Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8593 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 665 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:cmarie12
photo
Friend of PR
About cmarie12starstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 4/8/03
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/09 2:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
This is absolutely INGENIOUS, the way you've incorporated the princess seams into this dress. I'm afraid I would have NEVER thought of that. (I KNOW I wouldn't.) This has got to be one of the most FLATTERING dresses I've ever seen. You look like a million bucks, and that's the truth. GREAT review, too!
12/27/09 3:17 PM
sideseams said...
I have to agree with everything that Annette1 has said. You did such a beautiful job on your dress. I always enjoy reading your blog!!! You inspire me.
12/27/09 4:25 PM
maedchen said...
It looks so good and what an ingenious idea you had that worked! I love your review, thanks!
12/27/09 4:30 PM
blue mooney said...
Tour de force! You look smashing, as always.
12/27/09 4:51 PM
Kay Y said...
Elegant & flattering - you could wear it anywhere!
12/27/09 5:17 PM
Karendee said...
Amazing dress, Carolyn. And you look just beautiful in it--and we know how perfectly it is constructed. Great job!
12/27/09 6:10 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great dress!
12/27/09 6:58 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
THIS is the most flattering dress you've made this year . . . looks absolutely fabulous on you!!!!!
12/27/09 7:59 PM
persevering said...
Wow! With this beautiful dress, you've even topped your great look in the skirt posted before this. Congratulations
12/27/09 8:58 PM
moushka said...
Beautiful dress! You're fit solution was absolutely ingenious. I love the neckline pleats, so flattering, ditto the princess seams. Great review, inspiring construction. Thank you!
12/27/09 11:32 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Amazing work. Thank you so much for the tutorial on making something into a princess seam. you look adorable in your little shift dress.
12/28/09 0:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love how you figure out how to make a pattern work! Your dress looks great!
12/28/09 8:38 AM
becca a said...
Fabulous dress. I have this pattern and have been wondering about making a flattering fit with so few pattern pieces. Thank you for the extremely helpful lesson in adjusting the pattern!
12/28/09 10:01 AM
Christas said...
This dress is GORGEOUS! Your blog was one of the first ones I put in my favorites (a long time ago!). I always enjoy seeing what you are sewing! I know you will get a lot of wear out of your pretty dress. You are an inspiration!
12/28/09 11:51 AM
Michelle L said...
Beautiful dress! Your changes have made this a fantastic garment. Just gorgeous!
12/29/09 8:59 AM
TracyB said...
You truly made Vogue 8593 your own. Though I can only wish I had half your talent and creativity, your wonderful tutorials show a path to follow. Adding princess seams! And using a back piece from a whole other pattern! What an inspiration you are.
12/30/09 4:58 PM
Sharon M said...
LOVE it!!! I bought this pattern after seeing your dress. You look so wonderful in it
1/27/10 2:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Vogue Patterns 2882
photo
Review by Chris Kell... on 2/14/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hangout Hoodie Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Hangout Hoodie Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4560 Diaper Bag
photo
Review by ClioBklyn on 12/23/09
Read Review

McCalls 6563 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6563 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9451 Pattern
Burda 9451 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us