SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2009-109 (Pea Coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 434 times 
Reviewed by:annie11
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About annie11starstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 3/3/06
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 158
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/10 3:17 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
figtree said...
Such a nice classic pattern, I'm suprized yours is the first review! I'm not suprized that your daughter would pick the same fabric tho, both coats are beautiful! Excelent work, and thanks for the pocket tip. Love your daughter's hair too!
1/9/10 3:27 PM
becca a said...
Your daughter must be delighted with her coat! It is fabulous. Thank you for the helpful review. Just a note--I always think of pocket placement as an individual thing and not something to adhere to strictly--pin them on and look in the mirror, adjust and then sew. Still it is odd for them to have planned pockets at the bust point.
1/9/10 3:51 PM
moushka said...
This was "the" coat style when I was about nineteen, um, forty years ago! It's a copy of a sailor's peacoat, ergo the pocket placement (no bust on the men). I agree, it's such a classic, it should be a perennial in the pattern books. Your version is beautiful. Lucky daughter, great review.
1/9/10 4:13 PM
Elke said...
Gorgeous peacoat...fits perfectly!
1/9/10 4:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very stylish and beautifully constructed coat for your lovely daughter! "Burda usually knows what they are doing" gave me a chuckle. Do you have a picture of you and your daughter in your matching coats? That would be so cool!
1/9/10 4:24 PM
homejewel said...
My teen daughter and I both love this coat. I've been looking for a pattern like that and you're right - it's just not out there. The fabric choice is perfect.
1/9/10 4:54 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Glad to see this pattern made up. It really turned out cute and I LOVE that plaid!!
1/9/10 5:24 PM
frame said...
Great looking coat. It looks so nice and warm.
1/9/10 7:19 PM
kathigarn said...
That is a gorgeous coat. I love the fabric and the style. I am sure your daughter was quite a hit the first day she wore it!!
1/9/10 8:57 PM
Birgitte said...
A wonderful, stylish coat. Working with fabric that thick- and plaid! could not have been easy, but you mastered it to perfection.
1/9/10 10:00 PM
Mary Nanna said...
beautiful coat, great fabric choice, your daughter looks fabulous - and the construction looks impeccable.
1/10/10 0:57 AM
Margie T said...
Great looking coat. Your daughter looks lovely and snug.
1/10/10 7:06 AM
Lizz said...
I LOVE the plaid for both of you! This was a classic when I was young (50+ yrs. ago) and will be for another 50 years! Good job and lucky daughter.
1/10/10 3:17 PM
Victoria B said...
Very lovely coat!!! You did a spectacular job!
1/10/10 5:38 PM
mars418 said...
Ann, great coat! I love the fabric and the style. You've really been on a coat expedition!
1/10/10 9:49 PM
Sewingelle said...
Its wonderful. Great style, great fabric and beautifully made!
1/11/10 6:38 AM
Pinkytoo said...
I'm working on a coat (different one) from this same Burda issue and I feel your pain about the welt pockets and notch collar! I'm using a fairly lightweight wool and it is still a major pain, wait til you hear about the bound buttonholes. Great job and I admire your perseverance!!
1/11/10 4:29 PM
nicegirl said...
What a great variation on the classic peacoat! The fabric is fantastic.
1/12/10 2:01 PM
beth5646 said...
Beautiful jacket---and your coat is beautiful also. Thank you so much for the review.
1/12/10 8:57 PM
Maree P said...
Gorgeous pea jacket...with great sewing. Thanks for your helpful review.
6/23/12 7:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
New Look 6688

photo
by: simplypalo...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now