Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8275 (Coat) - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 585 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Mden
photo
Friend of PR
About Mdenstar
AL USA
Member since: 10/18/06
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/26/09 3:26 PM
Last Updated:12/31/09 1:33 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
Your pictures come out smaller than a postage stamp so can't see the details. You might try clicking on the "all sizes" above the picture in Flickr on the page that lists the two URL's under the picture--which will cause it to enlarge when opened up from a link or when you click on the "project photo". Would love to see the details better.
12/26/09 9:26 PM
Elona said...
Your review is wonderfully complete and informative. The only thing missing is photos large enough to show the details, which are undoubtedly terrific.
12/26/09 11:21 PM
tess said...
Wonderful tailoring, great coat and one very lucky son! Great review too thank you for all the tips!
12/27/09 5:39 AM
bell N said...
Unbelievably talented. Just beautiful. If you remove the _S from the .jpg file name you can see the larger size.
12/27/09 7:59 AM
Christas said...
WOWZA! It is easy to see why your son loves his new coat! It is perfect in every way!
12/27/09 2:42 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Wow! A very elegant looking coat and a great review.
12/27/09 2:42 PM
Annette1 said...
How very, very, VERY nice. I can almost reach in and FEEL that fabric. EVERY detail is so nicely tailored. I just can't decide WHICH is better looking, this coat or your son himself! Thanks for the great review!
12/27/09 2:51 PM
Elona said...
Stunning coat and beautiful, beautiful tailoring!
12/27/09 3:04 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Excellent review and wonderful coat.
12/27/09 4:56 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking coat,
12/27/09 9:06 PM
Obrooks770 said...
Awesome coat, what a beautiful job. I know your son is proud to wear it.
12/27/09 9:59 PM
nicolars said...
The coat is simply beautiful and amazing.
12/28/09 8:50 AM
Jane S said...
What a spectacular coat and helpful review. bravo.
12/30/09 8:30 AM
Robin Denning said...
gorgeous coat and wonderful review. Congratulations on a superb coat.
12/31/09 8:45 PM
Second Avenue said...
Your son is very fortunate to have such a wonderful and patient tailor for a mother! The coat is beautiful and will wear well, I am sure. I am curious about the off-grain technique, as I have never seen it before. What is the purpose of it? Best Regards, SEcond Avenue
1/1/10 9:12 PM
fourkid said...
Wow - this is incredible - and you are speaking words I have never heard before - you deifintely need an upgrade to advanced sewer! This is the type of garment I hope I can make in a couple more years - love it!!!
1/2/10 11:13 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Absolutely exquisite creation that fully flatters your handsome son. Your construction/tailoring is a standard to which we all aspire. One criticism: shame on you for not showcasing your handmade silk buttonholes and if I'm not mistaken, you've failed to note that you've handpicked (old fash term: hand saddlestitched) the perimeter of the entire overcoat as well as the style details. Bowing to your excellence, Lily
1/2/10 1:53 PM
emkayloves2sew said...
Kudos!! Both the coat and the review are really well done. Your results inspire me (as both a seamstress and as a mother) to continue attempting more difficult projects such as this. I especially love your excellent choice of fabric and how you added your son's initials 'as seen in an Hermes jacket'. LOL! Loved that!! Like the other posters, I too searched through your photos to see a closeup of your handworked buttonholes and was disappointed to find none.
1/7/10 11:36 PM
CaroleM said...
That looks like a coat that might last your son a lifetime. What a wonderful gift to him. Excellent job!
1/8/10 7:55 AM
Mden said...
Just to let you know my son took his coat before I thought to take a picture of the buttonholes. Sorry
1/8/10 12:43 PM
ggf2005 said...
girl you did one hellava job on this coat! and you've ruined your son on ready to wear, why buy it when mom sews like this!:)
1/8/10 1:52 PM
Elke said...
Great looking coat!
1/8/10 5:06 PM
Darla in PA said...
WOW! What a beautiful overcoat! Your son certainly has something to be vey proud of. This coat should last for many years. Just love all of the details.
1/8/10 9:07 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Beautiful!!! And you're just 'cross the river from me.... ;)
3/3/10 7:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 7798
photo
Review by Mufffet on 8/23/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4017 OOP
photo
Review by carolynw on 3/15/09
Read Review

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us