SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8594 (MISSES' DRESS)

7 more reviews
Viewed 971 times 
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo

 
 
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/09 1:40 PM
Last Updated:11/28/09 1:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dilucentelj said...
Amazing dress! I would have never considered this style in plaid, but you made it work beautifully! Excellent fit, too! Wow!
6/1/10 8:47 PM
RoseOK said...
You did an awesome job matching up the plaid. The dress looks fabulous.
2/25/10 9:52 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Wow, thanks for posting here again, we learn so much from you! I'm adding this to all the tips I've gathered for my first attempt at sewing a plaid dress. Your dress looks top-notch!
12/13/09 2:06 PM
MissCelie said...
I'm amazed by the plaid matching work. Gorgeous!
12/13/09 1:30 PM
becca a said...
Wow! Fabulous matching of your plaids. What a great dress. Thanks for sharing the process in a great review.
11/29/09 9:05 AM
Nata said...
Your waist looks two sizes smaller due to the direction of plaid at the waist (not that you need it to look smaller but nice anyway). Love it.
11/29/09 8:24 AM
Shellia said...
Beautiful matching of the plaids to create a stunning dress.
11/29/09 8:03 AM
valerie sews said...
Love love the dress. Your matching of the plaid, especially in the back is impressive.
11/29/09 4:29 AM
Erica B. said...
That dress looks incredible! And the plaid matching? Just fabulous!
11/28/09 9:54 PM
Barbara V said...
This dress has intrigued me with it's beautiful lines as made up in solid color. Now your plaid version is obsolutely incredible....like the "rubiks cube" of matching plaids...quite the puzzle. Fantastic work and it looks lovely on you!
11/28/09 7:52 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice and great job with the plaid.
11/28/09 7:40 PM
lamstu said...
Sometimes being OCD is an asset! An absolutely stunning dress is your happy result. I wish I had anywhere to wear something like this, although I wouldn't probably go for the plaid, even with my own OCD issues :)
11/28/09 7:07 PM
Fictionfan said...
Beautiful! I thought this pattern was a definite pass until I saw your review. Lovely details! Very flattering!
11/28/09 6:52 PM
Lisa p said...
WOW , I wish I were astalented as you . That dress is a work of art !
11/28/09 4:25 PM
Dynamo said...
Beautiful work!
11/28/09 4:22 PM
Tailypo said...
Okay, I already knew you were in the category of Mad Genius when it comes to sewing, but now it is official. Your plaid matching is of course top notch, and the fit is splendid. But you are SCARY. Scary good! But scary. In a way I love! But also fear, because it is somehow inhuman, the awesomeness of this. I love you! Don't hurt me!!
11/28/09 2:50 PM
Sharon M said...
Wow! Gorgeous. Your OCD regarding matching the plaid certainly paid off as this dress looks very expensive and custom.
11/28/09 2:13 PM
Janie Viers said...
WOW WOW WOW I can't saw WOW too many times! The more expensive that a garment is directly relates to the cut. In this case you made a million dollar dress with superb matching and tailoring (or just plain darn good cutting and pressing) I have seen garments in stores that cost OVER $300 who have ill matched plaids and stripes. THIS GARMENT IS A TOUR DE FORCE! (looks great on you too!) PS The shoes are the perfect touch!
11/28/09 2:08 PM
Beek said...
Wonderful review! I am SO happy you reviewed this pattern since I have it in my stash. I am now excited about making it up!
11/28/09 2:07 PM
EleanorSews said...
Stunning! The fit is perfection and your plaid matching is absolutely amazing given all the seams in this dress. You do wear it well.
11/28/09 1:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Kwik Sew 609

photo
by: lnwmelon

Review
Simplicity 1919

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

More Info
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info