Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2683 (Figure skating dress (zip-back) - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 342 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:sewcrazee
photo
Friend of PR
About sewcrazeestar
IL USA
Member since: 4/23/04
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/10 1:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
guillorypr said...
I love it, very cute! I probably would have hand Basted the zipper first. the very thought of a an invisible zip in stretch velvet is a bit scary! :)
1/5/10 3:35 PM
guillorypr said...
I love it, very cute! I probably would have hand Basted the zipper first. the very thought of a an invisible zip in stretch velvet it a bit scary! :)
1/5/10 3:35 PM
kittykate said...
I like it! The fabric is cute. Invisible zips aren't hard in stretch, I tape them down first with 1/4 inch two sided tape, can't remember the name of it at the moment. Honestly though, I kinda avoid zips when I make things :-)
1/5/10 3:40 PM
shorts said...
I love that little dress! TOO CUTE! I really like the Lycra you used for the skirt very fun! Will you add a picture of the other dress?
1/5/10 4:47 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Very cute dress -- would love to see the other dress as well. I usually stabilize the edges of the zipper opening when working on stretch fabrics. Like kittykate, I avoid the zippers whenever possible.
1/5/10 5:20 PM
sewcrazee said...
thanks for all the kind words...i did stabilize the stretch and i tried double sided tape as i use that when doing my western show tops but stretch velvet doesnt like it so i handbasted the zipper in first...i will add another review with the other dress when i hopefully can get a picture of my skater in it
1/5/10 7:31 PM
zoezmommy said...
Lovely dress. I agree that the pattern would be more appealing without the mock turtleneck.
1/6/10 9:01 AM
jannw said...
Adorable..I do like the contrast neck and cuffs..I do hope you get a picture of both girls in their outfits..would love to see them
1/6/10 8:22 PM
fourkid said...
Adorable outfits - and great review. I agree with others - would love to see the other outfit as well. And hope the girls did great on their tests.
1/15/10 3:48 PM
Tez said...
Very cute dress!
1/18/10 5:24 AM
Birgitte said...
What a beautiful combo of fabrics and pattern, and thanks for this very helpful review. Velvet is my DD's favorite to wear on the ice (loves the softness) and like you, I want her to be warm, so it's time to test the zipper :))
2/6/10 2:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Other 0000
photo
Review by Sharon1952 on 9/27/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5398
photo
Review by JDpenelope on 12/1/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us