SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8626 (Very Easy Vogue Coat)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1569 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/10 0:49 AM
Last Updated:1/18/10 2:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
4u2cme said...
Great coat. I really liked the button detailing.
10/13/10 9:28 AM
Deepika said...
What a great review and what a striking coat. I loved the little button detail. It's the little things like that which set it apart from the rest. I also enjoyed watching your video.
1/21/10 8:32 AM
AuntieShel said...
Terri, Your coat is gorgeous, thanks so much for posting pics and the video--enjoyed that very much. Will definitely have to make this one!!
1/20/10 8:59 AM
sfgb said...
Lovely job and great review.
1/19/10 7:55 AM
dragon10 said...
Love the coat and the contrasting lining.
1/19/10 0:07 AM
Athene said...
Your coat turned out great. Thank you so much for the video and all the photos. Really very helpful to me.
1/18/10 10:01 PM
Heatherrique said...
Terri, that is such a cool video of your wonderful jacket. It's really nice treat to see the details in motion. Like always, you do superb work!
1/18/10 8:08 PM
loti said...
Nice coat, love that eggplant color, looks great.
1/18/10 5:00 PM
eugenia123 said...
Your coat turned out beautifully - very inspiring! You've done a wonderful job and written a really great review - thanks.
1/18/10 2:34 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thank you for the fun review. I liked the video, nice touch.
1/18/10 2:31 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks everyone - wow. What a nice surprise to get so many comments. Leora, the wool was shrinking not the interfacing. The amount of time it takes to fuse the interfacing with "lots of steam" - steams the wool as well and then the wool starts shrinking more, even after it has been pre-shrunk. The interfacing doesn't shrink to my knowledge. Does that make more sense? thx :-)
1/18/10 1:39 PM
sewtime said...
Love your coat, great detailing! Love your video!!!
1/18/10 1:12 PM
digs57 said...
Beautiful. Love the cut, love the colours, love the little touch of whimsy the buttons add.
1/18/10 11:02 AM
DorothyK said...
What a terrific coat. You did a great job. I must say, the video made it much easier to see the fantastic details. What a great idea to make a video. I bet we'll be seeing more of those now.
1/18/10 10:27 AM
Karine said...
Great coat! Thanks for the review with all of photos!
1/18/10 9:19 AM
MsMaryO said...
Love this coat! The buttons are fun, too!
1/18/10 8:34 AM
yummymummy38 said...
very professional looking, particularly like the back seaming and the inverted pleat and button details.
1/18/10 7:46 AM
marjenann said...
Tres chic!! Great job, your coat is amazing!!!
1/18/10 7:32 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat, you are so right, wonderful details. I enjoyed your video review, thank you.
1/18/10 7:26 AM
halleyscomet said...
Absolutely love it!
1/18/10 7:10 AM
Jatman said...
This is so cute! Love the fabric/lining and the buttons. Looks really nice on you! Thank you for the video, too!
1/18/10 6:22 AM
rozzybabe said...
I have wanted to make a winter coat for 3 years, & have always hesitated as to what pattern & style would be best. Thanks so much for a detailed review; gorgeous coat! At last, I know what my new coat will look like next winter!!
1/18/10 5:51 AM
dingyadi said...
That is awesome! I like the video idea too
1/18/10 4:02 AM
Leora said...
I think I read here on PR to shrink interfacing in order to avoid the shrinking you describe. I really love the design, especially the back of this coat. Nicely done! Such a pretty color on you!!
1/18/10 3:38 AM
stephangle said...
Beautiful coat and fabulous color! Love the details with the buttons too!!!
1/18/10 1:23 AM
pammieh said...
Adorable coat - Wow! So impressive!
1/18/10 0:58 AM
Kim12469 said...
I can't wait to see your picture. Thanks for the review! This coat keeps calling me...Wow, the finished product is gorgeous! Such nice work and the color is wonderful! I definitely need to make this.
1/4/10 7:38 PM
eugenia123 said...
Looking forward to seeing a picture of this - I have this pattern, it's a nice style. Your fabric/lining choices sound lovely.
1/4/10 11:24 AM
AuntieShel said...
Oooh, I have this pattern and was so excited to see you reviewing it. Can't wiat to see it finished. So glad to hear it's going together well.
1/4/10 9:11 AM
Michelle99 said...
Can't wait to see a photo. This looks like a Marfy coat that I made a year or so ago. But this ought to be much better thanks to the bust sizes!
1/4/10 6:35 AM
Terri A said...
As soon as I get it done I will put up a pic. I can't wait to wear it!
1/3/10 10:35 PM
Athene said...
This coat sounds so nice. I hope you will be able to post a picture.
1/3/10 10:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
New Look 6150

photo
by: grays08

Review
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

More Info
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

More Info