Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 9771 (Vogue 9771 Misses' Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 566 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:gsp1066
photo
About gsp1066star
CA USA
Member since: 2/25/04
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/09 2:33 AM
Last Updated:12/14/09 1:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Knitters Delight said...
It looks lovely on the dress form. Sorry to hear the fit at the shoulder isn't what you wanted.
12/14/09 2:43 PM
CTBarb said...
The trouble might be only in the height of the underarm....I have had this problem. I routinely raise the bottom of the armscye between 1 and 1 and a half inches so that when I raise my arms the sleeve does not bind. Using the Burda pattern that you know fits is a good idea.
12/14/09 4:08 PM
Elona said...
It's a pretty top overall. Some of your fit problems might possibly be caused by a different number of threads per inch in the warp and the weft of the fabric. Marcy Tilton says that in such cases, you may need a 'balanced' layout of your pieces, which implies the use of a center front and back seam to get each side of the garment to hang the same way as its mate. See her article here: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/3745/bias-101
12/14/09 6:57 PM
gsp1066 said...
Thanks for the comments. The jacquard definitely has different thread count on the warp and weft. But I still think the main issue is the deep armscythe and slightly dropped sleeve. I have to make another just to test out my theory.
12/15/09 5:46 PM
whirrclunk said...
The top looks very nice, and I wouldn't worry about the cowl moving to one side as it doesn't look wrong at all. Pity about the armscythes, at least you didn't spend too much time on it, and I hope all will work well with the merged pattern.
12/19/09 6:54 PM
Winifred said...
I was interested to see what you said about the cowl drooping to one side. I have had this problem even using weights. In fact I was so infuriated with it I almost discarded the top. Then I had a good look at my books. The solution is a cowl "stay" as detailed in Claire Schaeffer's book "High Fashion Sewing Secrets" and no doubt others. This stay covers the top front of the top and is attached to the shoulders. I have yet to try it out on this top. As another poster has said, your top looks fine as is, but if you want the problem sorted thats the way to go !! Happy Xmas
12/25/09 6:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-133
photo
Review by Elaray on 9/4/09
Read Review

Butterick 5819 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5819 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2594 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2594 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7454 OOP Long Dress with additions
photo
Review by SewVeryTal... on 2/16/08
Read Review

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us