SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> You Can Make This> Sweet Pea Pleated Handbag (Sweet Pea Pleated Handbag)

Viewed 252 times 
Reviewed by:KiarasMom
photo

 
 
About KiarasMomstar
SINGAPORE
Member since: 5/12/09
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/09 11:37 PM
Last Updated:11/16/09 1:00 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Secretsugar said...
Wow, this is an awesome bag! I'd LOVE to receive this as a gift! Great project for those great Echino prints, too.
11/16/09 9:48 AM
MaryDB said...
That's a darling handbag! Thanks for the tips, too. Nice work on the zipper, and on taming that silk. I'm sure your friend will love it.
11/16/09 11:34 AM
davin said...
Thanks for a handbag pattern source I hadn't known about. Too cute!
11/16/09 3:44 PM
JDpenelope said...
What a great first bag! The fabric selection adds so much -- Your friend will love it. This looks like a good pattern, and I might try it. You've hit all the important points in bag sewing, and this is a helpful review for newcomers to bag sewing. I agree with you that fusible fleece is your friend, and use it for most bags. I have also used the same instructions for adding a pocket to your lining -- they're very good.
11/16/09 5:58 PM
Jali said...
What a fantastic review! I have never made a bag and your review is very helpful. The bag is too cute. I think the dots peaking out of the red is charming and adds interest.
11/16/09 9:30 PM
KiarasMom said...
Thanks so much for your kind comments, everyone! I was a little apprehensive at the start of this project, but as things progressed, I really enjoyed myself and learnt much too. I'm not afraid of making handbags anymore!
11/18/09 2:18 AM
JDpenelope said...
Later -- Oops! I see now I did read your review. Oh well, my reaction is the same. Beautiful bag and great review -- 2nd comment: I try to read handbag reviews, but somehow missed this one. Your pocket looks fine. My patch pockets always bag open, so I prefer a large zippered pocket. . A walking foot is indeed your friend, when sewing bags. The topstitching adds a professional touch.
1/1/10 8:16 AM
Vintage Joan said...
I love this, and also the matching wallet you made. What wonderful gifts. Very informative review, too!
1/3/10 10:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

StyleArc Adele Top

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now