08
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/09 5:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew2little said...
This is an elegant blouse--just beautiful! And the clickable link did work!
11/5/09 5:16 PM
marec said...
Beautiful blouse! This will look great with pants or skirt. Just lovely.
11/5/09 5:37 PM
Nan Kay said...
Lovely blouse, and the fabric is just perfect.
11/5/09 6:11 PM
no7262 said...
Very pretty! You did such anice job! Nora :)
11/5/09 6:16 PM
Time4me said...
WOW! What a beautiful blouse. It would be nice to see it on. That fabric is so wonderful and you did a great job.
11/5/09 6:58 PM
moushka said...
Pattern and fabric marriage made in heaven! That fabric is just luscious and you really did it justice with your sewing. Beautiful blouse, great review.
11/5/09 7:09 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thank you so much for your review and especially all the photos. I have this pattern but your review/photos really shows off the garment. I'm eager to get it out now.
11/5/09 8:19 PM
Tallahasseelassie said...
What a great blouse! I just love it. Makes me want to go make it. Its really beautiful thanks for sharing your review.
11/5/09 8:35 PM
Speech girl said...
Such a lovely top--thanks for the inspiration. I have this pattern and a beautiful silk chiffon (with a butterfly print, no less!) to make it in . . . this may move way up on my "to sew" list.
11/5/09 9:43 PM
carolynw said...
It's so beautiful - in my review I knocked this pretty hard but have had time to re-think and seeing your version tells me "try again" -so I will and hope it turns out as beautiful as yours
11/5/09 10:29 PM
Barbara V said...
Your butterfly blouse is so gorgeous and well made. The fabric too - lovely. I know well Promenade Fabrics in New Orleans. While on vacation I spent one lovely afternoon enjoying the store and leaving with a special piece. Would love to have a local fabric shop like that!
11/5/09 10:49 PM
Raye Ann said...
truly lovely blouse. i would love to try this pattern.
11/5/09 11:54 PM
katie lynne said...
Yowsa! That is one cute blouse. Beautiful execution, I can tell you really put a lot of careful sewing time into this--and it paid off big time. Elegant fabric too. What are you going to wear it with?
11/6/09 0:22 AM
mendospot said...
Oooooooohhhhhhh!
11/6/09 0:30 AM
Paris75008 said...
Begginer's temperament? This is the most stunning version of this blouse I've seen yet and the care with which it's sewn, for me, puts you way up there with the advanced sewers. I have a similar vintage blouse pattern I'm about to start work on that also calls for the lapped seams. Maybe it was a "style feature" back in 1938.
11/6/09 4:30 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Beautiful blouse and you did such a great job on it. Enjoy wearing it often : )
11/6/09 6:41 AM
calminatrix said...
gosh, y'all sure are nice! i really appreciate all the nice comments, especially as i have lost my sewing mojo a bit of late. kaatie lyn- i have worn it with a long skirt and with big wide high waisted pants, as well. if i looked good in jeans i would wear it that way too, but alas...
11/6/09 8:49 AM
calminatrix said...
double post, sorry
11/6/09 9:01 AM
kidmd said...
This is really lovely. I love the pintuck effect that your fabric has. Gorgeous!
11/6/09 9:06 AM
mending maven said...
Stunning design, wonderful choice of fabrics and wonderful sewing skills. WOW!
11/6/09 9:56 AM
Renren said...
I am so glad you were able to figure out how to post a review because this is just a spectacular blouse you have sewn and I'm glad you shared your experiences with the PR community. Congratulations on your first review of a very remarkable 1930s Butterfly Blouse. Wow! And yet another fabric source . . . Promenade Fabrics, New Orleans, LA, hmmm, wondering if Southwest has any specials to NOLA . . .
11/6/09 10:14 AM
barbcl said...
Lovely blouse with wonderful details!
11/6/09 10:17 AM
guillorypr said...
That is lovely. Simply stunning. Great work.
11/6/09 11:13 AM
eugenia123 said...
This has turned out beautifully! A real heirloom piece. I love it.
11/6/09 12:47 PM
3HoursPast said...
This is breathtaking, I would even say transcendent. The fabric goddesses smiled on you when you put the pattern and the fabric together. Well done. This is the sort of thing I would see in a designer boutique and sigh over.
11/10/09 10:09 AM
CLA2516 said...
Stunning blouse, beautiful work! Very much enjoyed your review.
12/15/09 11:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Vogue Patterns 2064

photo
by: Salymander...

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
No Pattern Used Mini Wardrobe

photo
by: nickelc624

Review