SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8626 (Very Easy Vogue Coat)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1568 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/10 0:49 AM
Last Updated:1/18/10 2:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
4u2cme said...
Great coat. I really liked the button detailing.
10/13/10 9:28 AM
Deepika said...
What a great review and what a striking coat. I loved the little button detail. It's the little things like that which set it apart from the rest. I also enjoyed watching your video.
1/21/10 8:32 AM
AuntieShel said...
Terri, Your coat is gorgeous, thanks so much for posting pics and the video--enjoyed that very much. Will definitely have to make this one!!
1/20/10 8:59 AM
sfgb said...
Lovely job and great review.
1/19/10 7:55 AM
dragon10 said...
Love the coat and the contrasting lining.
1/19/10 0:07 AM
Athene said...
Your coat turned out great. Thank you so much for the video and all the photos. Really very helpful to me.
1/18/10 10:01 PM
Heatherrique said...
Terri, that is such a cool video of your wonderful jacket. It's really nice treat to see the details in motion. Like always, you do superb work!
1/18/10 8:08 PM
loti said...
Nice coat, love that eggplant color, looks great.
1/18/10 5:00 PM
eugenia123 said...
Your coat turned out beautifully - very inspiring! You've done a wonderful job and written a really great review - thanks.
1/18/10 2:34 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thank you for the fun review. I liked the video, nice touch.
1/18/10 2:31 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks everyone - wow. What a nice surprise to get so many comments. Leora, the wool was shrinking not the interfacing. The amount of time it takes to fuse the interfacing with "lots of steam" - steams the wool as well and then the wool starts shrinking more, even after it has been pre-shrunk. The interfacing doesn't shrink to my knowledge. Does that make more sense? thx :-)
1/18/10 1:39 PM
sewtime said...
Love your coat, great detailing! Love your video!!!
1/18/10 1:12 PM
digs57 said...
Beautiful. Love the cut, love the colours, love the little touch of whimsy the buttons add.
1/18/10 11:02 AM
DorothyK said...
What a terrific coat. You did a great job. I must say, the video made it much easier to see the fantastic details. What a great idea to make a video. I bet we'll be seeing more of those now.
1/18/10 10:27 AM
Karine said...
Great coat! Thanks for the review with all of photos!
1/18/10 9:19 AM
MsMaryO said...
Love this coat! The buttons are fun, too!
1/18/10 8:34 AM
yummymummy38 said...
very professional looking, particularly like the back seaming and the inverted pleat and button details.
1/18/10 7:46 AM
marjenann said...
Tres chic!! Great job, your coat is amazing!!!
1/18/10 7:32 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat, you are so right, wonderful details. I enjoyed your video review, thank you.
1/18/10 7:26 AM
halleyscomet said...
Absolutely love it!
1/18/10 7:10 AM
Jatman said...
This is so cute! Love the fabric/lining and the buttons. Looks really nice on you! Thank you for the video, too!
1/18/10 6:22 AM
rozzybabe said...
I have wanted to make a winter coat for 3 years, & have always hesitated as to what pattern & style would be best. Thanks so much for a detailed review; gorgeous coat! At last, I know what my new coat will look like next winter!!
1/18/10 5:51 AM
dingyadi said...
That is awesome! I like the video idea too
1/18/10 4:02 AM
Leora said...
I think I read here on PR to shrink interfacing in order to avoid the shrinking you describe. I really love the design, especially the back of this coat. Nicely done! Such a pretty color on you!!
1/18/10 3:38 AM
stephangle said...
Beautiful coat and fabulous color! Love the details with the buttons too!!!
1/18/10 1:23 AM
pammieh said...
Adorable coat - Wow! So impressive!
1/18/10 0:58 AM
Kim12469 said...
I can't wait to see your picture. Thanks for the review! This coat keeps calling me...Wow, the finished product is gorgeous! Such nice work and the color is wonderful! I definitely need to make this.
1/4/10 7:38 PM
eugenia123 said...
Looking forward to seeing a picture of this - I have this pattern, it's a nice style. Your fabric/lining choices sound lovely.
1/4/10 11:24 AM
AuntieShel said...
Oooh, I have this pattern and was so excited to see you reviewing it. Can't wiat to see it finished. So glad to hear it's going together well.
1/4/10 9:11 AM
Michelle99 said...
Can't wait to see a photo. This looks like a Marfy coat that I made a year or so ago. But this ought to be much better thanks to the bust sizes!
1/4/10 6:35 AM
Terri A said...
As soon as I get it done I will put up a pic. I can't wait to wear it!
1/3/10 10:35 PM
Athene said...
This coat sounds so nice. I hope you will be able to post a picture.
1/3/10 10:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Butterick 5563

photo
by: PattiinATL

Review
Simplicity 4968 OOP (50s/60s)

photo
by: gabc

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now