SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1071 (Weekender Sunshine Tops)

35 more reviews
Viewed 1018 times 
Reviewed by:Annette Wright
photo

 
 
About Annette Wrightstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 10/22/08
Reviews written: 83
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/21/09 7:39 PM
Last Updated:12/21/09 7:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
meesa said...
Great top! Love the fabric! I do my hems the same way and it's the only way, in my book!
12/21/09 7:56 PM
dollieo said...
It's gorgeous. I love the fabric.The fit looks great.
12/21/09 7:57 PM
lynnewill said...
Nice review Idunna. Thanks for the tip about the hem, I will be sure to try it.
12/21/09 8:23 PM
Re Becca said...
Very cool! I made a KwikSew pattern a lot like this, and I had the same misgivings as you but it is one of my favorite shirts. It looks great on you.
12/21/09 8:47 PM
carolynw said...
It's beautiful - lovely fabric and a great review!!
12/21/09 8:51 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Thanks for the tip on the coverstitch- still having issues but now I'll try this. Please, you don't have a gut!!!
12/21/09 9:09 PM
OP Gal said...
Really cute top. You'll look great in those colors. I'm with you, I like to read previous reviews to see what issues folks have had with the pattern. I take issue with the quite large belly comment, however!
12/21/09 10:14 PM
homejewel said...
That's a great looking top. And thank you so much for the hemming tip. I have some fusible tape that could be used for this purpose. Previously, I used it for the neckline, but this is such a great idea.
12/21/09 10:45 PM
Izzie said...
Nice shirt and it looks great on you.
12/21/09 11:32 PM
pterion said...
Lovely shirt - the fabric is gorgeous!
12/21/09 11:36 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a really great top!
12/22/09 6:27 AM
Misafir said...
Yes, great color and fabric and suits you, but it has a pull line from the neck to the armhole, which is not right.
12/22/09 6:31 AM
Annette Wright said...
You're right, it does have a line right there....more of a fold in the fabric. I looked at other reviews and they most all seem to have it right there also. I was contemplating it just his morning in bed, wondering if it's just extra fabric to fold out. The top isn't too tight, I think it just gathers a bit too high and the fabric right over the top of the bust has to sit somewhere. I think that portion of the front needs to have fabric removed and that will be my first try.
12/22/09 6:38 AM
katiemons said...
Very flattering. I bet it would look good tucked in or belted too!
12/22/09 8:00 AM
Ann B. said...
Great top, and a timely review. I have it traced and next up on my cutting table. I have just the same armhole fold on my P and S T shirt. I'm not sure, but I think it might be the armhole is a little too high. Please let us know if you figure it out, I'm very interested. I've also raised the neckline up a bit, if no other reason than warmth.
12/22/09 8:06 AM
Annette Wright said...
Well, I've decided the armhole is drafted much too small. I just watched all the videos, and the tops on the mannequins all had that fold. My plan for today is to remove the sleeve and redraft an armhole. I might have to buy a bit more fabric to make a new sleeve, not sure yet. Looking at the drafted cap, it is just so tiny compared to other sleeves. I made it a bit larger, but the rest of the fit just isn't right. Interesting to know the fold was in a different pattern too. Oh, I also think I need to raise the shoulders a full inch. So an inch short shoulders and and almost an inch higher armhole...we're talking 2 inches here.
12/22/09 9:15 AM
michellep74 said...
Love your version of this! I made this last summer and also found the armhole to be too small/tight. It's an easy fix, though.
12/22/09 12:59 PM
Erin D said...
Your top is really cute! I don't have a coverstitch machine, but I'm intrigued by your hem finish. I might try that with the twin needle. Thanks for the review!
12/22/09 3:04 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely top. Fabric is very pretty.
12/22/09 3:21 PM
becca a said...
Great top! Thank you for the hemming tip--that sounds very useful.
12/22/09 9:13 PM
o3b said...
I made one and found the armhole way too high. It is still sitting in my closet waiting for me to decide if I want to redo the armhole. I made the tank, but with topstitching that will take time to rip out. I have estimated I need to remove 1.75 inches in height from the bottom of the armhole. I kind of like the gathers up high, even when they add that extra fold line towards the armhole. I've been wondering if that is what helps this top work for small and large busted alike. And I don't know why, but it makes me think it has a Grecian influence. Thanks for sharing the hemming tip - I will use it very soon.
12/24/09 3:22 AM
5sugarplumbs said...
Idunna. About the hemming tip. I couldn't find "easy knit" at the store after this review, and didn't realize that it was a fusible knit interface so I ended up getting stitch witchery and a light fusible interface. Do you think either of these will still work if I do less than 1/2" than an 1"? I appreciate your advice. Thanks in advance.
1/17/10 9:55 AM
Annette Wright said...
I haven't used stitchwitchery in ages, but it will probably work. Do a practice swatch. Or you could try just fusing the hem with the stitchwitchery and then coverstitching or doing another hem stitch. You just are trying to put another layer in the fabric that might have a tendency to stretch out of place while hemming.
1/18/10 9:12 AM
5sugarplumbs said...
Thanks. Hopefully one of the 2 products I got will give me a good result. :) I will try a swatch.
1/18/10 2:18 PM
tinaSA said...
Thanks for the tip on doing the hem with interfacing.
4/6/10 2:53 PM
Lou05 said...
Absolutely wonderful & very helpful review! The discussion below adds a lot, too. I love the top on you and you've chosen your fabric for great color & design for this top. Great job - enjoy it!
9/27/10 1:29 PM
MareeAlison said...
I love your top and I'll keep the sleeve in mind when I make up my pattern which is sitting waiting! Also thanks for the tip about the interfacing for the hem. I tend to just glue up my hem with a glue stick and then coverstitch. That works well, but it's nice to have an alternative particulary if you want a little more weight in the hem. Fantastic job.
1/15/11 0:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 3503

photo
by: cahmad

Review
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now