SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> You Can Make This> Sweet Pea Pleated Handbag (Sweet Pea Pleated Handbag)

Viewed 254 times 
Reviewed by:KiarasMom
photo

 
 
About KiarasMomstar
SINGAPORE
Member since: 5/12/09
Reviews: 10 (patterns: 5)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/09 11:37 PM
Last Updated:11/16/09 1:00 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said... (1/3/10 10:35 AM) Reply
I love this, and also the matching wallet you made. What wonderful gifts. Very informative review, too!
JDpenelope said... (1/1/10 8:16 AM) Reply
Later -- Oops! I see now I did read your review. Oh well, my reaction is the same. Beautiful bag and great review -- 2nd comment: I try to read handbag reviews, but somehow missed this one. Your pocket looks fine. My patch pockets always bag open, so I prefer a large zippered pocket. . A walking foot is indeed your friend, when sewing bags. The topstitching adds a professional touch.
KiarasMom said... (11/18/09 2:18 AM) Reply
Thanks so much for your kind comments, everyone! I was a little apprehensive at the start of this project, but as things progressed, I really enjoyed myself and learnt much too. I'm not afraid of making handbags anymore!
Jali said... (11/16/09 9:30 PM) Reply
What a fantastic review! I have never made a bag and your review is very helpful. The bag is too cute. I think the dots peaking out of the red is charming and adds interest.
JDpenelope said... (11/16/09 5:58 PM) Reply
What a great first bag! The fabric selection adds so much -- Your friend will love it. This looks like a good pattern, and I might try it. You've hit all the important points in bag sewing, and this is a helpful review for newcomers to bag sewing. I agree with you that fusible fleece is your friend, and use it for most bags. I have also used the same instructions for adding a pocket to your lining -- they're very good.
davin said... (11/16/09 3:44 PM) Reply
Thanks for a handbag pattern source I hadn't known about. Too cute!
MaryDB said... (11/16/09 11:34 AM) Reply
That's a darling handbag! Thanks for the tips, too. Nice work on the zipper, and on taming that silk. I'm sure your friend will love it.
Secretsugar said... (11/16/09 9:48 AM) Reply
Wow, this is an awesome bag! I'd LOVE to receive this as a gift! Great project for those great Echino prints, too.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Miranda Day Bag Paper Pattern

Miranda Day Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Pattern Details