SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8626 (Very Easy Vogue Coat)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1565 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 104
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/10 0:49 AM
Last Updated:1/18/10 2:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
This coat sounds so nice. I hope you will be able to post a picture.
1/3/10 10:27 PM
Terri A said...
As soon as I get it done I will put up a pic. I can't wait to wear it!
1/3/10 10:35 PM
Michelle99 said...
Can't wait to see a photo. This looks like a Marfy coat that I made a year or so ago. But this ought to be much better thanks to the bust sizes!
1/4/10 6:35 AM
AuntieShel said...
Oooh, I have this pattern and was so excited to see you reviewing it. Can't wiat to see it finished. So glad to hear it's going together well.
1/4/10 9:11 AM
eugenia123 said...
Looking forward to seeing a picture of this - I have this pattern, it's a nice style. Your fabric/lining choices sound lovely.
1/4/10 11:24 AM
Kim12469 said...
I can't wait to see your picture. Thanks for the review! This coat keeps calling me...Wow, the finished product is gorgeous! Such nice work and the color is wonderful! I definitely need to make this.
1/4/10 7:38 PM
pammieh said...
Adorable coat - Wow! So impressive!
1/18/10 0:58 AM
stephangle said...
Beautiful coat and fabulous color! Love the details with the buttons too!!!
1/18/10 1:23 AM
Leora said...
I think I read here on PR to shrink interfacing in order to avoid the shrinking you describe. I really love the design, especially the back of this coat. Nicely done! Such a pretty color on you!!
1/18/10 3:38 AM
dingyadi said...
That is awesome! I like the video idea too
1/18/10 4:02 AM
rozzybabe said...
I have wanted to make a winter coat for 3 years, & have always hesitated as to what pattern & style would be best. Thanks so much for a detailed review; gorgeous coat! At last, I know what my new coat will look like next winter!!
1/18/10 5:51 AM
Jatman said...
This is so cute! Love the fabric/lining and the buttons. Looks really nice on you! Thank you for the video, too!
1/18/10 6:22 AM
halleyscomet said...
Absolutely love it!
1/18/10 7:10 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat, you are so right, wonderful details. I enjoyed your video review, thank you.
1/18/10 7:26 AM
marjenann said...
Tres chic!! Great job, your coat is amazing!!!
1/18/10 7:32 AM
yummymummy38 said...
very professional looking, particularly like the back seaming and the inverted pleat and button details.
1/18/10 7:46 AM
MsMaryO said...
Love this coat! The buttons are fun, too!
1/18/10 8:34 AM
Karine said...
Great coat! Thanks for the review with all of photos!
1/18/10 9:19 AM
DorothyK said...
What a terrific coat. You did a great job. I must say, the video made it much easier to see the fantastic details. What a great idea to make a video. I bet we'll be seeing more of those now.
1/18/10 10:27 AM
digs57 said...
Beautiful. Love the cut, love the colours, love the little touch of whimsy the buttons add.
1/18/10 11:02 AM
sewtime said...
Love your coat, great detailing! Love your video!!!
1/18/10 1:12 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks everyone - wow. What a nice surprise to get so many comments. Leora, the wool was shrinking not the interfacing. The amount of time it takes to fuse the interfacing with "lots of steam" - steams the wool as well and then the wool starts shrinking more, even after it has been pre-shrunk. The interfacing doesn't shrink to my knowledge. Does that make more sense? thx :-)
1/18/10 1:39 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thank you for the fun review. I liked the video, nice touch.
1/18/10 2:31 PM
eugenia123 said...
Your coat turned out beautifully - very inspiring! You've done a wonderful job and written a really great review - thanks.
1/18/10 2:34 PM
loti said...
Nice coat, love that eggplant color, looks great.
1/18/10 5:00 PM
Heatherrique said...
Terri, that is such a cool video of your wonderful jacket. It's really nice treat to see the details in motion. Like always, you do superb work!
1/18/10 8:08 PM
Athene said...
Your coat turned out great. Thank you so much for the video and all the photos. Really very helpful to me.
1/18/10 10:01 PM
dragon10 said...
Love the coat and the contrasting lining.
1/19/10 0:07 AM
sfgb said...
Lovely job and great review.
1/19/10 7:55 AM
AuntieShel said...
Terri, Your coat is gorgeous, thanks so much for posting pics and the video--enjoyed that very much. Will definitely have to make this one!!
1/20/10 8:59 AM
Deepika said...
What a great review and what a striking coat. I loved the little button detail. It's the little things like that which set it apart from the rest. I also enjoyed watching your video.
1/21/10 8:32 AM
4u2cme said...
Great coat. I really liked the button detailing.
10/13/10 9:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-12

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now