Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7724 (Shirt/ dress) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 238 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/09 9:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
What a cool pattern-your use of the striped slinky really plays to the design. I love it!
11/24/09 9:25 PM
Patzee said...
It's a fun top! Love it.
11/25/09 1:31 AM
Peggy L said...
Definitely wearable! Looks like a comfortable top.
11/25/09 3:06 AM
JDpenelope said...
This is a great top and a helpful review. I love your slinky knit and I want to make this pattern, too. Regarding sewng through 6 layers of slinky -- Did you use a walking foot? Sandra Betzina recommends one for slinky, but recently this didn't work well for me on two layers. Maybe I should figure out how to reduce pressure on the foot on my Viking Sapphire. Thanks for any tips.
11/25/09 6:06 AM
carolynw said...
JDPenelope - I didn't use a walking foot for this and it worked out just fine - even in the 6 layer section - can't remember ever using a walking foot on slinky but it may be something to try
11/25/09 8:40 AM
carolynw said...
OOPS - double post
11/25/09 8:40 AM
ALY said...
Thanks so much for this review. I just bought this pattern and was giving a lot of though to what kind of knit would be best, since all they recommend is a knit with crossgrain stretch. not how much stretch or what kind of knit. Can't wait to see your non muslin version
11/25/09 8:51 AM
Barbara V said...
I really like your "muslin" top and most certainly think it is wearable. What a great pattern and your version is very interesting with the change in direction of fabric pattern. Nice work! I will be looking for this one.
11/25/09 10:52 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I really like this in your stripey fabric! I wear my version of this all the time, but I think of it more of a cardigan than a top as the neckline goes down past my belly button!!
11/25/09 11:24 AM
Annette1 said...
This is VERY PRETTY on slim-hipped you. :o) I actually like the stripes going the opposite way on the inset. To look at your top, you'd never guess you had to go through six layers of fabric there at the center. If I'd done, there would have been lots of cussing and a "dip" one way or the other at that point, I'm sure. Great job!
11/25/09 11:51 AM
JDpenelope said...
Hi again Carolyn. Well, I decided not to sew this, thanks to your helpful review. It wasn't your garment -- I really like the way the stripes turned out and it is indeed an eye-catcher. It is because of needing to sew through 6 layers of slinky that has put me off, with or without a walking foot. Thanks for the warning!
2/16/11 9:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8379
photo
Review by Dei on 10/5/08
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8380 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Wendy VanC on 7/15/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us