SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2003-116 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1719 times 
Reviewed by:Nata
photo

 
 
About Natastar
USA
Member since: 8/20/02
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/04 11:22 AM
Last Updated:3/7/04 11:26 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Nata, thanks for your review. Your suit looks terrific. I have some boucle that I bought for this pattern. I was planning on just sewing it with no lining or underlining. Do you think the jacket will hold it's shape without it? I want a relaxed looking garment.
3/7/04 11:41 AM
Nata said...
I would just add underlininh to facings and collar, to keep it from collapsing. Other than that I think it will be perfect without any understructures.
3/7/04 11:45 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful. That's a very nice looking suit. I love the cuffs!
3/7/04 11:54 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Very nice! I'd like to make this jacket. I'm also petite so your notes about narrowing the sleeves are really useful. Thanks for the review!
3/7/04 12:05 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Nice suit, Nata! How clever of you to leave the button holes uncut :)
3/7/04 12:12 PM
Sew Jane said...
Beautiful suit - I love your fabric choice. Thanks for the helpful review.
3/7/04 12:39 PM
Kim Winson said...
Beautiful work Nata! I am petite as well (5" tall) and I'm encouraged that the patterns requires so little alteration for a smaller figure. Also thanks for the tip about interfacing the waistband with elastic--I've never thought of that. Your suit is very stylish and comfortable.
3/7/04 1:32 PM
mudcat said...
Nice suit, Nata. Especially the jacket. Very stylish.
3/7/04 2:12 PM
jlg said...
I love it, Nata. The suit is beautiful, as is the fabric. I love the border on the sleeves and hem.
3/7/04 3:55 PM
Mbarkle said...
This is so pretty, Nata. I am making the jacket in a tencel denim, testing the pattern before I make it up in a pink/ivory/silver lurex boucle. I'm trying to decide whether to line it, the sleeves are very sticky -- I have full arms and added a little to the sleeve and the armseye. I'm thinking silk organza will be the way to go on the boucle version. . . Thanks for the review. Don't know if I'll get it made this year, it's getting too hot for wool already.
3/7/04 7:34 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Beautiful suit!
3/7/04 9:30 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice. I think I have seen this fabric at Sawyer Brooks website. Fringe seems to be in at this time . Nice job.
3/8/04 6:59 PM
kathi s said...
Lovely suit! Thank you for such a complete and informative review!
3/17/04 7:52 AM
Sew it seams said...
Very beautiful suit! I really love the fabric.
3/17/04 8:13 AM
Loreli said...
It is a beautiful suit. I like the sleeves.
9/13/04 0:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Simplicity 1801

photo
by: CJgal

Review
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 5537

photo
by: KateS

Review