SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 152520-1000 

Viewed 177 times 
Reviewed by:JanaL
photo

 
 
About JanaLstar
UT USA
Member since: 10/8/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/09 4:53 PM
Last Updated:12/30/09 5:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DaisyEsq said...
Thank you for such an informative review. Your mini-coat fits beautifully.
12/30/09 5:13 PM
Re Becca said...
You did a great job. It fits you very well, and looks both cozy and profesionally made!
12/30/09 5:17 PM
Re Becca said...
Oops! Doubled
12/30/09 5:17 PM
sarahinlafayette said...
Wonderful jacket, and how very impressive that you kept on trying until it worked! I also live in a body that does not fit either RTW or standard patterns, and have also consumed MANY yards of very ugly fabric finding ways to make things work.
12/30/09 6:14 PM
pharmlyn said...
Excellent review...Thanks for the fitting resources. I too have scoliosis and have only tackled the alterations on trousers... your review has given me the inspiration to work on my scoliosis alterations on my jacket pattern.
12/30/09 6:43 PM
Ann Smith said...
Just fantastic! Looking at your jacket and the beautiful way it fits you one would never know you had fitting issues. And besides that, it is a beautiful combination of fabric, fur trim and pattern style. Congratulations.
12/30/09 9:23 PM
CCQ said...
The fit looks great and I love the fabric combination. Greate job!
12/30/09 9:30 PM
swing like a girl said...
The jacket is beautiful. I love the collar and cuffs. More importantly I admire your patience and persistance.
12/30/09 9:51 PM
katlew03 said...
Your review was very thorough and will be very helpful for those with this type of fitting problem. You showed great perservance in solving your fitting problems and the end result is well worth all the trial and error. I have a friend with very severe scolosis and I have often thought about offering to help her alter her clothes, but I did not have the slightest idea where to start. Your information was very helpful, but unfortunately she has moved quite a distance away and I do not see her anymore. Again, your jacket looks absolutely great. I love the color and the fur is perfect.
12/30/09 10:03 PM
cindyann said...
I love it! Nicely done.
12/31/09 10:01 AM
Kayseri said...
What a gorgeous jacket - you can't tell what a long journey it took to get there.
1/1/10 2:54 AM
yummymummy38 said...
thanks for sharing your sewing odessey. The jacket look beautiful and fits perfectly. It makes me grateful for the relatively minor adjustments that the rest of us contend with. I love the contrast of the persian wool collar with the tweeds. Thanks again
1/1/10 6:09 AM
Jane S said...
What a beautiful jacket. I admire your persistance and determination. I have very similar fitting issues that I never fully acknowledged until I made a custom dressform as well...and got professional fitting help from custom dressmakers. Bravo to you. It's great to have a master pattern that you can then adjust to many different styles.
1/4/10 9:08 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I found this review by clicking on a preview on the side - such an attractive jacket. It fits you so beautifully you wouldn't know you have your fit issues. Beautiful work and great review.
6/8/10 8:28 AM
2takeKate said...
Your coat is beautiful - and fits you perfectly! Excellent job. Many of us can get away with just tweaking ready made patterns, and I for one take that for granted. Thank you for sharing your journey with us.
11/17/10 7:30 PM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous jacket, perfect in every way -- fit and fashion!
3/7/12 4:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 2443

photo
by: aleah42

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now