SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7724 (Shirt/ dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 240 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/09 9:13 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
What a cool pattern-your use of the striped slinky really plays to the design. I love it!
11/24/09 9:25 PM
Patzee said...
It's a fun top! Love it.
11/25/09 1:31 AM
Peggy L said...
Definitely wearable! Looks like a comfortable top.
11/25/09 3:06 AM
JDpenelope said...
This is a great top and a helpful review. I love your slinky knit and I want to make this pattern, too. Regarding sewng through 6 layers of slinky -- Did you use a walking foot? Sandra Betzina recommends one for slinky, but recently this didn't work well for me on two layers. Maybe I should figure out how to reduce pressure on the foot on my Viking Sapphire. Thanks for any tips.
11/25/09 6:06 AM
carolynw said...
JDPenelope - I didn't use a walking foot for this and it worked out just fine - even in the 6 layer section - can't remember ever using a walking foot on slinky but it may be something to try
11/25/09 8:40 AM
carolynw said...
OOPS - double post
11/25/09 8:40 AM
ALY said...
Thanks so much for this review. I just bought this pattern and was giving a lot of though to what kind of knit would be best, since all they recommend is a knit with crossgrain stretch. not how much stretch or what kind of knit. Can't wait to see your non muslin version
11/25/09 8:51 AM
Barbara V said...
I really like your "muslin" top and most certainly think it is wearable. What a great pattern and your version is very interesting with the change in direction of fabric pattern. Nice work! I will be looking for this one.
11/25/09 10:52 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I really like this in your stripey fabric! I wear my version of this all the time, but I think of it more of a cardigan than a top as the neckline goes down past my belly button!!
11/25/09 11:24 AM
Annette1 said...
This is VERY PRETTY on slim-hipped you. :o) I actually like the stripes going the opposite way on the inset. To look at your top, you'd never guess you had to go through six layers of fabric there at the center. If I'd done, there would have been lots of cussing and a "dip" one way or the other at that point, I'm sure. Great job!
11/25/09 11:51 AM
JDpenelope said...
Hi again Carolyn. Well, I decided not to sew this, thanks to your helpful review. It wasn't your garment -- I really like the way the stripes turned out and it is indeed an eye-catcher. It is because of needing to sew through 6 layers of slinky that has put me off, with or without a walking foot. Thanks for the warning!
2/16/11 9:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

McCall's 6400

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Lingerie Secrets The Boxer

photo
by: Holmar

Review