SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8275 (Coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 616 times 
Reviewed by:Mden
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mdenstar
Member since: 10/18/06
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/26/09 3:26 PM
Last Updated:12/31/09 1:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Beautiful!!! And you're just 'cross the river from me.... ;)
3/3/10 7:46 AM
Darla in PA said...
WOW! What a beautiful overcoat! Your son certainly has something to be vey proud of. This coat should last for many years. Just love all of the details.
1/8/10 9:07 PM
Elke said...
Great looking coat!
1/8/10 5:06 PM
ggf2005 said...
girl you did one hellava job on this coat! and you've ruined your son on ready to wear, why buy it when mom sews like this!:)
1/8/10 1:52 PM
Mden said...
Just to let you know my son took his coat before I thought to take a picture of the buttonholes. Sorry
1/8/10 12:43 PM
CaroleM said...
That looks like a coat that might last your son a lifetime. What a wonderful gift to him. Excellent job!
1/8/10 7:55 AM
emkayloves2sew said...
Kudos!! Both the coat and the review are really well done. Your results inspire me (as both a seamstress and as a mother) to continue attempting more difficult projects such as this. I especially love your excellent choice of fabric and how you added your son's initials 'as seen in an Hermes jacket'. LOL! Loved that!! Like the other posters, I too searched through your photos to see a closeup of your handworked buttonholes and was disappointed to find none.
1/7/10 11:36 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Absolutely exquisite creation that fully flatters your handsome son. Your construction/tailoring is a standard to which we all aspire. One criticism: shame on you for not showcasing your handmade silk buttonholes and if I'm not mistaken, you've failed to note that you've handpicked (old fash term: hand saddlestitched) the perimeter of the entire overcoat as well as the style details. Bowing to your excellence, Lily
1/2/10 1:53 PM
fourkid said...
Wow - this is incredible - and you are speaking words I have never heard before - you deifintely need an upgrade to advanced sewer! This is the type of garment I hope I can make in a couple more years - love it!!!
1/2/10 11:13 AM
Second Avenue said...
Your son is very fortunate to have such a wonderful and patient tailor for a mother! The coat is beautiful and will wear well, I am sure. I am curious about the off-grain technique, as I have never seen it before. What is the purpose of it? Best Regards, SEcond Avenue
1/1/10 9:12 PM
Robin Denning said...
gorgeous coat and wonderful review. Congratulations on a superb coat.
12/31/09 8:45 PM
Jane S said...
What a spectacular coat and helpful review. bravo.
12/30/09 8:30 AM
nicolars said...
The coat is simply beautiful and amazing.
12/28/09 8:50 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Awesome coat, what a beautiful job. I know your son is proud to wear it.
12/27/09 9:59 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking coat,
12/27/09 9:06 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Excellent review and wonderful coat.
12/27/09 4:56 PM
Elona said...
Stunning coat and beautiful, beautiful tailoring!
12/27/09 3:04 PM
Annette1 said...
How very, very, VERY nice. I can almost reach in and FEEL that fabric. EVERY detail is so nicely tailored. I just can't decide WHICH is better looking, this coat or your son himself! Thanks for the great review!
12/27/09 2:51 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Wow! A very elegant looking coat and a great review.
12/27/09 2:42 PM
Christas said...
WOWZA! It is easy to see why your son loves his new coat! It is perfect in every way!
12/27/09 2:42 PM
bell N said...
Unbelievably talented. Just beautiful. If you remove the _S from the .jpg file name you can see the larger size.
12/27/09 7:59 AM
tess said...
Wonderful tailoring, great coat and one very lucky son! Great review too thank you for all the tips!
12/27/09 5:39 AM
Elona said...
Your review is wonderfully complete and informative. The only thing missing is photos large enough to show the details, which are undoubtedly terrific.
12/26/09 11:21 PM
katlew03 said...
Your pictures come out smaller than a postage stamp so can't see the details. You might try clicking on the "all sizes" above the picture in Flickr on the page that lists the two URL's under the picture--which will cause it to enlarge when opened up from a link or when you click on the "project photo". Would love to see the details better.
12/26/09 9:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Lekala Patterns 7097

photo
by: norsk

Review
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2010-136

photo
by: Elaray

Review