Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2003-116 - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1719 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Nata
photo
About Natastar
USA
Member since: 8/20/02
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/04 11:22 AM
Last Updated:3/7/04 11:26 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Nata, thanks for your review. Your suit looks terrific. I have some boucle that I bought for this pattern. I was planning on just sewing it with no lining or underlining. Do you think the jacket will hold it's shape without it? I want a relaxed looking garment.
3/7/04 11:41 AM
Nata said...
I would just add underlininh to facings and collar, to keep it from collapsing. Other than that I think it will be perfect without any understructures.
3/7/04 11:45 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful. That's a very nice looking suit. I love the cuffs!
3/7/04 11:54 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Very nice! I'd like to make this jacket. I'm also petite so your notes about narrowing the sleeves are really useful. Thanks for the review!
3/7/04 12:05 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Nice suit, Nata! How clever of you to leave the button holes uncut :)
3/7/04 12:12 PM
Sew Jane said...
Beautiful suit - I love your fabric choice. Thanks for the helpful review.
3/7/04 12:39 PM
Kim Winson said...
Beautiful work Nata! I am petite as well (5" tall) and I'm encouraged that the patterns requires so little alteration for a smaller figure. Also thanks for the tip about interfacing the waistband with elastic--I've never thought of that. Your suit is very stylish and comfortable.
3/7/04 1:32 PM
mudcat said...
Nice suit, Nata. Especially the jacket. Very stylish.
3/7/04 2:12 PM
jlg said...
I love it, Nata. The suit is beautiful, as is the fabric. I love the border on the sleeves and hem.
3/7/04 3:55 PM
Mbarkle said...
This is so pretty, Nata. I am making the jacket in a tencel denim, testing the pattern before I make it up in a pink/ivory/silver lurex boucle. I'm trying to decide whether to line it, the sleeves are very sticky -- I have full arms and added a little to the sleeve and the armseye. I'm thinking silk organza will be the way to go on the boucle version. . . Thanks for the review. Don't know if I'll get it made this year, it's getting too hot for wool already.
3/7/04 7:34 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Beautiful suit!
3/7/04 9:30 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice. I think I have seen this fabric at Sawyer Brooks website. Fringe seems to be in at this time . Nice job.
3/8/04 6:59 PM
kathi s said...
Lovely suit! Thank you for such a complete and informative review!
3/17/04 7:52 AM
Sew it seams said...
Very beautiful suit! I really love the fabric.
3/17/04 8:13 AM
Loreli said...
It is a beautiful suit. I like the sleeves.
9/13/04 0:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

New Look 6190
photo
Review by SilvrGhost on 5/12/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Coin Purse
You Sew Girl Coin Purse

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3504 Men's Jeans
photo
Review by becca a on 5/4/09
Read Review

McCalls 2337 Pattern ( Size 12-14 )
McCalls 2337 Pattern ( Size 12-14 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3989 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3989 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us