SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Brensan Studios> BSS119 (Basic Long Sleeve Shirt)

Viewed 582 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 114
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/09 3:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahogany Stylist said... (8/11/10 5:02 PM) Reply
Beautiful shirt.
Mahogany Stylist said... (8/11/10 5:02 PM) Reply
Beautiful shirt.
marjenann said... (2/2/10 7:33 AM) Reply
That is one smart looking top! You always inspire me!
ITAdmin said... (1/1/10 6:54 AM) Reply
Well, it's a beautiful shirt in a combination of two of my favorites--paisley and corduroy. I'm grateful for the review, since I've been considering trying one of their patterns. Sounds as if you have the sizing pretty much figured out; I think you should make more.
Peggy L said... (12/31/09 7:18 AM) Reply
Clin - thanks for reviewing this line of patterns with such detail. Your shirt in that fabric is gorgeous!!! I think your idea of combining sizes will probably solve your fitting problems. Happy New Year!!!
Annette1 said... (12/30/09 6:07 PM) Reply
WOW, this is SO pretty in that FABRIC! It turned out perfectly ... NO BIG SURPRISE THERE. :o) Maybe they're doing like some of the ready-to-wear companies and covering two sizes within their categories. Great review!
Mini said... (12/30/09 5:35 PM) Reply
Thanks for a very detailed and helpful review. I was curious about this pattern, and was glad to see how this shirt looks in real life, especially on someone who wears the same size as me. I think it looks really good, but I see what you mean about the extra ease in back. I'll keep your comments on the sizing in mind if I try this one.
Kay Y said... (12/30/09 4:50 PM) Reply
Beautiful shirt! If there is any imperfection in the sewing, it's lost in that lovely paisley somewhere.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7823

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Butterick 5997

photo
by: ButtonFait...

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Pattern Details