SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2586 (Misses/Miss Petite Dress, Tuni)

12 more reviews
Viewed 460 times 
Reviewed by:newmama
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About newmamastar
SC USA
Member since: 6/28/09
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/10 9:51 PM
Last Updated:1/7/10 9:53 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shorts said...
I think it looks nice on you! I think I like the tie higher but really both look nice. I have to say that the style is very ready to wear so it sure doesn't look homemade. You look fab for just having a baby:)
1/7/10 10:49 PM
busymomof3 said...
I think you did a good job on the dress and it looks good on. I personally like the first photo best, with the belt down.
1/7/10 10:51 PM
persevering said...
This is a cute look on you and looks totally appropriate for the christening. I prefer the look with the belt down.
1/8/10 0:27 AM
Giggles. said...
Cute dress! I love the ruffle on the bottom. Your waist doesn't look like a size 22. I like the tie higher on you, in my opinion it suits your figure and makes you look leaner. Going by the photos your waist looks skinner higher up and I'd accentuate that part as opposed to where you might be a little thicker. With it lower it seems to cut your body in half. Well that's my 2 cents but either way it still does look nice.
1/8/10 8:17 AM
fryman said...
My first reaction is to wear this top over a long skirt - then I thought, the sleeves look so great and I think the hem ruffle distracts from the sleeves that I would shorten the top (yes, sacrificing the ruffle) and wear this as a tucked-in brouse. I encourage you to make this again; perhaps using softer fabric - that would then give movement vs boxy. Most importantly, however, is the blessing of another child. Congratulations!!
1/8/10 10:03 AM
Mini said...
Cute, stylish, and appropriate for the occassion. I like the way the neckline attracts attention to your face and jewelry. This is good choice for your figure the way it is NOW - which is what really matters. I can't decide about the belt, I think it works either way.
1/8/10 10:29 AM
AuntieShel said...
This is SO CUTE on you!!!! Nothing homemade about it at all. The belt definitely at your waist!!!!
1/8/10 10:34 AM
newmama said...
Thank you all so much for the comments! I really wanted to make sure this was good enough for the occasion, both because it's such a special day and because the church takes a family photo. Thank you again!!
1/8/10 5:15 PM
Kayseri said...
This is a lovely dress and perfect for a christening - pretty, stylish, and modest. I like the belt both ways, on your waist fists the dress style best, but empire line is a little more flattering to you.
1/8/10 11:11 PM
TessaRose said...
Very cute! I prefer the belt in the lower position. It doesn't look homemade and looks appropriate for the event! Enjoy wearing it and receiving the compliments you are sure to receive!
1/11/10 8:28 AM
JEF said...
Very cute dress. I think it looks very nice on you. I vote for belt lower down. Reading the comments looks like there is absolutely no consensus on which belt position looks best :) Go with the one you like!
1/25/10 10:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

More Knits
More Knits

Register

JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now